Downstairs bedroom facing garden

House - Private room · Muswell Hill Rd, London, England N10 3, United Kingdom

Double bedroom with separate bathroom and WC in family house. Not a quiet street, but the room faces on to the back garden and is quiet, apart from the occasional fox or owl!

The Space

It's a nice quiet room facing on to our back garden . There is a separate toilet and modern bathroom with bath and shower downstairs. We provide towels, so you don't need to bring. The bed is new and very comfortable. We are a no-iron house, so the sheets are clean but may be a little wrinkly. Sorry if that's a problem. There is a door to the garden which you can open if you like - it's quiet and pleasant .

Shame if you really hate or are allergic to cats . We have a very tame, discreet tabby who you'll probably not notice.

Wireless broadband (20MB) throughout the house. Washing machine and dryer available. And there's a European/international power adaptor, so you don't need to bring. Or towels.

Nice woods and parks nearby.

Handy for shops, restaurants and cafes; a local Odeon three - screen cinema is two minutes walk away , and the Phoenix independent cinema is a ten minute bus ride or twenty minute walk. Buses into central London are just over the road, and Highgate tube station is a ten minute walk or a three-minute bus ride away. We are in Zone 3 for transport, but not too far from the centre of town.

Guest Access

The room itself, separate bathroom and WC, the washing machine, the WiFi. No access to the kitchen but you can make drinks etc in your room.

Interaction with Guests

A bit - we like to say hello in the morning, we are happy to offer travel suggestions, restaurant recommendations, etc.

Getting around

We are 10-15 minutes walk (or 5 minutes by bus) to Highgate Underground station. Buses to the centre and the City of London are within 10 meters.

Other Things to Note

This is a home, not a hotel. We like the way it is decorated and finished, but it's not hotel-standard. And we have a cat.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 0
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Security Deposit: $173
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I stayed in Ruth and Jeremy for 10 days and they were very friendly, sympathic, they are listening people... I highly recommend for any holyday in London!!

    February 2014
  • We stayed with Ruth and Jeremy in November 2013.

    We had a busy schedule so unfortunately we did not really have time for much socializing but we received a truly warm welcome and all the help we needed.

    Ruth and Jeremy are very professional hosts (and early risers as they themselves mentioned in their introduction :) ). The room is spotless, the garden is beautiful, and Muswell Hill turned out to be a great area in London. In short, everything as promised.

    We gladly recommend them to everyone reading this review.

    November 2013
  • My parents stayed at Ruth and Jeremy's house for a long week-end when they came to visit me, they had a lovely comfortable stay. I met Ruth and Jeremy once and they seemed very friendly, easy-to-talk-to people. I would recommend this place to friends and my parents would definitely stay there again, it's a great spot in Muswell Hill.

    November 2013
  • Awesome. The room is fantastic, the house too, even the neighbourhood is lovely. But the best were Jeremy and Ruth, they helped so much and our firsts two weeks in London were great.

    October 2013
  • It was a nice place to be. Jeremy and Ruth were very friendly and bent over backwards to help us (information on bus lines, where to go for eating, best way to Windsor Castle, stamps and so on). It was a pleasure staying at their home. The cat was so cute. We gonna miss it ;-)

    October 2013
  • My stay with Jeremy and his partner was excellent. Its a quiet room with everything that one needs for a restful night. Great hosts too.

    September 2013
  • Jeremy and Ruth were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and inviting, the garden was really lovely--just wish I could have enjoyed it more, but there was too much rain!

    September 2013
  • For our trip to England we stayed with Ruth and Jeremy in their beautifully located home in North London. It's close to the subway station who brings you directly to the centre. They both were really friendly, welcoming and full of great advices. Nice to meet their (international) friends as well and share stories about the high lights of London. Highly recommended if you need a place to stay when you want to roam around London.

    July 2013
  • We had a great stay at Jeremy & Ruth. Their house is beautiful and in a great part of London with lots of shops and cafes and easy access to the city. The bus leaves right in front of the house. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming & the room as described-nice & tidy, same for the bathroom. We can highly recommend this lovely place!

    June 2013
  • We stayed with Jeremy and Ruth on three separate occasions for a total of nearly four weeks, over two months. They were both very warm and welcoming and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. It was very convenient for us in Muswell Hill and we fell in love with the village atmosphere that we found. There is a great array of cafés, shops and all manner of food stores. We really can recommend the local shopping.
    Jeremy and Ruth are great environmentalists and their property is like something out of The Good Life with its vege garden and fruit trees. Because we stayed there for such a long time we became part of the family and living there was very easy and amicable. We also appreciated the great access to the internet.
    Thank you both for being such wonderful hosts and making our stay in London so pleasurable. We will come back again. We can totally recommend your place to anyone wanting a Muswell Hill experience.

    June 2013
    Jeremy
    Response from Jeremy:

    Awww, that's nice! Hope to see you again!

Per Month
From
$69
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 108 times
Work
Ovum, Ovum Ltd.
About
Live in a family house with wife. Two teenage sons away at university. Have cat, who is discreet and quite popular with guests. Work as a technologist analyst, sometimes travel for work - me, not the cat.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
1 week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings