At the far end of the cottage, the kitchen door opens to the ocean, 20 blocks to the east.West wall of the cottage as viewed from the back yard.


Entire home/apt

7 Guests

2 Bedrooms

7 Beds


Entire home/apt

7 Guests

2 Bedrooms

7 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
7 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This rustic old cottage is part of a small community of modest homes along the Lewes and Rehoboth Canal. The ocean is about 1.5 miles to the east and Rehoboth Bay, from which the community takes its name, lies a half mile to the south.


The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 7
Check In: Anytime after 6PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: $100

Description

The space

This cottage was built in 1956 as a duck hunters' shack on former farm land across a canal from marshland frequented by ducks. It is now part of a small community 11 blocks long and one block wide.

It has almost no amenities. No TV, no washer and dryer, no cable, no stereo, no dish washer, no A/C. No linens provided. Guests must bring sheets, pillow cases and towels. One bathroom. WiFi available at no extra charge.

There is a full-size foam mattress that can be rolled out for use on the floor in a pinch if one or two additional people need to be accommodated but the underlying floor is concrete, so it will be hard.

One bedroom has a queen size bed, one has twin beds, there is a sofabed in the common room that folds out into a full sized bed and a sofa on the enclosed front porch for a total sleeping space for seven people.

It is in a quiet community off the beaten track with not much to do in the off-season. The price is just high enough to discourage rentals because I really don't want anyone in there in the off season but if you must, I am willing to accommodate you.

It is only available for seven-day weeks in September and by the month January through April. If it is not being used frequently, you will need to clear away the dust and cobwebs. It's old and beat-up, and the furniture is well worn.

There will be a surcharge for electric in the deep winter months. Five minutes to beach by car; ten minutes by bike; 30 minute walk to resort bus terminal; 40 minute walk to beach. Trash pickup is provided through September only. From October to spring, you will need to haul it away.

This property is available only on a weekly basis after Labor Day and a monthly basis or longer from October 1 through April 30.

As you can see by reading them, the reviews from my guests are mostly positive. However, there are some people, although very much a minority, who did not like their stay. They were just too polite to write a negative review. One guest, for example, complained about too many spiders; another was unhappy with the condensation on the floors during an unusually humid period. The point is, if you are "low maintenence," you probably won't even notice such flaws. But if you are a type A personality or anal-retentive, find somewhere else to stay. I would rather have no guest than a disappointed guest. Note in particular the review in 2014 by one guest named Wolfgang. He was so appalled by the conditions, he didn't stay. Oh, well. He did me a favor because anyone not booking because of his review I did not want anyway. So, if you are looking for mints on a fluffy pillow and nice knick-knacks on the bureau, please search for other accommodations. One guest said the cottage is sold short but it would be preferable to have no guest at all than an unhappy guest.

Guest access

Guests will have full access to the cottage. Parking is free and plentiful.

Interaction with guests

When you rent the whole cottage, the space is entirely yours. At most, I would be there to check you in and check you out.

The neighborhood

This is a quiet, residential neighborhood off the beaten path about a mile inland of the beach to the east and the bay to the south. Although this community is nestled between Rehoboth Beach and Dewey Beach, it is a quiet, conservative, residential neighborhood that is not accustomed to group houses of young beachgoers such as typically are found in Dewey Beach but long have been banned in Rehoboth Beach. Therefore it is essential that guests keep the property trash-free and hold evening noise to a minimum. Neighbors will not hesitate to call the authorities for excessive noise.

Getting around

There is plenty of parking space at the cottage and the main terminal for the resort area bus service is just a few minutes away by car. There is a paid parking lot at the terminal but one fee will get you parking and unlimited bus service all day. At the intersection of Bay Vista Rd. and Coastal Hwy., All Wheels is a shop that offers bicycle and scooter rentals. These are excellent alternative modes of transportation to get around the resort.

Other things to note

A number of Dogfish Head beer fans have chosen this cottage because of its proximity to their mini-brewery in Rehoboth Beach. It is a five minute drive away. Parking close to Rehoboth Beach is metered. Other parking spaces require a permit, which can be purchased at City Hall. All parking at Dewey Beach is by permit, which can be purchased daily, weekend, or monthly.

If you need to purchase your linens at the beach, there is a WalMart within three miles but I would recommend either the All Saints or New Life Thrift Shops. Both are a short drive away and have a good supply of perfectly nice, clean sheets, pillow cases and towels.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in is anytime after 6PM

-No drugs
-No indoor smoking
-No pets
-Please contain cigarette butts if you smoke outside on the property; no butts on the ground, please; keep the property trash-free at all times
-Please use the outdoor shower after returning from the beach.
-Unless you have specifically requested and prepaid for it, there is no maid service; So in order to keep costs down, we ask that you leave the cottage in the condition you found it and assume other guests will be arriving just after you depart. If you would prefer, we can arrange a clean up service at your expense for after your departure.
-Trash pickup is Monday morning, even on three-day holiday weekends. If your stay includes remaining overnight on a Sunday, please pull the trash cans to the front edge of the property Sunday night for Monday morning pick up. There is one can for general trash and another for recyclables. Please recycle.
-Additional paper goods can be found behind the curtained area in the common room; there are cleaning agents under the bathroom and kitchen sinks; trash bags are in the lower left kitchen sink cabinet.
-vacuum cleaner is in the guest room closet.
-no personal air conditioners permitted. The circuits will not handle the power needed. Any needed electrical repairs due to unauthorized air conditioners will be at the expense of the renter.
-the host reserves the right to request a security/cleaning deposit depending on the number and age of the guests and length of stay.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Availability
2 nights minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

48 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Connie User Profile
October 2016
Fred was very responsive to any and all requests and made check-in very easy. The place was as described.
Fred User Profile
Response from Fred:
Thanks for the private feedback, Connie. Glad it worked out for you.
October 2016

Jimmy User Profile
August 2016
My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at Fred's place. It was exactly the type of no-frills, relaxing and affordable accommodation we were looking for. We did not do much beside shower and sleep at the cottage, but the outdoor shower was great and the heat was quite tolerable with the fans. The neighborhood is very nice, and the neighbors were all friendly. It was about a 5 to 10 minute drive to either Dewey Beach and Rehoboth, but there were plenty of available Ubers so you didn't have to park at the beach. We had a great vacation, and would recommend Fred as a host!

Nidia User Profile
August 2016
Place was as described, really convenient to the beaches and stores! We really have an enjoyable experience. Just don't forget to bring your bed sheets! His neighbor was really kind providing us the parking permit to the closest beach!
Fred User Profile
Response from Fred:
I hope you remembered your linens. I should write in my descriptive materials that anyone who forgets sheets and towels or doesn't want the bother can pick them up at any one of a number of thrift stores for under $10 for everything.
August 2016

Erika User Profile
August 2016
My host was very hospitable and communicative. The cottage is exactly as promised. The outside shower is a big plus! I loved showering outside! The only issue was the mosquitoes. They surround the cottage, but Mother Nature gave us bug spray to help with that issue.
Fred User Profile
Response from Fred:
Sorry about the mosquitoes. One thing I can do nothing about. I'm glad the bug spray solved the problem and that you enjoyed yourself otherwise.
August 2016

Cindy User Profile
August 2016
Fred was very easy & accommodating to work with. The location and the neighborhood are perfect for all there is to do at a beach area. If your one that likes upscale this rental is not for you. No air conditioning, it's rustic and has charm but could use a woman's touch... a bit of updating with paint and a good cleaning to freshen it up. The bathroom has been updated and is very clean, same with the kitchen. An added bonus was the ice maker in the new fridge and an outside shower & cloths line, a grill & picnic table in a spacious tree covered yard. Overall Fred's place is a very nice! Cindy
Fred User Profile
Response from Fred:
Thanks for the helpful suggestions. Thanks to your rental and that of the others, I will be able to pain and have other interior work done this fall. It should be ready for you next summer. I regret you had to battle a rare heat wave.
August 2016

Trish User Profile
August 2016
Host communicated very well and cottage exactly as Fred described. Good central location in lovely lakeside development near Rehoboth and Lewes. Good value last minute booking in popular area. Only things we would add is that a through clean through (to get rid of cobwebs/insects etc) would make the place more welcoming and the fans can be noisy and struggle to move the air around to combat hot weather, so unless you are a resilient sleeper it may not be an ideal place to stay if the weather is predicted to be especially hot.
Fred User Profile
Response from Fred:
By and large, the tree canopy and proximity to both the ocean and the bay keep the cottage comfortable during the summer months. However, there can be a handful of days of unusually excessive heat in July or August which when combined with lack of ocean breezes can cause some discomfort. I regret that those conditions coincided with your visit.
August 2016

Mike User Profile
August 2016
All-in-all, enjoyable stay. Host was unresponsive as we neared the place and when we arrived, but the neighbor noticed us and helped us get in so it was (luckily) a minor inconvenience. Cottage wasn't very clean at all... and a bit disorganized, but we were two late-20's males so we managed fine. I wouldn't recommend the spot to couples or neat freaks. Very close to Dewey and Rehoboth beach, which is great. Neighborhood is nice, neighbors were very friendly. Traffic can be bad in the area, but everything's close (restaurants, bars, laundry mat, beaches, etc). 4/5 for our personal experience, we had a great time.

This host has 43 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Alexandria, Virginia, United States · Joined in July 2009
Fred User Profile

I love to entertain and hosts groups that like to party. There is a bar on the enclosed front porch. In addition to the futons and foam mattress there also is a guest bedroom (twin beds) available.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour