Calabria Italy Beach/Pool Apartment

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Marina di Caulonia, Calabria 89041, Italy

The Space

Calabria, Ionian Sea, Pool and walking distance to beach Self Catering Apartment
150 meters from largest local supermarket;
200 meters from bars / restaurants;
train station in the city centre within walking distance
1.5 kms from Roccella Jonica Marina (yacht port, restaurant, free bike rentals, boat hire);
3 kms from the Historical mountain town of Caulonia
close to local traditional restaurants and farms and historical attractions
This lovely complex is situated on a hillside overlooking the beautiful coastal town of Marina di Caulonia on the fabulous Ionian Coast. Perfectly located in a pretty town full of traditional Italian coffee shops, bars and restaurants, one of the finest beaches on the Ionian coast and a relaxed, peaceful lifestyle with everything you need right on your doorstep.
This is the perfect location in the sun you have been waiting for offering you a slice of the Italian Lifestyle.

The airports of Lamezia Terme or Reggio di Calabria serviced by Ryan Air, EasyJet, Alitalia etc. can be reached by car from Marina di Caulonia within a 60-70 minute drive*.

Our two bedroom apartment is situated on the first floor of a beautiful complex with a large pool and 400 meters from the sea.
There is a compact living room with kitchen, a long hallway, two bedrooms (in each one can sleep two), bathroom and a good size balcony where you can relax with a glass of wine among two beautiful Mediterranean plants: a lemon tree and a kumquat (mandarin). There is no sea/pool view from the apartment only a hill view and other buildings.
The living room/kitchen is modern decorated with a comfy sofa that can be used as chaise lounge sofa (as in the picture provided) or in sitting position, round real wood table that accommodates 4 with hide away chairs, satellite TV and a lovely gloss kitchen furniture in two colours with round stylish sink and dishwasher included.
The first bedroom is designed very colourful and child friendly and can accommodate 2 adults/ children in two single beds that can be used one next to the other or separately however is convenient. Plenty of storage space for clothes, toys etc.
The main bedroom is decorated with traditional solid wood Italian style furniture from Veneto region to give an Italian feel to your stay. There is a very good size and comfortable matrimonial (super queen size) bed and a lovely writing table with chair and touch lamp.
The bathroom has a shower enclosure, toilet and bidet and a small 3.5 kg washing machine.
We have the latest inverter air conditioning systems with vitamin C filters throughout the apartment. Also the apartment benefits of the latest technology heating in the bedrooms (water filled radiant heating) with wireless controls ideal for winter .

There is a large supermarket 150 meters from the complex also bars, coffee shops and restaurants within 200 meters.
Airport transfers and local trips can be arranged at a cost with a local driver.
The apartment is ideal for 4 people.
Hairdryer, iron, torch, towels(to be used in the bathroom only) and bed linen supplied
ADSL internet available for only EUR10 for the duration of your stay for unlimited wireless.
At the moment the lift is not in use please e-mail before to check if you need the use of the lift and can not do without.

* Also the town is served by a train station with local connections. You can catch trains to and from Naples or Reggio di Calabria, or going on the coastal railway. Also coastal and regional bus service provided by major local company.
We do not accept smokers or pets.

Please read the house rules carefully before you decide to make a booking.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: No Charge
Minimum Stay: 5 nights
Security Deposit: $284
Cleaning Fee: $71
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • El apartamento es muy bonito, equipado de primera línea con todas las comodidades modernas que uno pueda necesitar. Todo es nuevo y está en excelente estado de conservación. El encargado de recibirnos, Claudio, tuvo una inmejorable disposición para atender todos nuestros requerimientos.
    No es fácil acceder a la propiedad pues la calle de ingreso es un camino de tierra en pésimo estado, en el cual se forman grandes charcos cuando llueve. Las distancias consignadas en la página no son las reales, sino las medidas en línea recta a cada punto. Asimismo, en la página se informa en el rubro Servicios que existe ascensor e internet. Luego, en un larguísimo texto explicativo, en una frase por el final, se indica que en realidad el ascensor no funciona y que no se dispone de conexión a menos que se abone E 15, lo que corresponde a casi un mes de servicio, siendo que en nuestro caso sólo estuvimos dos o tres días. Tampoco se consigue algún bar fácilmente con conexión a internet como nos habían indicado los propietarios.

    January 2013
    M & V
    Response from M & V:

    Todos los puntos que menciona Beatriz le fueron debidamente explicados antes de su llegada y se le ofreció la posibilidad de cancelar su reserva cuando vimos que no había leído correctamente nuestra descripción en la web de airbnb.
    Las obras en el camino empezaron hace poco para la instalación de fibra óptica lo que implica que en muy poco tiempo dispondremos de banda ancha. Siendo una urbanización nueva hasta que no estén instalados todos los servicios el camino de acceso no estará en perfectas condiciones, pero la fibra óptica es lo último que queda por rematar por lo que una vez finalizadas las obras el camino de acceso se asfaltará.
    Aun así como el apartamento es especialmente recomendado para alquileres de verano, mientras las obras no se acaben no habrá ningún problema ya que en Calabria de abril a octubre no llueve y los baches que menciona desaparecerán cuando acaben las obras.
    Sin embargo el apartamento está tan solo a 50 metros de la carretera principal y Beatriz vino en coche por lo que realmente no vemos donde está el inconveniente.
    En nuestra urbanización hay residentes permanentes que utilizan el camino de acceso durante todo el año.
    El tema del internet y el ascensor está explicado en nuestra descripción no en letra pequeña sino claramente indicado y se lo comentamos a Beatriz antes de confirmar su reserva y antes de su llegada. El apartamento está en un primer piso y realmente no hace falta ascensor si uno está bien de salud. Solo hay un par de escaleras para nada estrechas o empinadas, nosotros las utilizamos siempre con nuestra hija desde que tenía un año. Tuvimos invitados con niños y las escaleras nunca fueron un problema.
    Las distancias son muy reales y exactas si uno va andando, pero esta huésped vino en coche por lo que si uno no va por los caminos peatonales o calles de sentido único, puede ser que haya una pequeña diferencia en las distancias indicadas pero no tanta. Beatriz vino a visitar otra ciudad no la playa ni la ciudad donde el apartamento está situado, por lo que probablemente ella se refiere a esa distancia que depende del tráfico en una carretera principal bastante concurrida.
    Nosotros hicimos todo lo posible para acomodarlos de la mejor forma posible a pesar de su retraso (nos indicó que iba a llegar al mediodía y finalmente llegó a las 5 de la tarde) y le aplicamos una tarifa de invierno muy reducida.
    Nos da pena ver que finalmente todas nuestras explicaciones y esfuerzos no han servido de mucho.

    January 2013
  • Michaela and Victor were very good hosts. The apartment is very well equipped. Air conditioning and all very clean. We felt like at home. We like to come again. We can not understand that other people rate this place negative. We will be back!!!!!

    August 2012
  • We stayed in this appartment for 12 days in july 2012. The appartment was fine but the surrounding area leaves alot to be desired. We thought we were getting full unfettered access to the appartment but this was not the case, there were "do not touch signs" everywhere on the owners personal belongings, including foodstuffs. this was off putting to say the least. we went there on a holiday not to be surrounded by the presence of other peoples lives.The view from the balcony was that of a deserted building site, no more than 30 feet away. Not a pretty site. The approach road is a dirt track and dangerous when walking on at night as there is no lighting. The area is littered with deserted unfinished buildings, overflowing refuse bins that never seem to be collected. The walk to restaurants and bars in the town is 25 mins ( not the 10 we were told ) the area around the complex is not well serviced by bars or restaurants, you have to travel. The complex has a nice pool but unfortunately there are no umbrellas or beds, you have to bring your own. While we would return to Calabria in the future we would not return to Caulonia and certainly not to this appartment.

    July 2012
    M & V
    Response from M & V:

    This negative review received is due to the guest being charged against their deposit with airbnb for the things he damaged in our apartment so we need to clarify some points
    1. we provided them with brand new pool loungers (that we specified on arrival that are only for pool use) and they damaged both but especially one by removing them from the premises, battering them in the boot of the car and using them in other places than the pool (not completely horizontal). We also provided a foldable aluminium beach chairs so no need to remove the above from the site. of the towels has been burned or stained badly

    3. When they arrived and when they left they never said anything about the points they mention in their review actually we only had text and email messages from them saying all is fine.

    4. we tried to reason with them in a nice way but they refused to cover the damage they caused. We were very disappointed that the guests have never reported the damages to us while there or after their stay and when confronted with the facts they refused to do the honest thing and sort the damage they cased.

    5. there are bars and restaurants less than 5 minutes walking from the apartment and the walk into town does not take us more than 10 minutes so depends how fit you are this can not be taken as a rule for any person.

    6. this is our holiday home and we have things in this apartment that are only for our own use which is normal for any owner to have we can not dispose them every time we have a guest coming .there
    are 3 signs in the apartment mostly on my daughter personal things
    saying "owners use only" on top of the storage in the hallway and in
    her room. anything else is ok to be used and we never had anybody complaining about us pointing this out to our guests.

    7. Our apartment is lovely even if from the balcony you can only see a hill at the moment(further development is due in the next few years) and the town is small and there is still development going on but provides everything you need for a very peaceful holiday away from the crowded tourist sea resorts.

    8. Calabria is an undeveloped region and the roads are not perfect but negative points you can find anywhere you go if you want too.
    when on holiday most of people prefer to see the positives and they come to Calabria to enjoy the most beautiful sea and
    landscape that this untouched region of south of Italy has to offer.
    do not let this review stop you to come and stay in our apartment
    and our beautiful complex.

    July 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 147 times
English, Italiano
Classics and Social Sciences
We are a spirited young professional couple who like travelling, books, photography. We are deeply in love with South of Italy and particularly Calabria which still holds on to the true spirit of Old Italy. If you like travelling, reading and good food, you are our kind of people.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
5 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings