Entire home/apt
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
Per Night
269 travelers saved this place

About this listing

My 1BR on Madison's Isthmus is across the street from beautiful Tenney Park. One block south of Lake Mendota, a block west of the bike path, four blocks from eating/shopping on Willy/Johnson Streets, and half a block from the bus line, it's a gem.

Large 1BD Apt, Tenney Park

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Room type: Entire home/apt


Weekly discount: 10%
Cancellation: Flexible


Guest Access

Guests will have access to the whole apartment and coin-free washer and dryer in the basement.

Interaction with Guests

I will greet all guests, whenever possible, walk them though the apartment and answer any questions. I am also happy to be there when they check-out if that is preferable. In the event I am not there to greet guests, I will negotiate ahead of time how to pick up keys. Typically, I'll be staying just twenty minutes away with family, and therefore can be on call via text, mobile and email for any emergencies, questions, or other forms of assistance.

There is no driveway parking but there is free parking across the street along the park.

Getting Around

Our house is located on a block with a stop for multiple major bus lines (very easy to get to the Capitol (1 mile away) and UW campus (2.2 miles away).

Other Things to Note

Just a few notes:

1) I have wireless internet access and there is a flat screen television with rabbit ears and Apple TV to watch Neflix, etc., but no cable television. PBS (I'm a nerd) and major non-cable channels come in crystal clear, but if you are an avid cable watcher and this is a deal-breaker for your vacation, then unfortunately my place is not the space for you;

2) The house sits up high in elevation and thus has a long-ish staircase leading up to it, along with one flight of stairs up to my second floor abode. Regrettably, this is not ADA compliant, and it might pose a problem for a guest with a specific disability or who struggles with stairs.

3) The house is a 1920s tudor and has limited heat in the bathroom only (the rest of the house is steam heat and quite toasty), so slippers or thick socks in the winter are helpful (what can I say? "character" in a home comes with minor drawbacks *wink*).

4) Contrary to one review, I do provide shampoo, toothpaste, body soap and lotion for guests, located in the bathroom closet, guaranteed.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not child-friendly (3-12 years)

My "house rules" ask guests to treat the space just as they would their own home (showing respect for the things they love and in which they have invested). I prefer to book the apartment to traveling professionals, couples, visiting academics, and small families as opposed to groups interested in a football party weekend or an enthusiastic gang of bachelorettes (as fun as these visitors can be, I know from experience they are less fun for hotel room cleaning staff (wink)).

-NO smoking
-NO pets (regrettably, because I do love the furry creatures)
-please be conscientious about ensuring that the house and apartment doors are locked securely when you come and go
-please be mindful of the other tenants (a nice couple who live on the first floor)
-be considerate to take your shoes off before entering the apartment if it is raining or snowing outside

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher

1 night minimum stay
Large 1BD Apt, Tenney Park

88 Reviews

Check In

Your Host



Madison, Wisconsin, United States · Member since February 2014

Thanks for considering my listing. I'm Sigrid and I'm a graduate student and researcher living in Madison. If you choose to book my 1-bedroom, when not out of town for conferences or on vacation, I'll just be staying about twenty minutes away with family, and can assist you immediately if you need anything while visiting the city. I am a social scientist and journalism student. I study labor markets, social theory, urban places, and the restructuring of higher education. Any extra income I make from an airbnb booking helps me buy books and supplies for school, and supplements my slim grad student researcher's (URL HIDDEN) you'll be supporting a kindly student as well as the pursuit of knowledge, I hope. Looking forward to hosting you!

+ More
Response rate: 28%(past 30 days)
Response time: a few days or more

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Madison

    More places to stay in Madison: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums