The sitting area gives the feel of a separate apartment though convenient to the shared kitchen and dining room. There is the door to the backyard where you can sit in the nicer weather.The large wardrobe can hold your clothing and personal items. You'll find a set of towels and extra blankets in there also. You can use the drawers and cupboards for storage also. The full length mirror is a nice addition.
Sunroom, Good Value, Welcoming, Clean, Comfortable
Sunroom, Good Value, Welcoming, Clean, Comfortable


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath


2 guests

1 room

1 bed

1 shared bath

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Quiet residential area close to bus line, bike paths, I205 & 224. Park & school grounds about a block away. Close to the mall. Less than hour from skiing @ Mt Hood. The house is not in Portland but is relatively close especially if driving- about 20 min in no traffic to Downtown, longer during peak hours. Feel free to park in the driveway or in front of the house. Check Trimet trip planner using SE Webster Rd & Clackamas Rd to see if it works for you-limited bus service on weekends/eves


Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $15 / night after the first guest
Weekly Discount: 12%

Description

The space

Large windows that look out into a generous, fenced, backyard give this room a wholesome natural light. This sunroom is painted a rich red and has the feel of an exotic sanctuary. There is a new comfy double bed this July. The room has a wardrobe with full length mirror, coffee table, bookshelf, loveseat for your comfort and enjoyment. Private door opens onto the backyard patio where a table and two chairs await. Smoking is OK out here, just please be mindful of open windows. French doors open into the dining room and kitchen area. The bathroom is down the hall.
Two additional bedrooms across from the shared guest bathroom are available for rent also. They have traditional double size beds, are simply furnished with a night stand, dresser, shelves and desk with chair and can sleep two comfortably.

Guest access

Guests have access to on site parking (first come first served), kitchen and dining area, washer and dryer, bathroom with shower, tub and hair dryer, and backyard. The Sunroom can be accessed through the front door and then through the french doors in the dining area. In the kitchen you can use any appliance or utensils you would like. Tea, bread and spreads, fruit, almond milk and cereal available in the mornings. Bike available for use upon request with bike lock. Books, DVD player and TV are for guest use. I do have HBO. The bedroom at the end of the hall on the right is occupied and therefore off limits. I am very easy going and flexible. If you need something just ask.

Interaction with guests

I am very comfortable with people from all backgrounds and everyone is welcome here. I have traveled both nationally and internationally and stayed in a variety of settings. If someone needs assistance in getting to know the area or what to do, where to go, I am more than happy to help. If someone likes privacy and would prefer little interaction, I am OK with that too. I would welcome conversation and love meeting new people, but am quite independent also. I work as an RN usually 5 long days a week and often am occupied in the evenings, and I may not be home every night. Really just let me know what you are comfortable with and I am sure I can accommodate. I may not be here during your whole stay but one of my lovely adult daughters will be checking in if I am gone more than one night.

The neighborhood

I moved to this neighborhood when my girls were school age because it has a park down the street and the grade school across the street. It is a good neighborhood to walk or go for a run. There is always someone walking their dogs down this street. There is a Safeway, Subway, Chinese restaurant, Starbucks, internet coffee shop, pizza place and convenience stores just up the street. This is a very safe residential neighborhood that has easy access to the rest of the Portland Metro area.

Getting around

There is a bus stop just across the street near the school which can take you into town. TriMet has a good system but where I live the buses don't run as frequently or as late. There is the 205 bike path just up the street that goes all the way into Vancouver, Washington and connects with the Springwater Corridor bike path also. A great way to get around! I have a large driveway for your vehicle and there is quick access to I205, 213 and 224 so getting around by car is very easy. About 15-20 minutes to downtown Portland, less than 10 minutes form the Clackamas Town Center (there is a MAX line there), 5 minutes to downtown Milwaukie, less then an hour to Mt Hood,which is stunning, and an hour and half to the Oregon coast. The Clackamas River Recreational Area and Mt Hood National Forest are close for outdoor activities. This is the great Pacific NW so why not check out some of our natural areas and get wild!

Other things to note

Great value for someone who has a car or doesn't mind not being right in Portland proper. The house is a traditional ranch style home with 3 bedrooms, sunrroom with a new double bed , 2 baths (one for guests to share) large back yard. Bella, my daughters' older, almost blind min pin is a very good watch dog and quite proud of her abilities even though she is a bit shy at first. Use only the dead bolt on the front door please. I like to explore the doings and goings on around town, play a game of pool, hit a local bar, hang out with friends and family, try new places to eat. In warmer months I am often kayaking, camping, working in the yard, floating the Clackamas or road tripping. I sometimes have people over but don't entertain routinely.


House Rules
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check out by 12PM (noon)

General courtesy. Turn off the lights when leaving or not being used. Clean up after yourself. Put the toilet seat down. Wipe up any mess in the bathroom or kitchen. Load or wash your own dishes. You know, the general sort of things one does when sharing space.
Ask if you need something or if I can do anything to make your stay more comfortable. Do not let the dogs out the front door. They can be in the backyard via the garage. No outside guests please unless you are staying for an extended period (a month or more) or unless cleared first. If you want to smoke anything please do so outside, and it is best if the windows that are close are closed if you do. Please use deadbolt only to lock the front door. Please no food or sugary drinks in the room. Garbage and recycling day is Thursday, garbage goes in dark green bin and recycling in blue, yard debris only in brown bin and glass goes in the blue tub.
Out of respect for those that need to get up early and for those that want to sleep in-please respect "quiet time" from 11 pm to 7 am. Of course if everyone's up and enjoying themselves-no worries!

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) lives in the house

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

98 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Randy User Profile
April 2017
Shari's room was very clean and quiet. She made it very easy for me all the way around. I would definitely stay here again.

Matthew User Profile
April 2017
I have stayed at Sheri's on 2 different occasions and would return again. Very satisfied.

Marie-Luise User Profile
April 2017
Sheri is a great host. She is friendly and communicative. Her house is absolutely clean, the room was ready in time and it was quiet although other people were staying at her house as well. All in all we made a very good experience staying with her and would definitely come back again.

Kim User Profile
March 2017
As always, Sheri is a wonderful hostess. Her house is very warm and welcoming. Even though there were other guests, the house was very quiet and the Sun Room is fantastic.

Kim User Profile
March 2017
Sheri is a great hostess! The Sun Room is great, the bed comfortable and quiet. Even though there were other guests staying at the house, I didn't hear anyone. Very comfortable.

Roman User Profile
March 2017
It's always an awesome experience to stay at this lovely home.

Aimee User Profile
March 2017
I had such a wonderful stay here. Sheri was kind, welcoming, flexible, and graciously accommodating (especially because I was a pretty last minute--somewhat frazzled--guest), which was so very appreciated. The room was cozy and peaceful (with lots of great books!), and the kitchen was full of teas and coffee and breakfast foods, which she kindly supplied for all to enjoy! I haven't had many airbnb experiences, but this was definitely a highlight. 10/10 would recommend!

This host has 136 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Milwaukie, Oregon, United States · Joined in February 2014
Sheri User ProfileSheri is a superhost.

I love to travel, most recently to Germany, Scotland and Italy but have been to Thailand, Costa Rico, Belgium, Spain, New Zealand, Mexico, Portugal, Canada and more. During the warmer months I like to get on the river kayaking-flat water. My house is full of books which you are welcome to. I like tea, rocks, playing pool, spicy food, getting together with family and friends. Laughter is important to me.
I am an RN. I eat a vegetarian diet but have no problem if you do not.
I grew up in Portland, lived away for 7 years and returned when I started my family. I raised my 3 daughters essentially on my own with a little help from my folks and siblings. They are grown now-my oldest living in Alaska, the other 2 in Oregon- the youngest is only a couple miles away.
I am often away from home for several hours to days or more but can check my email and phone usually.
Smoking is OK on the back patio and front porch if desired. The Portland metro area has much to offer and I like to get out for the experience. I am open but know how to give people their space. Feel free to ask me anything.
I enjoy helping people, laughter, new faces and places. I like games and friendly competition, movies and the feel of a good book in my hands. I've lately started watching some shows on HBO, Netflix and Hulu after a long hiatus from TV. I have a soft spot for sci-fi and fantasy-don't judge! Traveling is important to me.
There are outdoor cats I take care of and an old Min Pin named Bella that sometimes visits. An old bike available upon request though the tires may need air.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.