living room 1Patio view, early spring
Authentic Enchanting Historic Cozy Country Home
Authentic Enchanting Historic Cozy Country Home
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Indian Summer! We have September & October openings...time to enjoy the countryside in central Italy. This is my home a place for genuine travellers, a special place with character & charm offering old world Italian country living in a quiet rural setting: simple, comfortable, authentic, including VERY special kitty company. Please ask about Missy before you book!

The space

Stay in Italy living like we do; this is my home, a special place for special people.This is a very unique place, homey and comfortable, welcoming. Tuscan/Umbrian country living, the old way; quiet surroundings, rolling hills, country walks, old stone houses, villages, good trattorias. My place is in an authentic old stone colonica structure, which was originally a granary. Plain old fashioned healthy living the way it was, with the company of Missy, my full time resident kitty who will be very good company and is very loving.
WHAT this home IS- and IS NOT: A very original very homey, unique place for the right kind of people who are open minded original thinkers, love to be in nature and are adaptable! This is authentic country living in Italy, where I have been for many many years, resident in Italy for over 40, and always in the rural areas.
My place reflects my artistic background, love of beauty and nature, and my travels to different places. My life experience includes very varied careers and living in 4 countries. If you want a very original experience for your stay in Italy, come and enjoy my unique environment.
What this is not: Please do not expect the fairytale painted in Under the Tuscan Sun 5 star hotel style! This is not a place for picky people, who do not love the country style of living, the walls of my place are 2000 years old! There might be an insect around or dust shows up more quickly than in modern homes. It is also important that you love cats. This is most likely not for people on their first trip to Italy unless you have the spirit for adventure and trying different things. You need to be self reliant, although I do have someone to call on if you need help, but they are not "paid house managers". I am away during the time that my home is available to rent at very reasonable rates, a friend keeps an eye on my place and wonderful Missy cat.
FOR LONGER RENTAL PERIODS -SPECIAL RATES NEGOTIABLE please inquire.
In the beautiful countryside on the Tuscan-Umbrian border near the towns of Mercatale di Cortona and Umbertide, my home is very welcoming and includes the company of one very special kitty named Missy. Anyone who wants to come and stay here must be an animal enthusiast and must contact me first to be sure that we are clear on living here with Missy. This is a wonderful retreat for artists, writers, nature loving people and people who love to take country walks or mountain biking - right from your front door. It is a place for...different people.
My home is available while I am abroad working. Months available this year: May,June,July, August,September,October, and wintertime, December, January and February. (heating is calculated on a useage basis.)
Internet IS available using a WIFI key-dongle and prepaid card. The cost is 10 euro per stay or 25/month.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WINTERTIME: Very special low rent from mid December to Mid February. (for the right kind of cat loving people, not much more than covering my costs)
For winter stays, arrangements must be agreed upon before you book; I heat with both wood and gas, you must know how to use a wood burning stove, or be prepared to pay for the gas heating which is higher in cost. Average, 7 €/day.The gas is metered, wood consumption will be calculated upon your departure.
DAMAGE/HEATING DEPOSIT REQUIRED
Please contact me to discuss all the possibilities.
Do you have questions? Please contact me!

Guest access

A great way of living! My home has one bedroom, kitchen and living room, a Missy's company, bath with 3/4 tub, washing machine, outdoor drying. I have one locked room where I keep all my STUFF! The immediate area in front of the house is my garden; I have an old stone wall enclosed patio with table. On the other side of the house is another apartment, this is quite a large building and the entrances are far from each other providing plenty of private space.

Interaction with guests

I am not present during your stay. A good friend is available for assistance and emergencies. You must be travelers who are self reliant and not fussy! Missy is here to keep you company, and will give you all the love that you can handle! I can arrange a lift from the airport in Perugia or train station in Umbertide and lifts to go shopping so that a rental car is not absolutely necessary. Our are is not well served by public transportation in the summer, spotty bus service - if any.

Other things to note

The woods and fields are full of life, chirping frogs and singing birds, the abundance of nature is all around you. I live as much outside as inside, if not more...all year long! I will occasionally accept a rental for a long weekend, write and ask. You can take long walks directly from the house - or mountain bike, trails going off in more than one direction; town is about an hour and a half walk.


Amenities
Internet
Free parking on premises
Dryer
Kitchen

Prices
Cleaning Fee $61
Security Deposit $123
Weekly Discount: 8%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Guests MUST love cats. People always fall in love with my very special kitty companion. I have great respect for Missy, she is very independent, but also incredibly loving.
Missy is the real owner of this home, she has the run of the house, she is a gentle sweet soul and will enhance your visit to Italy, she is great company. She speaks Italian, English and Greek.
Rules? Enjoy. Respect my home, have fun, if there is by chance someone in residence in the other apartment, just don't go around to that side of the house, rarely is anyone else anywhere near by.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Availability
10 nights minimum stay

1 Review

Guido User Profile
August 2015
Soggiorno molto piacevole e l'ospitalità di Missy è molto calorosa. La casa è esattamente quello che desideravamo. L'accoglienza impeccabilmente organizzata e Christy gentile e disponibile.
Ms. C.L.H User Profile
Response from Ms. C.L.H:
Grazie Guido, spero che tornate presto visto che non siete tanto lontano! Saluti, Christy
August 2015

This host has 20 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Resourceful & Independent, interested in Culture and cultures, Fine Arts, Music, History,Languages, Philosophy, keeping fit, outdoors, nature, travel,awareness, personal growth

Languages: Español, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings