About this listing
Spacious studio with fiber-optic WIFI near Nimman's nightlife, CMU's night markets, and endless opportunities to explore local culture in a real Thai neighborhood. Enjoy organic and affordable food and coffee from Food-4-Thought right at your door!
Spacious studio with Thailand's fastest available fiber-optic WIFI service (Western quality & speed). There is also A/C, fan, hot water, huge bed, large windows, and private bathroom in a garden setting with convenient location. Food-4-Thought sells delicious organic food and coffee on location and is open from 10:30am to 8:30om, Tuesday - Saturday.
2-guest maximum. Guests have access to a spacious front yard with plenty of lounging space and cafe. Drinking water, soap, clean towels, and a map of Chiang Mai provided.
Interaction with Guests
The studio is set off of a large house (the house is occupied by the listing owner and his wonderful roommates) and is private and quiet. That being said there is a cafe' on site and this, along with the housemates, means that you can have as much or as little social interaction as you like.
Near Nimmanhaemin Road's hip nightlife, Chiang Mai University, Doi Suthep, lake Huay Tung Taew, Malin Plaza night market, Rin Kham night market, Chang Kian produce market, the beautiful ancient ruins of Wat Jed Yod, and endless opportunities to enjoy amazing street food and local culture in a real Thai neighborhood, just minutes away from the old city.
We are easily accessible but located just off of the main road, so you can sleep soundly in the absence of old-city street noise. Also, in Chiang Mai city you are always near “Red Trucks” and TukTuks that can take you where you want to go. That being said, there are several motorbike and bike rental shops nearby if you feel so inclined. Furthermore, we do have two bicycles and one motorbike available for rent, but they are often rented out so it is good not to count on this option. You may inquire about this when you contact us about a room.
Other Things to Note
We want to welcome you to Chiang Mai and make you feel at home in our beautiful little garden oasis in the city! Most people in the house, including the owner, are either Thai or have been in Thailand for quite some time. Thus, if there is something you would like to know about the city or its surrounding areas, then we would be happy to provide recommendations and answer any questions you have during your stay. Khun Bay, owner of the Cafe' on site, is a particularly good resource. Thus, ordering a coffee and chatting him up for a bit is recommended.
Appropriate Clothing – Please take careful note that you are Thailand and standards of politeness in regards to dress are high. Also, this is a co-ed living arrangement and we want to maintain a safe and secure environment for everyone. Please dress sensibly and conservatively when in common spaces.
Visitors – Bringing friends to enjoy some food and drink is encouraged! However, having them stay over-night is not. All visitors should leave before 12am.
Drugs & Alcohol – Beer and Wine are welcome, everything else is illegal and therefore not allowed.
Smoking – We do allow smoking on the property but we ask that you please do not do it in the room or near other café’ customers. Furthermore, we insist that you don’t throw finished butts on the ground, ash trays are provided.
Air-conditioner – Please feel welcome to use the air-con as much as you would like! However, we insist that you turn it off before leaving the room every time! If we find that you have left for the day and have failed to turn it off we will ask you to pay an additional 200 Baht. Thanks for your cooperation.
Noise Levels - Please always be mindful of noise levels. No loud music, conversation, or partying after midnight (unless it is with your hosts, then it is totally cool!) ;)
Locks - Please be sure to lock your door both when you are away from your room and while you are in it. We don’t want any incidents or breaches in personal safety.
Keys – If you lose your room key we would ask you to please pay 100 baht for it to replaced.
Parking – Please do not park your car or motorbike in the driveway or dining areas. Your vehicle will be safe on the street. We pay the security guard at apartment building opposite extra money to keep an eye on our property so there is no cause for concern. Just be sure to lock up your bike or care as a sensible precautionary measure.
We thank you in advance for your kindness and cooperation with our rules!
The room was awesome. It was clean, well-lit and had a lot more space than I was expecting. The water pressure was amazing compared to most Thai places. Charles was really great, giving us maps and tons of info about Chiang Mai. The room is really close to the mall and the university and getting around was no problem because it was close to a main road where you could catch a red truck. We stayed there for 4 days and ate at Bay's Cafe/food for thought at least 5 times. The foods delicious and there are tons of healthy options - which you will be so grateful for if you spend more than a couple of days eating just Thai food (so salty and deep fried everything). Bay, the café's namesake and barista, was so nice as well. Always up for a good chat and looking to give tips to travellers. It was all-around an awesome experience, especially for the price. Would recommend.
Food4Thought has a great setup with cozy rooms and great food in their restaurant. The owner Charles, is often seen in the kitchen, cooking, or surfing around between the tables in the restaurant, chatting with guests.
Location is great since its easy to get to any part of the city, either by your own bike or by taxi, which Charles can help you arrange. Not far to walk to the best markets in town or big shopping malls.
Would definitely visit again!
The house is very near to the airport and nimman road. The host is very nice and gave us a lot of guideline. Nice experience!
Great room, had an extra bed that was not in the description. I had issues with changing the booking, but that was not the fault of the hosts so I will be contacting airbnb regarding that. I did not meet the hosts, but Bay (the owner of the cafe) checked me in and was very friendly and answered any questions I had. I also ate at the cafe which was delicious.
The room was clean, which is big for me. It was a little strange to have cafe/other guests sitting right outside my room window at 10:00pm but they were at least quiet.
I prefer to stay closer to the city center, but wanted to try a different part of CM. Close to CMU, Malin Plaza and market, the Harbour open air mall and Maya mall. Easy to get red truck taxis however be prepared for traffic.
My only suggestion is to provide directions in Thai for the taxi drivers because asking two people, they both didn't know how to find the place even when I gave them the directions provided on airbnb. The phone numbers provided in the confirmation also didn't work, so it was a bit stressful trying to find the location. Other than that, I would recommend this if people want a change from the Old City and want to explore the Nimman area.
We were extremely disappointed in this place. The listing description and photos are not accurate. The photos make the room look bright, airy, spacious and pleasant however; in real life, the room is dark and depressing, with little to no room, and lots of mosquitos. We've been traveling around Thailand for a month and have very realistic expectations, but this room was the worst thus far. We booked 7 days and left after one night. The location is a far walk from most things as well. I'm not sure what was worse- the room or the way Charles handled everything. We've had great Airbnb experiences before and this one was a shame. Charles was hardly responsive the whole time, taking multiple days to respond, promising to get back to us and failing to do so. When we kindly asked for a refund of the nights we did not stay here, he responded with hostility and was not professional at all. He had excuses for everything. The reality is that the photos and listing for this room are not accurate at all and should be updated so that people are aware of what they are booking. For the price of this room, you can find excellent accommodation around Chiang Mai that is clean and in a better location. I've never been one to leave a bad review before, but this was an awful experience and people should be forewarned.
Jill was obviously unhappy with our accommodation and we truly feel very bad about as we really wanted her to have a pleasant stay. As she noted, she booked for about a week but left after the first night. She did so because she felt that our space did not match the description.
While I took to heart some of her concerns about the space, the fact is that the things that she felt were out of sync with our description are things that most people would and have considered upgrades. In fact, they were accomplished in response to earlier guests suggestions/needs. For example, fresh paint (done by request to reduce the brightness in the morning due to the many windows), new window treatments (done by request to enhance privacy and also to further assist in circumventing the brightness issue), and an additional bed (meant to accommodate a recent uptick in groups/family stayers). Some other issues she expressed were that the sheets that were on the bed did not match the color in the picture and that there was a light-bulb out in the room (which can happen at any time and can be promptly changed upon notification).
Had Jill expressed concern about service, cleanliness or safety I would have been inclined to agree to a refund, but as her complaints were about aesthetic issues, I did not feel that the situation called for me to do so. It is important to note here that Jill is a blogger and thus aesthetics are important for the image she is aiming to portray in her blog-posts, I see nothing wrong with this but I also feel that this is not of our concern either. What is our concern is providing high-quality service and a comfortable, clean, safe room at a fair and affordable price. This we did. Therefore, no refund was provided.
That being said, we do aim to update our photos in the description to ensure that expectations are fairly met, however these things take time and money and are in process. What I can say is that all the issues she raised were related to intentional changes we have made which are, in actuality, upgrades and therefore potential guests reading this should not feel worried that what they will be receiving is something of lesser quality than what is currently depicted. In fact, the opposite is true and quick scan of other recent reviews will attest to the fact that most people find the current condition of the room to be vast improvement.
Quickly addressing the issue she raised about communication, I can admit that our interactions were less than ideal. Unfortunately, we felt strongly that her initial communication about her issues was rude, insulting and threatening. What's more is that she left our space without ever giving us a chance to rectify some of her complaints. Thus, I felt my communication was simply left to state my side of things and then promptly cease communication. While she felt that my response was full of excuses, for me they were just a reality-check. .
I will however, offer something that I do actively consider an excuse in regards to the mosquito issue that Jill raised and I do humbly hope readers will accept it. While I genuinely feel bad that she encountered some mosquitoes, I would hope that potential guests might understand that it is rainy season in a tropical country and that mosquitoes getting into the room can and will happen. We do what we can by placing repellent and lotion in all the rooms. What’s more, all rooms are also equipped with mosquito rackets to help kill them. Nevertheless, it is an unavoidable hardship at times. Excluding high-rise hotels, this issue can be found almost everywhere. Some accommodations do have spraying services that come in with big trucks to spray the whole area, but we do not believe in this practice. We prefer our birds and bees. That being said, I do think I will install Mosquito nets for all the beds in the future.
Finally, Jill also mentioned that we are a long walk from things. I guess this is all relative to what a person considers to be long. I studied our description again and what is expressed is accurate. What’s more, anyone who books can see accurately where we are located on the map prior to booking so there can be no dishonestly possible. What I can say, is that we are indeed not more than a 5-10 minutes walk from the popular Nimman district, Chiang Mai University and to the shuttle bus up to Doi Suthep. What’s more is that we are two hundred meters from plenty of street food and a local market. Better yet, we are just around the corner from loads of red trucks that can take you anywhere you want to go, including the old city which is never more than a 15 minute ride, even at peak traffic times. Most guests actually appreciate that we are slightly off the main drag because our place is very quiet and peaceful.
I hope that readers find this response useful. If you have any further concerns, just message us, and we will gladly help dispel them! We feel very sorry that Jill had a bad experience and we wish her the best. We will do our best to continue improving so that all of our future guests have an awesome time with us in our great city!
This host has 75 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews