Seaside town in Garden of England

House - Private room · Broadmead Rd, Folkestone, England CT19 5, United Kingdom
Ruth
Your host, Ruth
39 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Family Room - Enjoy the privacy of your own spacious top floor family room which offers a double bed, single bed, and another single bed can be put up alongside, writing desk, wardrobe, chest of drawers and armchair and coffee table. Hairdryer provided. There is ample space for a family of 4 to make use of the room.

Make use of our wifi connection. In this 4-storey house are a large family bathroom with toilet bath and overhead shower, a separate cloakroom and sink on the entrance floor, a lounge with TV, and at garden level a spacious kitchen/diner which seats 8 leading out to decking and a peaceful garden.

A two minute walk to rail link to London (High Speed train reaches London in 1 hour. In the other direction Dover is 10 mins), or across Radnor Park and the fishing pond to the sports centre which also has a fitness studio and outdoor dry ski run. Turn right or left out of the house for a 5 min walk to the shopping centre with many choices of restaurants and cafes. From there you may wish to stroll down the old cobbled high street through the arts quarter to the harbour and Folkestone's Sunny Sands beach or go further along to the Warren - a beautiful walk on the coast under the White Cliffs. Or westwards through the coastal park you can explore along the coast to Sandgate, Seabrook and on to Hythe where you can ride on the Romney Hythe & Dymchurch Light Railway through the marshes. Alternatively you may like to hop on a bus to historic Canterbury. We enjoy cooking and entertaining and are sure you'll feel at home with us. Meet the Folk of Folkestone. On street parking.

Guest Access

Towels, bedlinen and wifi included. TV in lounge. Use of kitchen and garden.

Interaction with Guests

Let me recommend places that you are interested in visiting over a cuppa in the kitchen.

The Neighborhood

So many guests have commented on the ideal location of my home for easy accessibility to all the amenities the town has to offer. It is easy to park, everything is within walking distance.

Getting around

Bus station in the town centre, bus to Canterbury at the end of the road and train line also.

Other Things to Note

Art lovers will enjoy the Triennial Celebrations which take place again this year with exhibitions and installations all around the town.
6th July 2014 - Battle of Britain Memorial Day
12th July 2014 - Charivari Day Parade
16th-20th July 2014 - The War & Peace Revival at RAF Westenhanger
26th July 2014 - New Romney Country Fayre
8th-10th August 2014 - Folkestone Ska Fest
16th-17th August 2014 - Folkestone Harbour Music Festival 2014
23rd August 2014 - Sandgate Sea & Food Festival
25th August 2014 - Folkestone Vintage Car Rally - The Oldtimers at The Leas Seafront
20th-21st September 2014 - Euromilitaire
Date TBC - Capel Rock 2013 - Music, Helicopter Rides, Facepainting and more

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 3
Extra people: $18 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $264 /week
Monthly Price: $970 /month
Cleaning Fee: $9
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • It was very uncomplicated staying at Ruths plac, although I asked quite on short notice. Thank you &all the best

    July 2014
  • Clean, comfortable, uncomplicated. We had a nice stay in Ruth's apartment. Even though she wasn't at home, when we arrived, she left us the keys to the house and we found nice letters everywhere explaining the whereabouts of everything. We liked it!

    July 2014
  • Ruth was a very good host! She came home in her lunch break to explain where things were in the house and showed us a map of the town. In the evening she even found a bag of charcoal for us to do a BBQ! Highly recommended!

    June 2014
  • We only stayed one night, the room was clean and comfortable and Ruth was great

    June 2014
  • Ruth took great care for us. She arranged a friend to let us in, we had a nice cup of tea and good talk in the evening. And we slept very, very well in the bed.

    June 2014
  • Great and really considerate host, we really liked the room and the location was perfect. Thanks Ruth :)

    June 2014
  • We wish we'd had more time at Ruth's and visiting Folkstone. Ruth was kind and helpful and we had good chats with her and the other guests (and Frisky the cat!). From the bit of exploring we did of the town, we thought it was well worth a visit with a classic old lift going down to a seaside park, and a human-made cliff

    May 2014
    Ruth
    Response from Ruth:

    And how bizarre is this - my next guests came in one journey from Carlisle! You probably crossed! Glad you got there OK and thanks for your review.

    May 2014
  • Very central to our needs. Also informative and friendly. Great host. Would recommend her. Thank for the stay

    May 2014
  • We had a pleasant stay at Ruth's house. Our room on the top floor was clean and cozy, we had everything we needed for a short stay. Ruth is a wonderful host and an open-minded person, we really enjoyed our talks over a cup of tea in the morning. Frisky the cat is nice and well-mannered, so sad she has not visited our room. We will be happy to come back one day.

    May 2014
  • Ruth's home is very nice and welcoming. It is very well located in Folkestone - easy for the station, shops and sea. Ruth is very friendly and interesting to talk to. I'd definitely recommend staying here.

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$44
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 85 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Français
School
Canterbury Christ Church University, Canterbury Christ Church University
Work
Teaching EFL in Iceland and the UK
About
Hi, I'm Ruth and if you decide to stay in this delightful part of the country I'll make every effort to make you feel welcome and at home. I teach English as a Foreign Language, love travelling and getting to know people and finding out about their culture. I am fluent in German and quite good at French. Love entertaining friends with a healthy meal. Recently discovered Zumba, which is a fun way of exercising. Like cycling, walking and generally leading a peaceful and reflective life. I've brought up my 21 yr old son single-handed and now looking forward to a new season in my life where I can travel and do things solo. My mottos: over prepare, then go with the flow and You can learn something from everyone
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
4 days ago
Similar Listings