Full length mirror and chair in guest bedroomwardobe, radiator and extra large window for fresh air
United KingdomEnglandLondon
Heart of London on the Southbank

Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
1209 travelers saved this place

About this listing

My home is in the heart of London sandwiched between the London Eye and The Shard in trendy Southbank. Jubilee Line Zone 1 tube station is across the road and Borough Market, the Globe Theatre, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace are all walkable.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 12PM (noon) - 11PM
Check Out: 10AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The space

My home is in the heart of London and steps away from the Southbank's London Eye, The Shard, Tate Modern, Shakespeare's Globe and across the road from a Jubilee Line Zone 1 tube station. It is a very safe location for single travellers, couples, friends and family but two people at any time.

It is very easy to find, whichever airport you fly in to and if you want to venture sightseeing - there is loads of things immediately around in one of the oldest part of London. With a Zone 1 tube outside you will find ten minutes and four stops and you are on Oxford Street shopping or four stops the other way and you are in the glamorous financial district of Canary Wharf or on your way to the Olympic site at Stratford. And three mainline stations are ten minutes away so day trips out to Brighton seafront, Salisbury, Bath or Canterbury are all manageable daytrips.

My home includes free WIFI, a bedroom with a double bed, two wardrobes, four drawers plus a shared bathroom with a bath and shower above it, a sink plus a separate toilet. Naturally the sheets are changed between guests or weekly if you are staying longer and there are clean towels provided. Please be aware that you need to step over the bath to get in the shower. One of my guests, who had some difficulty, managed to negotiate a very good rate at the local gym.

There is also a kitchen with an oven and hob, fridge and freezer, microwave, kettle and toaster as well as pans, cutlery, glasses etc.... In the lounge there is a music system, TV and DVD. I am a friendly person and love you to use the facilities and come and go as you wish as you will have two sets of keys.

I do have a washing machine but drying is a real issue without a utility room. I have installed a £10 per load rule as I will do it or I will happily tell you where the nearest dry cleaners or laundrette is in the area.

My home is comfortable but not perfect. You will hear neighbours and sirens as the emphasis is living the inner city London life. Everything is very close by from coffee houses to theatres and street markets to the River Thames and I promise to always help if you have any special requests. My home is 60 years old and please remember you are booking budget prices and it is unrealistic to expect hotel heat. Even in winter the heating goes off at 11pm and back on at 8am.

Finally I take ecology seriously and have bees on my balcony. In winter they rarely venture out, but in summer if you open your windows you may find one goes in your room. They are good tempered and I am happy to remove it without any harm to you or the bee. No one has been stung yet but if this bothers you simply keep your window closed until it goes dark.

This is not a hotel and suits people who are interested in being part of how London breathes and lives. My guests have found it refreshing and entertaining place to gain a few memories and some have even come back with a smile and hug and even better the odd bottle of wine or cookies. And I especially love a fridge magnet from your home town to remind me of you.

Lizzy x

Guest access

One double bedroom (maximum 2 people), shared bathroom and toilet, free access to cooking, tea and coffee making facilities. Space in fridge and freezer. I always have bread and butter, jams, marmalade, milk and cereals for guests to help themselves.

Interaction with guests

I live in the same place but it is up to guests if they decide to interact. Most like someone to ask about shopping and attractions, others about getting medical help or where to find that special something - replacement suitcase to tasting the best fish and chips. I have even taken people swimming 8am Sunday morning or on trips around the hood. Just ask and I will see what is possible with a smile.

The neighborhood

It is real London. Kids playing football in the Square, dropping in to places for a coffee and friends knocking to tell me about what's happening. And my pubs are the best! From the oldest - The George in Borough High Street, to the Nelson - friendliest small star on the edge of the flats to the old boxing favourite The Ring - which has craft ale Blue Moon... And we have the best home made celebration cakes at Konditor and Cook - minutes away. Oh and the world famous Borough Market 10 minutes walk away.

Getting around

Central London - opposite a Zone 1 tube on the Jubilee Line and within a ten minute walk to three mainline train stations at Waterloo, Blackfriars and London Bridge. Frankly you can get anywhere!!

Other things to note

Theatres - Old Vic, Menier Chocolate Factory, Young Vic, Jerwood Studio and the Union Street theatre (small and local) are within two to ten minutes walk away. Food galore from Chinese to Indian, from posh burgers to Italian or the fresh and fabulous cuisine of Turkish. The river is ten minutes straight up Blackfriars Road. The apartment is sandwiched half way between The Shard - Europe's tallest tower and the London Eye and Big Ben. Iconic and again so very London.


House Rules
No smoking
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check-in time is 12PM (noon) - 11PM.

Please don't smoke in my home. This is my home and a brilliant place if you love life. There will be sirens and neighbours, shouts and laughter but I promise you the real London. Above all it is safe and secure and I am in the other bedroom if you need any help.

One load of washing is charged at £10 for the inconvenience it causes in a small house without a utility room or tumble drier. Sorry.

Finally the duvet and pillows are feathers covered by cotton. Please let me know before you book if that is going to cause you problems. I will try and help within reason - but please don't ask if the bed can be changed to singles as a miracle worker I am not.

This is a happy place and the emphasis is enjoying your time so rules do tend to go out the window. Please do ask if you are looking for anything special as I am always generous with what I have and can do. It is not a hotel or perfect but it is home.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

144 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 86 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

London, United Kingdom · Joined in September 2011
Lizzy User ProfileLizzy is a superhost.

This is a very traditional bit of London and I take friends for a stroll to the river and a coffee at Tate Modern or a fabulous Turkish meal at EV's on nearby Isabella Street. When my nieces stay they go off clubbing at Ministry of Sound - less than a mile for the walk home. My gay friends go to Heaven! About a mile in the other direction. For me, a coffee on the balcony listening to the sounds of the city is just fine. If you are OCD or uptight this is not the place for you. If you love life and are more interested in chatting than washing up then you will fit right in.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
You won’t be charged yet