shared.user_profile_image

Large Room in Quirky Old Apartment

United KingdomEdinburgh
Private room
3 Guests
2 Beds
$59
Per Night
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Welcome to my unusual but utterly charming apartment. Hike Arthur's Seat, have a bath, and relax on the sofas.

Please Send me a Message Before You Book, and Add a Photo, Email & Phone Number to your Profile. I prefer not to do late check-ins Thanks

Double Bed in Cosy Alcove. This is the original Bed Recess found in Edinburgh Tenements.

Double Bed in Cosy Alcove. This is the original Bed Recess found in Edinburgh Tenements.


The Space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $15 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $7
Weekly Price: $416 /week
Monthly Price: $1844 /month
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

My Apartment is on the first floor of a Traditional Edwardian Tenement. The flat is 'shabby chic', a bit scruffy around the edges but with bags of character. It retains many original features such as the Victorian range and Edwardian clothes pulley.

Your room is large with two sofas and an open fire. It has typical high ceiling, stripped wooden floor and large original sash & case windows.

The double bed is in a cosy alcove and there is an additional double bed on the platform above.

My road is right next to Holyrood Park and there is a wee path at the end of it that leads you to Arthur's Seat. There is a breathtaking view of the Salisbury Crags from the front of the building.

Guest Access

All Bed Linen is provided.

You have Free Unlimited WiFi, a TV, Digibox and DVD player.

You will have priority use of the bathroom, with its full length bathtub, and an array of complementary bath products and candles. There is a new electric shower above the bath. Towels are provided.

Breakfast is included so you are welcome to help yourself to whatever I have in. Various teas, coffee and breakfast cereals are always available, along with fruit, yoghurt, bread and eggs.

There is a washing machine you are welcome to use.

Interaction with Guests

I am happy to have a chat over coffee in the morning, and I enjoy hearing about your day when you come in. During the day I may be working. I cook and eat quite late, so you are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare food before 8pm.

I am self-employed and my office space is at one end of the kitchen. So during the day I may need it to myself. You are of course welcome to pop in and make drinks, have breakfast and ask me questions etc.

I have lived in Edinburgh for 20 years so I can provide lots of information about the city.

The Neighborhood

Although my road is quiet, I live in a busy student area with a choice of cafés, restaurants and takeaways, 2nd hand bookstores, pubs and theatres. The Royal Mile is within walking distance, with bars full of folk music and fine single malts ;-)

在住所附近步行五分钟不到的地方有两家中国超市

The area is very safe, I have often walked back late if I've been out and always feel perfectly comfortable.

Getting Around

The apartment is a 20 minute walk to the train station/airport bus stop (slightly longer from, as it's partially up hill with bags!), taxi around £5 or there are buses galore (the number 14 gets you the closest). The bus doesn't save much time, but is helpful if you have heavy bags, or weather is bad. Ask me if you need more details about the bus route (detailed walking directions are given on booking).

Please Note: Unless you are here over the weekend, PARKING IS METERED OR IN A PAYING CAR PARK.

Other Things to Note

I prefer not to do check-ins after 8pm, if you want a later check-in please discuss this with me BEFORE booking.

* The price for two people is based on using one bed. if you require both beds there may be a small extra charge (to cover the extra wash load and time). I am sorry it is not possible to do this automatically on the Airbnb site as yet , so this charge does not appear automatically. I will ensure that this doesn't effect the good value of the listing compared to other two-bed listings available. If you think it does, please let me know and we can discuss it (-;
Thank you for your understanding.

**Although the room is listed as accommodating four people, this is really for families or two couples. It is not suitable for four single people; or it starts to feel like a hostel.

+ More

House Rules

The apartment and building are completely non-smoking.

I have a good relationship with my neighbours so the usual considerations regarding noise apply.

Please note that I no longer do late check-ins, so if you are planning to arrive after 8pm, please discuss this with me BEFORE booking, Thank you.

Please remove outdoor shoes in the bedroom, Thank you - feel free to bring your slippers (-:

If your time of arrival differs from the estimated one, due to delay or change of plan, please let me know as soon as possible - I may well have planned my day around your arrival time.

No guests to stay who have not booked via Airbnb. No parties or people to be invited back.

You are welcome to use the kitchen to make drinks and simple meals, but as I use it alot it isn't really available for hanging out in or making elaborate meals.

Do feel free to hang out on the sofas, have a long hot bubble bath (bubbles provided), and above all enjoy your stay in Edinburgh!

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
First Aid Kit

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.
 The sitting area as seen from your bed.

The sitting area as seen from your bed.

Verified Photo

238 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 56 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Sally

shared.user_profile_image
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Member since September 2011

Connections

Explore other options in and around Edinburgh

More places to stay in Edinburgh: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums