The apartment is located in Via dei Cimatori, close to the ancient and famous Via Giulia, in the heart of the historical centre of Roma, at the first floor of a small 17th century building. The characteristic ceiling of wood-beams, the quiet of Roma's alleys, and the welcoming atmosphere of the house make it a romantic place for an original and very peaceful holiday.
The apartment is composed of two large rooms, kitchen and bathroom. The apartment has been recently renewed. Pictures show a cosy and pleasant place. In the bathroom the sink is built in a marble surface; there is a comfortable shower.
The lodging can accommodate a maximum of five persons with two comfortable sofa-beds (one double and one single) in the lounge, together with a double bed (queen size) placed in a good sized bedroom. It is possible to prepare a single roll away bed for a 6th person. The apartment is fully furnished, including a fitted kitchen. There are also air conditioning, satellite TV set, CD-stereo, washing machine and free WI FI Internet access.
My family traveled to Rome and our booking was cancelled by another owner at the last minute. We needed to book new accommodations while traveling. Daniela was proactive and extremely responsive which made the process much easier. The apartment was very well situated and we would definitely stay there again! Thank you!
The location of this apartment can't be beat. Communication with the agency was very good and the taxi arrangements from and to the airport were very convenient. However, after staying in many apartments rented on airbnb over the last two years, this apartment didn't really meet my expectations. My biggest grievance was that the apartment wasn't very clean at all. After walking around without shoes, the bottoms of my feet were black, the shower head was covered in mildew and the walls were covered with black marks from wear and tear, amongst other things. The beds were also pretty uncomfortable. So, while the location is a definite plus and the rental agency was helpful, I will most likely not rent this apartment again due to the lack of cleanliness and upkeep.
We were sort of "diverted" into renting the Via Guilia Apt (offered as a Campo Di Fiori rental) , by the managers of the property who are in charge of many rentals in Rome. We tried for one apt that seemed to be available, but after a few hours turned out to be occupied, which was odd, because the calendar showed it was updated on the same day I was trying to book it.… Then I tried for another apt by the same managers, the same thing happened… though published as free, 3 apartments turned out to be occupied. All this time, we were offered the Via Guilia apt that was much more expensive and a bit smaller, which was odd… All this negotiation took time and we were getting closer to leaving for Rome. Having felt we had not many options we paid 300 Euros more then we initially intended for the Via Guilia apt. After securing the apt by credit card we were informed that the quoted price was wrong and that the price is higher then offered. I guess i should have stopped right there and then, but we were running out of time, so we booked it anyway. Our flight was late coming into Rome by 40 minutes. When I notified the managers that we were a bit late I was told that this would cost me an extra 20 Euros, since we came in at 9:40 instead of 9. I was a bit surprised since I wasn't made aware of this "fine" in advance. The apt turned out to be a lot less beautiful and much smaller then in the pictures. Also the address is hardly Campo Di Fiori…it's a nice neighbourhood and not so far but still, a good ten minutes walk from Campo Di Fiori. The apartment was not clean when we got there. There was stuff on the floor left over from the last guests, and the bathroom sink was dirty.There were not enough towels and we were told that more towels will arrived in the next day. The Sofa bed in the living room is so uncomfortable that we had to put a mattress on the floor instead. The apt is tiny and packed with furniture so there is not much room to move and the kitchen is so tiny that it's impossible to cook an omelette in it.. The next day we had an un pleasant negotiation with the manager over the towels, and finally the next evening we all had our showers. After we left we realised we had forgotten some souvenir at the apt. we contacted the managers the next day and asked them to send it to us by mail. They had promised they will look into to it but we never heard back from them again. At the end of it all, I felt I was cheated…This apt was way overpriced, and disappointing.. At the time that we still stayed there it is offered for 60...
thank you for having taken your time to write an extensive review.
We are sorry your expectations were let down, but we can promise you that the apartment you rented is of a very high quality and very well looked after, compared to the price offer we have made - even including a discount, since it was not your primary choice. As you can surely recollect, we have taken our time to take to you about every issue, before, during, and after the booking. We contacted you regarding the towel issue and offered an instant help, as the towels were just where they should be and had been shown to you at check-in. We were surprised to hear your accusations and saddened that you did not give us the possibility to respond at all. We would have loved to help and resolve whatever issue, as we do with all our guests, but being muted by your exaggerated and false accusations there was simply no way to communicate with you. We are sorry you did not get to enjoy your holiday – after all it’s not only our job but our passion to provide people with a positive vacation experience.
P.S.: Sorry we could not find your Simpsons T-shirt!
Our family of four could not have been happier with this apartment. Communication with the owner(s) was excellent. They replied instantly to our email, arranged our ride from the airport (which was most helpful in our jet-lagged state of mind), and offered us a thorough introduction to the apt, as well as various restaurant recommendations. We tried, and enjoyed, each. The location of the apt was perfect! Peaceful little street, direct walk to everything we wanted to see. We would absolutely stay here again, and suggest it to a friend wishing to relax and explore Rome.
This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.