Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
$35
Per Night
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Upstairs 15' x 8' bedroom/sewing & art room with a cozy queen-sized bed & a table to study at in a 2-story house. Shared bathroom with one small shower stall is downstairs. A 70-lb athletic, overly-friendly dog, 2 young boisterous grandchildren & their mother in residence. "B & B" = Bed & Bath. NO breakfast provided, very small refrigerator in the room. Small closet. Guests are provided with key to house, but room door does not have a lock. Laundry service available by request.

I found some new curtains I liked, so I bought them. Other photos may not have these same curtains because I just put these curtains up in March 2015.

I found some new curtains I liked, so I bought them. Other photos may not have these same curtains because I just put these curtains up in March 2015.


The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 6:00 PM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $5 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $5
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The Space

This is just an ordinary upstairs bedroom in an 1874 working-class home on a quiet residential street in the Capitol City of Minnesota. It is upstairs in a house that is under gradual rehab and improvement (as funds, motivation, and time permit).
The shower, sink, and toilet are downstairs in a bathroom shared with the rest of the household, which includes 2 young children, and may include a guest or two who are staying in The Shed in the back yard. Towels are freshly laundered, tumbled briefly in the dryer to fluff them and then dried in the sunshine and outdoor breezes (weather permitting) on the clothes line, and I never use scented dryer sheets.

I do not use commercial of chemical-based air fresheners in the home, as they make me ill.

The dog is a boisterous barreling bull of a boy named "Boss". He will most likely greet your first knock on the door with ferocious barking, but once he sniffs you, he soon calms down - unless you keep him stimulated by giving him too much attention. He has run of the whole house and he sometimes gets lonely and wanders upstairs to visit guests. If you are friendly with him, he might just take the liberty to climb into your bed. He is confined to a crate when we are not home, but usually free when we are home. He will dash out the door and run around the neighborhood if he gets the chance, and therefore precautions are taken when guests might be coming and going.
I don't make breakfast. I just interpret B&B to be Bed and Bathing facilities. I may leave fruit on the table in the bedroom, or in the refrigerator if I have an abundance at the time of your visit, but this is just a bonus if you are lucky - not a standard practice.

I tried accepting a reservaton for a weekend when I would be away, and it completely backfired. When I am home, I clean, and pick up things frequently, and sweep all the floors guests have access to, and wipe down the bathroom daily, scrubbing the floor whenever I see it needs it. When I am not home, my daughter does not do these things, and has even left diapers in the bathroom trash basket. So no more reservations if I am to be away. If you read Rick Tang's review - that is one that catalyzed this decision. I came home from a weekend in Wisconsin to a house that I couldn't even believe, it was so cluttered, and messy, and dirty, and there were sticky remains of what the baby had eaten every where! So this is not normal. This was the exception. I won't accept your reservation if I cannot be here to assure your comfort.

Guest Access

Guests will have access to the room itself, the front entry, and the downstairs bathroom. I do as much as I can to keep the living room comfortable for guests, but my housekeeping habits need improvement, and I often dump laundry and sorting projects in progress in the living room on and around the couches, which render the room less welcoming and relaxing. I am working on this. The bedroom itself is presently also storing some items: book, blankets, craft supplies, and a there is a nice bureau, but I have claimed it, and use it for photography, craft, and sewing supplies., A second bureau is full of my own camera equipment. and some family members', stuff. These are not available for guest use. There is a closet in which clothing can be hung, but no hooks for towels, coats, umbrellas, etc. (This will come as I get all the details figured out.) I need access to the room daily during warm season so that I can water the flowers in the window box.

Guests need to be aware that the back of the house (which includes the kitchen) is off-limits to guests, as it is in rough shape, and although the family uses it, it is simply not suitable for guest use. I have renovation projects in varying states of completion throughout the house.

Interaction with Guests

How much I interact with my guests will depend on what else I have going on any particular evening or day. I work part time (1 to 5 pm) and keep myself busy either with the yard and house right now - as I am gradually sorting and purging stuff that has accumulated in the house over the past 25 years I have lived her and raised a family.

My livingroom is set up with 2 couches and a piano, but no TV or stereo. Guests are welcome to relax on the couches whenever they like, but the dog thinks he belongs on the couch, too. I wash the couch covers frequently to keep ahead of the dog hair.
I sometimes cook, and may invite guests to join me for supper or breakfast, but they shouldn't expect that, because often I am just managing my own affairs and schedule. I'll always try to be present personally to orient guests to the home - the sleeping and bath facilities, but other than that, I may often be away from the house. Sometimes I sleep at a friend's house, too. Guests who stay long enough to need one will be provided a key to the front door.
My daughter and her children are staying with me at this time. My daughter Hayley does not usually talk to guests at all. She is rather introverted, and simply not comfortable with engaging in conversation with guests. Her children, however, will talk your ear off if you let them.

The Neighborhood

My neighborhood is quiet and pleasant. It is well mixed ethnically, and I do not personally know all my neighbors. Rice Street has a few small businesses where people can go for a drink or a bite to eat - nothing extravagant, and no 5-star, amazing pubs or eateries, but there is a little ice-cream and pizza shop, and a sub sandwich shop attached to it. I would love for my guests to patronize those shops as I would love to see them succeed. There are bars, and a variety of very working-class restaurants, such as Tin Cup's and Mama's Pizza.

Getting Around

There is on-street parking in front of my house. It is rare that one would have any difficulty finding a spot - maybe when one of my neighbors hosts a large party, but that is super rare.
I am near 3 bus routes, with a 1-1/2 block walk to one route, and a 2-1/2 block walk to the other 2 routes. Metro transit has a web site that you can use to look up bus schedules for the 3A and the 62, which run along Rice Street, and the 68 (?) that runs along Jackson Street. Schedules can be found on the metro transit website.

Other Things to Note

Grandchildren are present some of the time. There is a 5-year-old girl, and a 1-year-old boy. Sometimes they are noisy and get cranky around bed time, and this can disrupt the peace.They have been home in the evenings since about the beginning of August 2015 - and the little boy tends to cry when he is not getting exactly what he wants when he wants it. I hope this phase passes quickly.

+ More

House Rules

No smoking on the premises please. Be kind to the dog, but be ready to push him away, or turn your back on him if he tries to jump up on you. Please be very careful to not let him out the front door, or leave any gate unlatched. He will run away, and doesn't come when he is called. If you are coming to the front door, and start to open it, and the dog is at the door, stop. Either be ready to catch his collar, block him, or, if your hands are full, wait for me or my daugher to come and grab him.
If you will want to use the washer and dryer, please let me know in advance, as I am not the perfect houskeeper in the laundry room, and will need to make sure the space and machines are accessible and free of my own laundry and clutter. It will cost $1 to wash and $2 to tumble dry a load of clothes.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay
An Inexpensive Sunny Room

36 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 71 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Bonnie-Jean

shared.user_profile_image
St Paul, Minnesota, United States
Member since November 2012

Connections

Explore other options in and around Saint Paul

More places to stay in Saint Paul: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums