Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

Modernised light apartment in converted granary. Small village in Pennines.

Internet access. Drive parking. Beautiful scenery.

Close to High Force waterfall, Bowes Museum and only 30 miles to historic Durham City. Good walks and on the Pennine Way - famous long walk in England. Local shops. Cosy pubs. Dogs welcome. Non smokers preferred. Steps up to flat on 3rd floor - no lift. Bath. No shower.


I also have a small extra bedroom that can be used for one extra guest at a cost of £10 a night. I offer a discount for solo Pennine Way walkers who stay one night. Message me for details

Buses daily except Sunday and Bank Holiday. Mostly hourly.

Guest access

You share my home with me so all space is available to access.

Interaction with guests

Sometimes I am about quite a lot and very much enjoy socialising with guests but I am often out so the time guests spend alone varies. The room I rent out is large so guests can keep to themselves if they wish. Guests can use the kitchen to cook meals if required. I offer a simple breakfast of toast with various spreads, tea and coffee


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 11PM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

keep clean and tidy


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

71 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Nicholas User Profile
July 2017
Jane was very welcoming and made us feel very welcome in her home. She managed to get the balance exactly right between giving us space to come and go and engaging with us to help us make our stay special.

Sally User Profile
July 2017
Our stay with Jane was our first experience of Airbnb, and we are now well and truly converted. She could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and we loved her and her home. It's a modern but comfortable space, and has a lot of colour, character, and light. It's ideally-located for the shops and (very good) eateries in Middleton, and for lots of stunning walks, including riverside walks to Low and High Force, and the railway path that links to other very pretty villages, such as Mickleton, Romaldkirk and Cotherstone. It's also ideal for local bus services into Barnard Castle. We very much hope to return one day.

Nathan User Profile
June 2017
Very friendly host, great apartment and perfect for Pennine Way Walkers.....lovely village too!

Michela User Profile
June 2017
This is a beautiful, comfortable and very quiet flat, about seven minutes walk from the main stretch of shops, pubs, and hotels.

Margaret User Profile
June 2017
Jane was a great host ,making me feel really at home.The accommodation was bright,very clean,well appointed and use of kitchen fully appreciated

Ann User Profile
May 2017
Jane is a relaxed and perfect hostess; our arrival time kept changing but this didn't faze her and she was there when we finally turned up. The photographs are absolutely bang on and the flat is as it shows. The room is big with a standard double bed ( so beware if you have a king size) which had lovely white bedding and big white towels. Jane even left out a hot water bottle... We were offered tea and coffee as well as toast and we were made to feel so at home that we just helped ourselves and made breakfast. The Co-op is just around the corner and is open early and closes late. Jane is happy to chat but also happy to sit in her 'corner' without speaking. She is friendly, interesting and incredibly active and knows the area well. The wi-fi worked as well as it needed to and Jane didn't charge for this. It is obvious she enjoys meeting new people; her main reason for letting the room and her generosity in allowing us free access around the flat is evidence of this. A highly enjoyable stay with a very interesting, kind and lovely host.

Siobhan User Profile
May 2017
Jane is a fantastically laid back person who immediately made us feel at home. Even our normally shy dogs took to her immediately! Her home is light, clean and has a lovely energy about it - with a great taste in art on the walls! Easy to find - Jane gave great instructions - and perfect for what we needed. If you want a relaxed stay with a host who has so many great stories to tell about her travels/life - then this is for you!

Barnard Castle, United KingdomJoined in July 2010
Jane User Profile

Likes: World travel on a shoestring...sometimes combining volunteering with trips abroad such as in Kenya. Apart from Australia, cycling across America, trucking round South America etc, recent travels have been to Morocco and island hopping in the Canaries as well as trips to mainland Europe. I love cycling too...particularly in Holland. Other interests reading, socialising, drama and writing. I have written two books - one on my travels. for family and friends. I like meeting people and exploring new places. I rent my place out as I like to hear other people's travel experiences and make new contacts.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings