Comfortable room at a great rateFront entrance
A comfortable room at a great rate, great location
A comfortable room at a great rate, great location

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This cozy room consists of a queen-sized bed, an HDTV flat screen television with cable, lots of closet space, a small work desk and a shared bathroom with roomy shower. The bathroom is only shared with one other person if that room is occupied.

The space

Welcome to Tiger's Den. I hope you'll enjoy your stay with me in San Rafael de Escazú. My name is Jilla, but almost everyone calls me Tiger. My house is conveniently located in a nice neighborhood situated across from Paco Plaza. We are in a secure gated community with a guard at the entrance at all times.
I moved to Escazú because I really liked the proximity to quality dentists, medical care, San Jose, the theaters, movies, fantastic dining, farmers markets and so much more.
A lot of our guests enjoy walking to the many dentist's offices, shopping areas, and restaurants nearby. The house is a five minute walk to a great gym and about a 15 minute walk to a great pool. We're about 20 minutes from the center of San Jose, 25 minutes from the main SJ airport (Juan Santamaría International Airport), and 20 minutes from the Tobías Bolaños International Airport airport in Pavas. We're less than a mile from CIMA and Multiplaza.
There are four bedrooms in the house that I rent out: two posh suites with private baths, and two comfortable rooms that share a spacious bathroom. Provided with the cost of your bedroom are towels and linens, a shower with hot water, flat panel HDTV and cable with all the English-language channels available, plus high speed (10mbps!) wireless internet. There is no need for air conditioning in any of the rooms because the breeze sweeps through the house. Each room has a ceiling fan if you get too warm, but most days they aren't even needed.
I enjoy sharing my space with people who are easy-going, neat, healthy, or at least interested in getting healthy, non-tobacco smokers. This is a gay, vegetarian and animal friendly establishment. You don't have to be gay or vegetarian but I do hope you like animals. I have two big cats and two small dogs. If you have allergies, or don't really thrill to the idea of animals in your space, just keep your doors closed and the animals won't enter your room. If you want animals to play with, mine are very friendly.

Guest access

You will have access to the whole house (excluding my apartment and art studio) including the kitchen, living room with fireplace, dining room, an outdoor BBQ area and garden, that includes a 5th full bathroom and washer and dryer, a refrigerator and running water and seating for several people.
I have a big yard with a patio, tropical plants surrounding a BBQ area. The garden offers the perfect environment to read, eat, or simply relax or meditate.
There's a dining room and a large eat in kitchen with all American-style appliances including a dishwasher.

Interaction with guests

I interact with guests on an intermittent level. I'm in the house a lot, but also have an art studio so I'm in there for a big part of the day. I will cook meals at a cost of $10.00/per person, but usually require 24 hours notice. I'm friendly, but also busy.

Other things to note

There are great hiking trails up in to the mountains behind the house and a park across the street. There are over 50 restaurants ranging from McDonalds to one of the finest Italian restaurants in Central America. There is a huge shopping plaza, and my favorite, a great park with a river and tall bamboo less than 3 minutes away from my front door.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Internet
Free parking on premises
Indoor fireplace

Prices
Extra people $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $25
Security Deposit $100
Weekly Discount: 29%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)

I don't allow tobacco smoking on the premises. That includes the garden and terrace. Please respect my home and my belongings. PLEASE don't flush anything down the toilets that did not come from your body. Use the trash receptacle next to the toilet, my septic system can't handle it. I would appreciate it if you ate and drank only what you brought into the house yourselves. Thanks for your cooperation and understanding.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs
Pet(s) live on property

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

21 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Mike User Profile
August 2017
This place was really everything I needed. I was getting dental work done and Jilla really is a super host because she offered to make me about anything I felt like that would be ok with my teeth work. Also she knows about all there is to know about eating healthy and she stocks healthier food then you would get eating out. She took me hiking and she's a few decades older than me and she is in way better shape than I. She lives right by mountains so it's just a matter of going up the neighborhood roads. She lives in a gated community with nice neighbors and outside of the community is a gym, arenatrek, that lets you do daily or weekly membership and it's a 5 minute walk along with a fresh market and several awesome restaurants in the area. She also has a friendly little dog named lulu and two friendly house cats. I'm look forward to coming back!

Thomas User Profile
June 2017
It's a beautiful, friendly house with nice shared public space. It's with walking distance to stores and restaurants. Jilla's tiger den was easy to reach via Uber and we could get someone to pick us up within minutes every time. Jilla was very accommodating and friendly.

Ashwini User Profile
May 2017
My experience at the house of Tiger in Escazu has been my best Airbnb stay. The house is big and very well decorated, very clean and located in a very quiet neighbourhood. I stayed 4 months and I really enjoyed my time. Tiger is very friendly, openminded, generous, fun and she cooks very well! She is a very caring person. I immediatrly felt home. I really loved sharing time with her: going to the market, hiking or drinking a glass of wine... She is adorable and I really do love her!
Jilla Aka Tiger User ProfileJilla Aka Tiger is a superhost.
Response from Jilla Aka Tiger:
Thank you so much Ashwini. I know we'll be friends and meet again. I'll miss our hikes and going to the Féria and sharing so many meals together. You were truly a pleasure to host. I can't wait to see you again, maybe in Brussels next time? I love you.
May 2017

Richard User Profile
January 2017
Tiger is the most amazing Airbnb host ever! She was very helpful and accommodating in assisting me as a solo traveller with my first visit to San Jose and the upscale neighborhood of Escazu. Her place is conveniently and securely located in a gated community within walking distance of nearly every amenity imaginable. A beautiful park is a few steps away and from there endless walking and hiking possibilities exist into the surrounding neighborhoods or mountains. Her home is spacious with a large well equipped kitchen, lounging areas inside and out and even a cozy fireplace, if required. There was a great sense of community created with Tiger and other travellers staying at her place making for a very enjoyable experience. Highly recommended. I will return again soon!

Cathy User Profile
December 2016
Awesome host. Tiger made sure we were happy and comfortable, and when she couldn't be there personally to greet us she assigned someone else to the task who had as much enthusiasm and knowledge of the area. Tiger is a kind and generous woman and we'd highly recommend her as a hostess to any one wishing to spend time in the greater San Jose area.

Kenneth User Profile
December 2016
Escazu is a lovely and cosmopolitan place, but still with the intaimacy and charm of the old world. Jilla's house is a great representative of the best of the neighborhood. Check out the rooftop patio! We will definitely book again for a return trip.

Patrick User Profile
September 2016
Tiger's house was wonderful! The place is kept very clean and tidy, and accompanied with beautiful art spread throughout the house. Sadly Tiger was not there for my stay, but her replacement Erin was nothing short of great! She was always willing to answer any questions and had great advice for places to go and see. The house felt warm and welcome, and privacy was not a concern, when I come back to San Jose this will definitely be a stop! I felt the pura vida lifestyle the whole time I was there.

This host has 32 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Escazu, Costa RicaJoined in March 2011
Jilla Aka Tiger User ProfileJilla Aka Tiger is a superhost.

I was a home health care nurse for PWA's (people with AIDS) in the 90’s and can offer health care if you're recovering from any kind of dental work, plastic surgery, etc. I'm a retired personal trainer with 25 years experience and I was also a licensed massage therapist. I consider myself a happy and upbeat person.

I love to exercise and walk. I cook healthy food. My house is a great place to come if you're on a diet, or just enjoy healthy eating. I'm very laid back and love to have my breakfast outside, snooze in the hammock, or just hang out in the garden. I also do ceramic sculpture, and pottery, and enjoy making jewelry with polymer clays and resins. I like movies and love to read autobiographies, biographies, novels, and study books including Spanish, Travel, History and Spirituality. I love to travel and meet new people. I also love to cook and can prepare many various types of dishes. I particularly like curries. I enjoy having new people in my home and many of my guests have become dear friends who come back whenever they can. Sometimes I can be kind of private and just need alone time. It depends on what's going on and how many people are in the house at once.

I have always been drawn to travel and adventure. I've lived in many places including New York, Puerto Rico, Alaska, Japan and San Francisco before settling here in Costa Rica. I'm also a big animal lover and enjoy walking my dog in the mountains that surround my home. I like trips to the beach and swimming, yoga and a healthy diet. I'm mostly a pescatarian, but that doesn't mean you have to be. I'm glad to prepare meals of all types with 24 hour notice and a charge of $10 a meal per person.

Please tell me a bit about yourself and why you're coming to CR.

Languages: English, Español, 日本語
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings