Front parlor looking into 2nd parlor.  Futon can be converted into a double bedFront parlor looking into 2nd parlor
Central, Convenient and Beautiful Location


Entire home/apt

4 Guests

1 Bedroom

3 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Welcome to Faubourg St. John is one of New Orleans' oldest neighborhoods and is centrally located with easy access to the city. The neighborhood also hosts the annual New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival and the house is 8 blocks from Jazz Fest.

The space

The property is a 4-room shot-gun double built in the 1880's. The term shot gun refers to the layout of the house, in that one room leads directly into the next. Double is a New Orleans term for duplex.

Interaction with guests

I live on the other side of the house and am available to offer tips on the neighborhood what is happening in New Orleans. When I am not home, my next door neighbor Tommy will take good care of you.

License or registration number

City registration pending
Learn about this field

The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $50
Security Deposit: $250
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM

This is a smoke and pet free property. The house can accommodate a maximum of 4 people. Guests are not allowed to host parties nor engage in loud behavior between the hours of 10p-8a as this is a quiet neighborhood.
Violating these simple rules may result in immediate termination of the stay with no refund and loss of deposit.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

139 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Tara User Profile
May 2017
Gary was great and made sure we had everything we needed. It's helpful to know that there isn't a trolley stop nearby and you'll probably want to Uber if you're going to the French Quarter. The beds were comfortable and the house was cozy. Would recommend!

Susan User Profile
May 2017
Gary's mid-city apartment is in a wonderfully walkable part of New Orleans. Easy access to St John bayou, Lafitte Greenway, City Park, restaurants and bars, beautiful architecture in all directions. A comfortable place to stay with very nice neighbors and just as pictured.

John User Profile
May 2017
Gary is a really nice guy, the house is beautiful (and accurately represented,) and the location, as far as my understanding of NOLA goes, is hard to beat. Food and coffee were walking distance away. The french quarter, CBD and city park (which is huge and great) were slightly longer walks (or short car rides) away. Gary volunteered great local information and was a breeze to coordinate with. And the house, as you can see from the pictures, had a great, very New Orleans-y, feel to it.

Amber User Profile
May 2017
Gary's place was clean, quaint and a true 5-minute walk to jazz fest! Everything was wonderful.

Max User Profile
April 2017
The overall experience was awesome. Gary was a great guy and worked great with our late check in. Would stay here again without a question.

Audrey User Profile
April 2017
Fantastic neighbourhood! I loved my morning walks to the coffee shops down the street. It was so beautiful and people were very friendly. Gary was a great host. Out fridge did go out a few times but he made sure he could get it fixed as soon as possible. Me and my 4 girlfriends had a great time in this quiet neighbourhood, we were still able to play music on a speaker most of the day and got no complaints. The city was amazing and full of culture. Only $6-8 on uber to get places. The city park is a short walk away (definitely go there!!!) Overall great place to stay.

Brittany User Profile
April 2017
Place is not conveniently located to downtown, no private rooms you must walk through all rooms to get to kitchen and bathroom. There is one large bed and two futons.
Gary User Profile
Response from Gary:
The house is exactly 1 mile from the French Quarter, as advertised, which makes it 2-2.5 miles from the Central Business District. Also, the house is advertised as a shotgun with rooms connected end-to-end. I apologize for missing a tissue behind the bed when cleaning. But, this is one of the few rare reviews I have received raising issues of cleanliness about the place. However, I would like to add to my public review of these guests that I accommodated their request for both early check-in and late check-out. However, when I entered the place 4 hours after check-out, one of the young ladies was sound asleep in the bed, had not begun to pack and her belongings were strewn all over the place, along with Mardi Gras beads, trash, champagne corks, etc ... Additionally, one of the keys was not returned. Thus, I would like to amend my review of Brittany to indicate I would not recommend renting to someone that complains about a little dust, in a 130 year old house, the proceeds to trash the place, fails to observe house rules (that included additional accommodations for early and late check-out) and loses a key.
April 2017

This host has 5 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

New Orleans, Louisiana, United States · Joined in September 2011
Gary User Profile

Eat, Give Thanks & Dance!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Gary’s place.
Gary
Tommy helps host.
Tommy
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.