User Profile Image

The Etho-House: Off Grid Experience

Entire home/apt
6 Guests
1 Bedroom
5 Beds

Request to Book

$90
Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Andrea Joy's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!
Chances are...
Andrea Joy's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Andrea Joy's place will get booked for these dates.
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

If you are looking for an affordable yet comfortable stay while experiencing the Virgin Rainforest & natural beauty of Belize this is the place! A Basic Kitchen, Solar Electricity, & Flushing Toilet ensure comfort while stepping off the beaten track!

Contact Host

The Virgin Rainforest that surrounds us is breathtaking!


The Space
Property type: Treehouse
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 5
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Some pets

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $25 / night after 4 guests
Cleaning Fee: $30
Security Deposit: $150
Weekly Price: $550 /week
Monthly Price: $1300 /month
Cancellation: Strict

Description

House Rules

Safety Features
None
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

The Kitchen has a gorgeous tropical hardwood slab counter and a cooking island with 6 burners for all your food preparation needs!

7 Reviews

Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
July 2015
Andrea Joy
Response from Andrea Joy:

Deze gasten hadden op verschrikkelijke ervaring , omdat ze totaal onvoorbereid voor off -grid leven. De foto's van het huis werden jaren geleden genomen , en we moesten de trap , anders dan dat het is precies hetzelfde als afgebeeld herstellen! We zullen meer foto's toevoegen van de nieuwe stairway.The ventalation gat in het plafond verwijderd warmte, maar heeft geen dode dieren te hebben! Dat is helemaal niet waar , ze zijn dpouti ga veel leugens om te proberen te voorkomen dat het betalen voor hun werkplaats en de extra schoonmaakkosten voor haar heeft verlaten zo'n puinhoop ! Ik denk dat de bottom line is , ze zijn uit België en gebruikt om een ​​zeer verwend leven niet zoiets als plaatsen met weinig cel -signaal, en geen koelkast (WE vertelde hen dat aan de voorkant ! ) Kijk naar Pascales en Stevens recensies onder hen en je kunt zien , bleven ze net voor deze mensen ! En geen problemen als dit kwam !

July 2015

July 2015
Andrea Joy
Response from Andrea Joy:

Thanks Stephen!!! You guys were awesome guests! We would love to have you back anytime!

July 2015

July 2015
Andrea Joy
Response from Andrea Joy:

Thanks Pascale! We really enjoyed these guysm even though we only caught a few chats with eachother! They seem like intelligent busy people who relished in the low tech break of belize! Left the place practically spotless! Even stripped the sheets! What an awesome house guest! Come ba k anytime you need to stop and smell the 'frangipannis' again!

July 2015

April 2014
Andrea Joy
Response from Andrea Joy:

I am proud to say my only poor review as a host comes from guests who never met me!!!! Unfortunately I never got the chance to meet Alex and Jeff! As they showed up about 9 pm and left before I was able to meet them (our house is a 2 minute walk from the ETHO-House and I heard them honk upon arrival as I was outside in the pasture feeding a bottle lamb and walked down immediately after this.) They did honk but it must have been moments before they left as they were gone in the 5 minutes it took me to go inside and put away the lambs bottle and walk down the hill. Then wrote a very rude email explaining that they had a hard time finding the house and got some flat tires on the road and chose to leave after finding the accommodation because no one was there immediately to greet them at 9 pm, and the lights of the house were off (we have renewable energy systems and thus I turned the lights on at dark and off again at 8:00 when I was sure they must have had a cancelled flight and would surely arrive the next evening!) Alex felt this was all my fault and they deserved full refund. I replied very politely explaining that while I was very sorry they had a frustrating journey to find us neither the flat tires of their failure to show up at any normal hour (who checks in at 9pm!!!!) were my fault and that I had the accommodation ready and waiting for them, it was unlocked, all they needed to do was to go inside, and that further more I had two separate inquires for that same time slot they paid for and reserved and had to turn them down and one of them was for an entire week so I would have turned over almost twice the profit. I hoped they might understand this but instead they wrote this nasty review. I believe they made the irresponsible decision to try to find their accommodations after dark, since there are no road signs of street lights this was poor planning. It gets dark about 6 pm here and our home is about a 45 minute drive form the main highway. THere are only two turns, two turns ONLY so even if they had missed the first turn (over the bridge) there is only about 2 minutes more of road to go on before it end abruptly at a neighboring farm, and again, if they had missed the second turn, the parking lot for the ATM cave is only a bout 5 minutes past that, where the road also ends, so how on earth it could have taken them several hours to find us in beyond me, but even if it did take them 2 hours... that STILL means they left after dark to find us... poor choice. I believe they actually decided they did not want to stay in a remote ''isolated' location as they mentioned in the review and that they would have been better off in town not in a PRISTINE REMOTE LOCATION, OFF THE BEATEN PATH which is exactly what this listing describes!) Other accommodations in locations like ours cost hundreds of dollars a night, we are offerring a very affodable stay in a pristine Rainforest location!

April 2014

April 2014
Andrea Joy
Response from Andrea Joy:

Thanks Brion & Mattie! Glad you had a great time! We look forward to a longer visit one day!! :)

April 2014

March 2014
Andrea Joy
Response from Andrea Joy:

Glad you loved it here Ian!! You were a pleasure to have here and we would highly recommend you as a guest to anyone, especially as a return guest here!!! Hope to see you back through one day! happy travels!

March 2014

February 2014
Andrea Joy
Response from Andrea Joy:

We look forward to a return visit Greg! You guys are awesome! Sorry Forest was not really well and thus up to showing you around more, but for SURE next time!!!!

February 2014

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Andrea Joy

Andrea Joy
Belmopan, Belize
Member since February 2013
Response rate: 100% (past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Trust

Explore other options in and around Teakettle

More places to stay in Teakettle: Apartments · Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas