big "treehouse" a/c apt hco beach

Apartment - Entire home/apt · p.o.box, Punta Santiago, 00741, Puerto Rico

The Space

PLAYA PUNTA SANTIAGO-HUMACAO-MID EAST COAST- PUERTO RICO

Imagine...live like a local in your own spacious, breezy and bright -furnished with all appliances, utensils and linens, satellite tv, wifi internet and new air conditioning. comfy large 5 room upstairs apartment which has bedroom with queen bed, bathroom, dining room, kitchen, livingroom with double sofasleeper and single day bed, and huge open terrace. guests say they can feel the love in this homey treehouse in the midst of a tropical garden! with seperate entrance and open veranda to view the rainforest or the beach from your hammock for two. an easy walk to the beach, local restaurants and other amenities in our friendly little fishing village on the east coast that comes alive on weekends. sleeps one to five and can accomodate more. enjoy complimentary fresh fruits of the season from your own tropical garden.
The Garden House...waiting for your escape. close to el junque-the rainforest, monkey island- cayo santiago and the humacao nature preserve and waterpark and balneario as well as punta santiago and naguabo beaches. snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, hangliding, hiking, and island sightseeing can be arranged - close to everything or nothing- it depends on you! why get stuck in a tiny hotel room? experience the real Puerto Rico- and we can provide airport and/or ferry transfers and tours so you can take a vacation from driving.... and chef tony can give cooking lessons and is available to cook for you too... available for short and long term rental. .... fully bi-lingual...Welcome/Bienvenidos!


Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Lots of room to kick back, but don't expect a quiet experience because cars like to blast their music as they drive by. You will probably be awakened through the night. Never heard Bonnie , Tony, or the dogs except for an occasional bark during the day.
    There is an ant problem.
    Worst part was not having water for over a day the day after we got there, then no running water again for about a day and half toward the end of our stay. They said this wasn't common, but over two out of six days without water can be unpleasant. When there was water, it was not necessarily hot, but was comfortable enough if you didn't stay in the shower too long.
    Beach was (email hidden)latively close walk, quiet (except weekends), not at all crowded (especially on weekdays), and warm. Also, trees to keep cool under. Stray dogs were not a bother.

    April 2014
    Bonnie
    Response from Bonnie:

    thank you lucille. you and tony were great guests. we loved that you enjoyed all of what our area has to offer. and that you didn't let the eccentricities of the caribbean affect you. thank you, tony and bonnie

  • We had a great time staying with Bonnie - we booked it last minute because of a change in plans and Bonnie and Tony were so accommodating. We wish we had time to stay longer!

    March 2014
  • They are so friendly !

    March 2014
  • Bonnie and Tony are amazing hosts, they were always making sure that we were fine and had everything we need. They let us pick fruits in their garden, bananas, limes, guavas... The neighborhood is really nice, and the beach is at walking distance.
    The house is very convenient and we especially appreciated the hammock on the balcony!
    You can be sure that you will have good time if you choose this place.

    March 2014
  • Bonnie and Tony are very kind and welcoming people who made us feel right at home. Still, they were not intrusive, and let us have our space. The apartment is very private, and has a FANTASTIC porch with a hammock--definitely the best feature!

    The Beach in Punta Santiago is lovely, and on weekdays was not crowded at all. There is a grocery store right down the street, and a few restaurants, though we didn't try them as we need vegan and gluten free, and weren't sure if they could accommodate that.

    A few things I wish I had known before going: the kitchen is very basic--don't plan on doing any significant cooking there. Putting together sandwiches and bowls of cereal and reheating leftovers in the microwave is what worked for us. There isn't much/any prep space and it's limited on things like sharp knives, cutting boards, etc.

    They do have dogs, but we didn't have any issues with them. They are quiet and Bonnie does a great job keeping them inside when there are visitors. I will say though, watch your step in the yard!

    The bed was comfortable and the room quiet and dark, especially with the A/C on. Noise issues were minimal, and no different than what I experienced elsewhere in PR--you aren't going to escape those booming trucks riding around the streets!

    There is hot water in the shower--just use the knob furthest away from the curtain and not the other one at all. There were ample towels, including beach towels.

    What I would recommend for improvement: the bathroom and kitchen need a thorough cleaning. It is likely difficult to make things cleaner as the shower/sink/toilet and floor are very old and I know from experience that it's nearly impossible to get things like that to shine. Still--a major scrub might help some.

    I did greatly enjoy the tour of the garden with Tony. He shared some delicious fruits and a plantain/potato thing with me (I don't recall its name), but it was the best thing I ate in PR!

    Overall, it was a great launch pad to explore PR's SE coast, and a good bargain. I'm also really glad to help support Bonny and Tony's work to rescue so many dogs--there is a big need in PR for that!

    March 2014
    Bonnie
    Response from Bonnie:

    thank you jennifer for your comprehensive review! you have a great heart and your insight and appreciation of life here is right on. our beloved 'treehouse" is a work in progress and we luv to make our guests happy!

  • Feedback from daughter: Traveling with my mom and 3 year old toddler. Bonnie and Tony's were a warm, chatty couple who provide the hospitality that they enjoyed and love when traveling. They truly enjoy meeting and hosting other people. The first thing Tony did was show us his garden, and offer us a taste of his guava and grapefruit/orange hybrid tree. Later, when we were chatting about plantains, he grabbed one and cooked it for us while telling us stories of childhood and young adulthood in Puerto Rico. LOVED IT!

    The place itself is an ideal set-up - the top floor of their house with a spacious living room, bedroom, kitchen and dining area. There was a beautiful terrace with a hammock, and you can literally smell the ocean breeze from the beach 2 blocks away. The place is clean and baby friendly (except the terrace where a young child needs supervision). The apartment itself is very private. You could definitely fit more people than the 3 of us. Its an perfect housing option for families.

    Tony and Bonnie rescue dogs, but we didn't interact much with the animals aside from the dog Sushi since they were in the house the duration of our stay.

    Logistics: Grocery store is a 5 minute walk away. If you need Wallmart/mainland USA mall conveniences, its about a 5 mile drive south. However, this area of Punta Santiago feels completely like a different world compared to mainland USA, and feels like living in Puerto Rico.

    I'm sorry we only had one night here, because its definitely a place you can hang out and spend several days. The apartment itself is very comfortable for relaxing, the beach is a mere minutes away, and there's several activities to do like kayaking or snorkeling at the adjacent islands. Bonnie also has suggestions for activities, if you need ideas.

    Feedback from mom: Bonnie and Tony are amazing people. So warm, that once you get to know them, you might like to stay much, much longer, because there is so much to be explored at their homely environment. Ideal for a family - kitchen, extra beds, roof top with hammock, with ocean breeze from one side, mountain breeze from the Jaylay from the other side. Spectacular view that is matched by their amazing hospitality. Tony can even cook for you! If you wish to know more about Puerto Rico, ask Tony.

    February 2014
  • Punta Santiago Apartment: Spacious, Friendly, And A Bit Noisy Dog Lover's Delight

    First of all, Bonnie, Tony, and the boys and girls are a delight, wonderful human beings and dogies (all 10) who made our stay in Punta Santiago comfortable and caring ... THANK YOU ALL!

    Found on AirBnB at $75 a night, the apartment was the most expensive of the three we reserved during our 3-week stay, but it is an entire private one-bedroom/one-bath apartment with a kitchen/dining room, living room, and a HUGE terrace just a few blocks from the beach.

    Furnishings are basic and somewhat dated, but in working order with the exception of the stove which we were unable to use. There are AC units in the bedroom and living room and were sufficient in providing cool sleeping conditions. The apartment gets plenty of air from trade winds, so the AC really is not necessary much of the time. There is an older color TV with cable in the living room (be sure to ask Tony how to get rid of the "blue" screen) and the wireless internet worked well the entire week we were there.

    There is a market down the street with most everything you need at reasonable prices and several small restaurants (see Taco Rico review) and bars just across the street, so food is abundant. Playa Naguabo (ten minute drive North) has several seaside restaurants including Waterfront Cantina and an outdoor cafe with three food stalls that serves fresh fish to hundreds at a time arriving on busses.

    The towns of Humacao and Fajardo are close by, so restaurants are abundant and the islands of Vieques and Culebra are a little over an hour away by ferry from Fajardo. The Humacao Nature Reserve is less than a 10-minute drive, offering trails, a secluded beach, wildlife, and mangrove swamps.

    The primary drawback as other guests have mentioned is the noise at night from the bar across the street, blaring music at decibles in the hundreds as well as the occasional vehicles with custom stereo blaring music at all hours of the day and night running up and down PR-3 adjacent to the house. Bring earplugs and/or a white noise machine as we did and unless you are a very light sleeper, you should not have any problems.

    If you love dogs, the sea, friendly people, and life in a relatively quiet fishing village, you will love the time you stay with Bonnie and Tony in Punta Santiago.

    CombatCritic Gives Bonnie and Tony's Punta Santiago Apartment 7 Out of 1o Bombs ... BOMBAS ARE BUENAS!

    January 2014
  • Bonnie and Tony are excellent hosts. We appreciated the fresh fruits from their garden. The location is across the street from a restaurant with great octopus soup and within walking distance of a grocery store. The apartment was spacious, clean, and comfortable.

    December 2013
  • Big, clean apartment, with all of the amenities! A/C and wifi worked wonders. Loved the large porch and hammock. Tony and Bonnie were very sweet, and Tony had some great stories for us when we settled in. Only thing to note, there is a bar or two directly across the street from the apartment, so some may not be okay with the noise (we were there on a Saturday night.) It wasn't an issue for us, but may be for some! Public beach access within minutes, parking not a problem.

    December 2013
  • As an experienced Air BnB host and guest, who I will note has not stayed in a hotel for over 15 years and has rented several places at this price range, I felt that Bonnie and Tony's apartment failed to meet some basic expectations. I appreciate having affordably priced options out there and with some improvements (new/fresh sheets instead of sheets with holes in them, regularly laundering bedspreads, a deep cleaning of the apartment every 2-3 months, perhaps some cheap breakfast options for guests since there is nothing nearby, as is air bnb tradition) this place would be (email hidden)ve or take the risk of guests encountering the dangerous dogs on the property. The apartment hosts a good amount of space with air conditioning and a lovely deck with a hammock to sit on. We were a little tight with 4 adults, and I'm not sure if 6 would work. Noise seems to be a problem for some, but anyone who has spent time in Puerto Rico should expect the morning coo from roosters and some music at night. There is air conditioning but no hot water in the apartment, which is common in PR. The washing machines were apparently not working (they were listed as an amenity), so our guests expectantly came with dirty laundry they were not able to clean for their camping trip the next day. Bonnie was very sweet and great at communicating before we got there. She even provided driving directions. We didn't see Bonnie during our stay, but dealt directly with Tony. He seems like a nice, quirky guy who cares a lot about his gardening and (many) rescued dogs. He talks a storm, though, and it's impossible to get a word in when we had one or two practical questions about our stay. More attention to guests and checking in to see if they have what they need once or twice during their stay would be great. The major down point that must be noted, are the big, dangerous dogs in the yard. We found out only after our arrival that we were literally on "lock down" and could not come or go from the property while dogs were being fed. All of our 4 guests are dog lovers, but we were not told just how dangerous these dogs are. Bonnie tried to inform us via text message that the dogs were being let out to feed in the morning and I responded that two of our party were out doing errands and I'd text them. She proceeded to let the dogs out, and our guests, who has not received our text yet, was attacked in the yard by a dog, their grocery bags ripped out of their hands. I would seriously consider the liability issues of having guests on a property with so many un-trained dogs, at the very least warning them of the extent of the situation in the air bnb listing. I truly wish we had a better experience, but we...

    November 2013
    Bonnie
    Response from Bonnie:

    thank you emily for sharing your thoughts. your experience was very different from most of our guests but i can appreciate the stress of coordinating with several others and having to make last minute reservations and so we are always ready to accommodate those requests. that is why i keep it simple and after meeting our guests i text each day to make sure they have what they need in as unobtrusive a manner as possible. our guests are our priority and allow us to be able to rescue and foster. it is your vacation and your place so our dogs are only allowed out when the guests are off property. they are trained to be quiet, to obey commands and to be inside when guests are on premise. however, i broke our own rule (and probably confused them) that morning. you had graciously texted that i could let them out while your friends were running errands and you would text to let them know. but that is how we learn and so we are back to no dogs outside while we have guests upstairs period no problem. and yes we supplement and change our linens and towels regularly and thoroughly clean the apartment, as well as washing spreads, sheets, towels between each guest stay. our washer was down that day but was repaired the next. we provide complimentary coffee and teas and unlimited seasonal fruits from our lush tropical gardens and we are available to cook for guests upon request. we are blessed to have guests who return to stay so they can visit the dogs and because they enjoy the clean, fresh, airy accommodations and the location between rainforest and beach that the gardenhouse has to offer. as seasoned travelers we provide the services and amenities we would expect and want our guests to love our island as much as we do.

Per Month
From
$75
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 127 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Español
About
Tony and I are a semi-retired couple who've found our paradise and want to share it with others who appreciate enjoying the true aspects of the places they visit. Well traveled ourselves, we want to provide the experience we've enjoyed as we've traveled. And so we offer both short and long term vacation apartment rental and we provide everything from pick your own tropical fruits to full service care and amenities, transportation, tours, local cuisine and a host of recreational activities available in our area..
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings