your entranceprivate entrance
huge a/c gardenhouse apt-humacao- avocados are in!
huge a/c gardenhouse apt-humacao- avocados are in!


Entire home/apt

6 Guests

1 Bedroom

3 Beds


Entire home/apt

6 Guests

1 Bedroom

3 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

1,000 sq ft vacation apartment equipped with everything you'll need. Ideally located on the east coast near the beaches, rainforest, water park, nature preserve, monkey island and to the best seafood. and near the ferries to vieques and culebra!
the gardenhouse's map homepage


The space
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $15 / night after 2 guests
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Description

The space

location, location, location! imagine....live and play like a local in your own spacious 1,000 sq ft apartment. birdwatchers are crazy about this place, they call it the treehouse! breezy and bright, completely furnished with all appliances, utensils and linens, satellite tv, wifi internet and new air conditioning and access to washer and dryer. this simple, comfy 5 room upstairs apartment has separate entrance and occupies the entire upper level with parking within fenced and gated property. has 1 bedroom with queen bed, kitchen, dining room, living room with double sofa sleeper and twin day bed, bathroom and a large open veranda with double hammock to view the foothills of the rainforest or the proximity of the beach. our guests say it's a great springboard for the activities on our side of the island. an easy walk to the beach just houses away and local restaurants and other amenities in our friendly little fishing village on the east coast that wakes up on the weekends and holidays. sleeps one to five and can accommodate more. enjoy complimentary seasonal fresh fruits from your own garden...did we mention buttery avocados are currently in season and ripe for the picking! the gardenhouse...waiting for your escape! close to the humacao balneario/waterpark/nature preserve (where you can rent kayaks and bicycles) , el junque- the rainforest, monkey island-cayo santiago, malecon de naguabo and the ferries in fajardo to vieques and culebra the other spanish virgin islands! snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, hang gliding, hiking, and island sightseeing - all available- close to everything or nothing- it depends on you....why get stuck in a tiny room? live simply just like a local and get the real homestyle experience in puerto rico. we can provide airport and ferry transfers and tours at a price you'll like. and chef tony is available to teach and/or cook our local cuisine so you can take a real VACATION!.. fully bilingual...weekly rates

Interaction with guests

its hard for us to hear when guests are at our door or gate so i ask if you need anything text or call us at


House Rules
Check in is anytime after 3PM

48 hours advance notice before booking date required.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

40 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Irene User Profile
May 2017
The view of the abundant fruit trees, the various species of birds and the sounds of the coquis while relaxing on the hammock on the balcony is simply amazing and so peaceful. Bonnie and Tony are very sweet and very helpful with any suggestions of what to do or anything you may need. The food at the local restaurants is delectable.
Bonnie User Profile
Response from Bonnie:
Thank you Irene. you were the perfect guests and your enjoyment reminds us why we do this. Now if i could figure out how to bring more guests just like you to us!
May 2017

Joe User Profile
February 2017
Not the "treehouse" as advertised - just a house with trees. Located on a main road with lots of noisy night traffic. Was able to drown out some of the music and trucks by running the AC all night. Tony was very friendly and helpful. Deck was nice for evening drinks after spending the day at the area beaches.
Bonnie User Profile
Response from Bonnie:
our guests have named the upper level of our home the "treehouse". we took that suggestion from our guestbook and our pictures describe the large space we offer in a garden setting. 'the gardenhouse between the beach and the rainforest and close to a nature reserve, water park and a sleepy fishing village that comes alive weekends and holidays". glad to hear you enjoyed the hammock and open terrace, capt frank's boat excursion around monkey island and easy access to our restaurants, beaches, el yunque etc.
February 2017

Stephanie User Profile
December 2015
Bonnie was very communicative leading up to the stay, texting me so I had her info to let her know when I would arrive and in case we had trouble. Tony showed us around the apartment and was also very nice and friendly. They seem like really sweet people. Unfortunately, the apartment wasn't so great. Ants and mosquitoes galore, perhaps due to the fact that many of the windows didn't have sealed screens on them. The entire apartment was badly in need of a deep clean, especially the bathroom (the toilet had that ring around it that happens after a couple of weeks of not scrubbing it). The curtains all had mold on them. The bed absolutely wrecked our backs. The pillows smelled like dog. For the $95 a night I paid, I felt like this was a really terrible value. The pictured hammock was really nice though!
Bonnie User Profile
Response from Bonnie:
i blame myself for letting stephanie stay despite having guests immediately before and after her. i broke my own rule because she knew this but she wanted to stay here so badly. it is a treehouse with fully screened windows but the stray no see um will get in. our rate is $85. total a night and includes all the amenities of home, which we are constantly renewing, with a huge space and great location. our well traveled guests keep returning because we provide the best value for a real puerto rico experience.
December 2015

Matthew User Profile
August 2015
Absolutely beautiful here up in the trees, loved the place and could not have asked for a better host! Tony picked us up from the airport, cooked a delicious dinner for us, showed us the rainforest, and got us safe to our next destination! So many great stories, thanks for the memories :)
Bonnie User Profile
Response from Bonnie:
matt and miller were the best guests. tony had a great time cooking for them and showing them the sights. and matt and miller were kind and courteous and most of all loved our island!
August 2015

Carole-Anne User Profile
August 2015
Our stay at Bonnie and Tony's place was not as excepted, although they are lovely people and the place is spacious. First, it was mentionned in the description that washer and dryer would be included, which is why we chose this place at first because we had been in Puerto Rico for a few weeks and were going camping in Culebra Island for the next days. Tony mentionned us on our arrival that it would be 10$US extra because of the water problems Puerto Rico is having. If it's extra, then it is not included in the amenities and it should not be considered as included. I suggest you change the amenities included in your ''treehouse" and mention clearly in the description that people can wash their clothes for 10$US extra. Also, as we were tired that night, we bought ourselves a pizza and fries to cook them in the oven. To find out that the oven is NOT functional. Tony suggested us to put it in the microwave... But we should have been able to read in the description that the oven was not functional. A micro wave does not replace an oven for cooking a pizza and fries. In conclusion, again, although Bonnie and Tony are nice people, the place really disappointed us for the price we paid. And think about the fact that the Canadian dollar right now is at 1.30... We were therefore more than disappointed with the place!
Bonnie User Profile
Response from Bonnie:
Thank you for your input carole anne. it is difficult to continue offering our low rate in light of the economy here. but the good news is that we are adding a blender and toaster oven. i think tony was being protective of the laundry but it will continue as one of our amenities. we continue to provide comfort in a crazy world @the gardenhouse!
August 2015

Graham User Profile
May 2015
A great time! We had a wonderful time, bonnie/tony were very helpful with directions and information once we reached our destination. It is off a moderately main road, but surprisingly secluded. A shirt walk to the beach, a quick drive to anywhere elese. Wonderful tropical trees all around, the porch is great for eating/hanging out on. The hammock is really what sold us-what better way to relax and enjoy life than sitting up in a hammock looking at el yunque?
Bonnie User Profile
Response from Bonnie:
graham was just the easiest guest ever to host! hope he does get to return. he knows what he wants and what he likes. super fun. thanks graham!
May 2015

Monica User Profile
March 2015
We got lost on the way to the Gardenhouse because our GPS gave us the wrong address and we ended up further than we needed to be. We called Bonnie and she and Tony stayed on the phone with us until we made it back and were in the right place. Both were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived. Tony took us all around the grounds and then showed us around upstairs. It's a big space, & it felt really cozy and like a home away from home. Our favorite part was being outside eating breakfast on the patio with the birds singing in the morning (thanks to all the surrounding trees from the garden), and being on the hammock at night hearing the coqui's. We only stayed there two nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. Our stay was very nice and we enjoyed that place a lot. Will definitely ask to stay there again, if and when we return to PR.

playa punta santiago nr humacao on the mid east coast of puerto rico · Joined in February 2010
Bonnie User Profile

Tony and I are a semi-retired couple who've found our paradise and want to share it with others who appreciate enjoying the true aspects of the places they visit. Well traveled ourselves, we want to provide the experience we've enjoyed as we've traveled. And so we offer both short and long term vacation apartment rental and we provide everything from pick your own tropical fruits to full service care and amenities, transportation, tours, local cuisine and a host of recreational activities available in our area..

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.