Shared room

3 Guests

3 Beds


Shared room

3 Guests

3 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 0
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Other pet(s)
Room type: Shared room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $25
Security Deposit: $95
Weekly Discount: 20%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Description

The space

Hello! Thanks for looking at our listing!

Please read my description in its entirety to see if we have a potential fit.

We look forward to hosting guests of different backgrounds and welcome you to our sunny tranquil family home in San Mateo with a view of San Francisco Bay. Our home is spacious and cozy, and is very kid friendly. Our home is ideal for vacationers or those on business, and we will always make you feel at home.

We are in an ideal location, close to hwy 101 and 280, and public transportation.We are 20 miles south of San Francisco, 30 miles north of San Jose, 36 miles west of the Tri Valley and 13 miles from half Moon Bay and beaches. We are 10-15 minutes from SFO.
If you must use public transportation, Sam Trans #53 passes close to here. The Caltrain station is 1.5 miles away. You can park there or walk there. Keep in mind if you walk, it is a rigorous walk back up the hill. The train is a 20 minute ride to SF. I can send you a referral code for a free ride from Uber or Lyft if you have never used their service before.

A little more about the location: You are within walking distance to the Laurelwood shopping center which includes Piazza's grocery store, and several eateries. The College of San Mateo, and Laurelwood Park, which has hiking trails, are nearby. There is also a farmers market at CSM on Saturdays featuring lots of organic produce.


Our perfect guest is someone who loves life and sharing good conversation. We enjoy learning about different backgrounds and interests! While we would love to share our space with you, and will likely invite you to join us when we are around, we also appreciate very self sufficient guests! We are a very busy family and need our guests to make themselves at home and take care of themselves. This means tidying after yourself like loading and unloading the dishwasher and being respectful of our home.
We do not allow smokers or any smoking on the property, inside or outside. Also, we have no TV, so bring your laptop! We have plenty of toys to share with your children- we just ask that you clean up after they enjoy them.

A little about us: We are an active household, homeschooling our young children. We speak English and Italian in our home and we have a passion for cooking. We love to experiment with gluten free international vegetarian cuisine. We love art, books, gardening, inventions and creativity in general. The animals in residence are fish and three lovely chickens who lay eggs.

About the accommodations:
(This is one of four ways to sojourn here; please refer to my other listings for the other three ways.) Please note that we may have guests in the other 3 listings during your stay.

Very comfy couch in our beautiful living room. Room on floor on camping beds/airbed if need be. Enjoy floor to ceiling picture windows! Your bathroom is in the garage (which has been converted to a schoolroom) nearby, through the kitchen.
You also have use of our garden and patio, kitchen and laundry(laundry is available only to guests booked for a week or longer; please see Guest Access). Organic coffee and a variety of tea available.

We enjoy sharing our knowledge of the Bay Area, so please feel free to ask for advice.

When you make a booking request, please make sure to include:

a) your full name(s): include everyone in the party.
b) something about you and the other people in your party, so that I can verify you online and I can know with whom we will be sharing our home!
c) what you expect to be doing during your visit (for instance, please let me know if you will be working from my home during the day so that I will know if I can accommodate you).
d) confirmation that you have read through the description

We look forward to meeting and hosting you!

-Angela

Guest access

Free WiFi.

Kitchen: Guests will have access to the kitchen for light cooking. There is shelf space for dry goods and a mini fridge dedicated to guests, which you would share with other guests (there is a limit to the quantity of food to store in the refrigerator and shelves, so please be mindful of this).

Also, while we are vegetarians ourselves, we are open and happy to accommodate our meat-eating guests for occasional meat-cooking. However, frequent meat cookers would find a better fit elsewhere.

Guests who are staying for 1 week minimum have access to laundry at no extra charge. I do require that you ask me for instructions prior to use, and laundry is limited to 2 loads/week per party.

Interaction with guests

We love hosting our guests and getting to know them. We also respect those guests who don't have the time to chat or hang out!

The neighborhood

The view from our home of the bay, San Mateo bridge, and Mt. Diablo is fabulous! We live in an ideal location: 20-30 minutes from San Francisco, the East Bay, the South Bay (Silicon Valley), and the beach tom the west! We are also a stroll away from a quarter mile hike to the highest peak on the peninsula with 180 degree view of the Bay Area. We live down the street from the College of San Mateo, which has a state-of-the-art gym. A gourmet grocery store, drugstore, and many eateries are a 5-10 minute walk away.

Getting around

The Caltrain station is 1 1/2 miles from us. It is an easy walk down and a rigorous walk UP the hill (that's why we have a great view!). We have parking on our street and driveway. Please be mindful of where you park and do not block my neighbors' driveways. A cab, Uber, or Lyft is the best way to get here from the airport, which is 10 miles away. If it is your first time using Uber or Lyft, I can send you a referral code for a free first ride.

Other things to note

We kindly ask our guests to participate with us in our eco-conscious efforts by recycling, composting, and being mindful of the environment.
Please turn off lights not in use, and during daylight. Please turn off air conditioner, fan, or heaters when not in use, and at night while sleeping.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM

This is a very quiet residential neighborhood. My neighbors are super awesome and we love and respect them! Please be courteous to and considerate of them. No blocking driveways, and no loud noise or disruptions after 10pm. If you are enjoying the stars in any of the outdoor spaces, please keep the talking level low after 10pm.
Non-smokers only. No smoking on property. This is a family kid-friendly home, so plan accordingly. Additional guests not part of original booking are not allowed. Respectful and considerate travelers who clean up after themselves are welcome!
Children of any age do count as additional guests. For security purposes, I will photocopy all guests' IDs upon arrival.
Please, no shoes worn in the home and no food & drinks outside of the kitchen or dining room.
Extra fees will incur for: Leaving a large amount of belongings to be disposed, or cooking which results in strong-smelling odors (which require extra cleaning).
Thank you for sharing our home!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
First aid kit

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

63 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Ferhat User Profile
February 2016
We enjoyed our staying in her house , location was great & safe .. i do recommend to everyone to stay in her house , thank you again Angela

Oleksandra User Profile
December 2015
The place looks exactly like on the pictures! Even the toy frog is on its place =) Angela is wonderful. She has an inspiring personality and can easily maintain any conversation. Every her action helped us feel like we were at home. Even though this is not a separate room, it is cosy enough to relax. If you are worried about the kids - don't be. They are too busy to bother you. I am really happy that I chose this place!
Angela User ProfileAngela is a superhost.
Response from Angela:
We miss having you both here! You are welcome back anytime- and hope that will be soon! :)
December 2015

Kira User Profile
September 2015
Angela has a cozy place. Great design and taste. She's super nice and very helpful. Her kids are cute and polite. Will definitely choose her place again.

Travis User Profile
September 2015
This was one of the best Airbnb experiences I've had. Thank you, Angela, for the great conversation, and for hosting me in your home!
Angela User ProfileAngela is a superhost.
Response from Angela:
You are welcome back anytime!:)
September 2015

婷萱 User Profile
August 2015
Angela is a great host, she is beautiful lady with a beautiful heart. It's my pleasure I had this experience to live in her house. Also her kids are very nice and lovely, sometime we read the books, talked with each other and played some games. I really hope more and more people will live in this wonderful place!

Shidi User Profile
August 2015
The house is pretty good. It is beautiful and clean! There are many toys :) There is a shopping center near the house. It is very convenient to eat or buy some stuff. The block is so quiet. Next time my family and I go to SF, we will live there! See you next time:)
Angela User ProfileAngela is a superhost.
Response from Angela:
Your family is welcome back anytime!
August 2015

Matthew User Profile
Matthew
August 2015
Very helpful.

This host has 246 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

San Mateo, California, United States · Joined in August 2011
Angela User ProfileAngela is a superhost.

We are a homeschooling family and are bilingual in English and Italian. We are passionate about too many things to list! On the top of our list are cooking, gardening, art, animals, travel, world music, cultural diversity, etc, etc, etc!!! We also love expanding our understanding of the world by meeting people of diverse backgrounds.
We have a deep love for the region we live in and feel confident in recommending places to go in the Bay area. We look forward to be a part of your wonderful stay in our part of the world!

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.