Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
$156
Per Night
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Our comfortable, clean guest room has a recently re-modeled, modern bathroom. Our quiet street is 3 blocks from College Ave, full of great restaurants and shops. We have a gourmet kitchen, sunny backyard, wifi, and 8-minute walk to BART.

Dining Room

Dining Room

Verified Photo

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: $25
Security Deposit: $100
Weekly discount: 15%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

Stay in our lovely, sunny cottage-style home. We are a family of three with a guest room (which has a newly-renovated bathroom just off the hall, next to the guest room), a backyard, wifi, huge modern kitchen and easy access to BART and College Avenue. Our place is perfect for a couple or single traveler. We are close to UC Berkeley campus, too. It's in an excellent location, four blocks from public transit and College Avenue, full of restaurants, cafes, and shops. It's in between two trendy Oakland neighborhoods: Rockridge and Temescal.

THE HOUSE:

A sunny 3-bedroom in the heart of Rockridge, in north Oakland, just on the border of Berkeley. Awash in natural light, this classic Craftsman-style house features a backyard deck with BBQ and lemon tree, a spacious dining room, a sunny breakfast table in the kitchen, and cozy living room, and plenty of windows. We are centrally located, 4 blocks from BART and the freeway, yet slightly away from the crowds and traffic because our house is on a quiet residential street.

Our guest room has one queen bed and a private, modern bathroom.

Street parking is very easy on our street.

We have a friendly golden retriever who is 5 years old, very sweet, and will want to be your friend. She doesn't go into the guest room.

ABOUT US
We are two busy professionals: one working as a progressive nonprofit consultant and the other working for a sustainable real estate development firm. We have a toddler (her room is upstairs) and are expecting a second baby in Feb 2016. We live an active lifestyle - running, hiking, biking, and cooking a lot. We travel quite a lot - for work and play - and have used Airbnb in other countries and love it. While traveling, we sometimes rent our place on Airbnb! **Important Update! We now have a toddler, so after YEARS of hosting on Airbnb we need to make sure with each guest before booking that you understand that we have a little one upstairs who may cry now and then. She's pretty quiet and a good sleeper at night, but you may hear her fuss between 7-9pm.

BOOKING WITH US:

We ask for a 2-night minimum, but can be flexible on this if you're in a bind! Send us a message if you are interested, and we can sometimes be flexible on the minimum nights!

Please have a profile on AirBnB as it helps us accept your booking request faster. If you do not wish to have a profile in AirBnB, then please share a little bit about yourself in your inquiry email. If you haven't, please take a moment to read our profile.

Also, for those terribly allergic to dogs - please let us know. We have a sweet golden retriever and we are very clean and vacuum up after her, but if you're very allergic, please consider not staying here.

Thanks!

D & G (and little baby E)

Guest Access

We provide standard provisions like clean towels and linens. Full use of the kitchen (oven, microwave, french press, blender, toaster, etc), Wifi, and Washer / Dryer are available to you. We have a nice backyard where you can enjoy your morning coffee, pick some fresh lemons, or just sit and lounge in the sun.

We offer complimentary locally-roasted coffee and teas.

We provide local maps for your use while you stay with us, and our own suggestions and tips for staying in the city.

Interaction with Guests

We are busy, but usually around in the evening cooking dinner or watching a movie or out walking our dog.

The Neighborhood

Rockridge is a friendly neighborhood with plenty of shops, cafes, and restaurants. Experience the true Oakland lifestyle in this diverse neighborhood. We are just a few minutes walk to College Avenue, Temescal alley, and are two miles from the UC Berkeley campus, and award-winning restaurants (Ramen Shop, Pizzaolo, Juhu beach club, Wood Tavern, A16, Dona Tomas, Oliveto, A Cote, to name a few).

Getting Around

The BART (subway) station to get into San Francisco is an 8-minute walk from our house, and about 30-40 minute ride into the city.

From SFO we are about 1.5 hours by BART, from Oakland Airport we are about 1 hour by BART or 15 minutes by taxi ($30-ish).

Parking on our street is free, unlimited hours, and there is no street cleaning.

Other Things to Note

2 night minimum preferred. Will consider 1 night only guests, but please write to us to ask.

+ More

House Rules

No smoking anywhere on our property.

No additional pets - we already have a dog!

You must set the house alarm any time you leave the house.

Please understand that we have a baby - she is 15 months old - and a friendly golden retriever.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay
Spacious kitchen

Spacious kitchen

Verified Photo

34 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 21 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Diana

shared.user_profile_image
Oakland, California, United States
Member since August 2010

Connections

Explore other options in and around Oakland

More places to stay in Oakland: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums