Small private room by downtown-Yellow
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

I own this 2 stories with a garden apartment building. I listed the 3 bedrooms with a shared bathroom on second floor on airbnb. I live on the first floor with my niece and her husband.

The space

This is a small room located in the front of the house on Grand avenue which is a main street so there will be traffic noise. West Town is an up and coming neighborhood with a few restaurants and a neighborhood bars nearby. It takes about 5 min. drive to downtown. There is a bus in front of the house to Navy Pier about 3 miles in 15 minutes and 3 stops on train to loop with 5 blocks walking to train station. Bed with memory foam mattress with a small desk in the room. Use of shared common area - living room with wall mount LCD with Netflix and cable, kitchen/pot/pan/utensils and wireless internet with a shared bathroom. Plenty of parking on Grand avenue with restriction and on Wood street with no restriction. I have a white noise machine you can use. Entry to the house is a keyless lock (I provide a code using last 4 number of your phone in airbnb) so no problem arriving late.

Guest access

All common area in the apartment.

Interaction with guests

I volunteer at a Thai temple so I'll be in and out a lot but I will try to at least meet you when you check in. You can text or simply call me if need to.

Other things to note

I may ask guest help change sheets on the check out day for next guest if I have to take off before you check out.

License or registration number

Learn about this number

Wireless Internet
Cable TV

Cleaning Fee $10
Security Deposit $100
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 10AM

Absolutely no smoking or shoes in the house. This includes take your shoes from your room and put them on downstairs. Only house slippers (no flip flop, socks is perfect) is allowed. Please help keep bathroom sink/tub and kitchen clean after use, save energy by turning off light when not in the room.


2 nights minimum stay

164 Reviews

Check In
Umakant User Profile
July 2017
Tippi is a good host.

Yuanyuan User Profile
June 2017
Convenient location and transportation and very clean.

David User Profile
June 2017
Great value. The home is very welcoming. Room works great for one person. Very close proximity to the loop and River North. 3 rooms in condo are rented through airbnb. Common living room, kitchen and bath are clean and kitchen is stocked with any utensils, pots and pans that you' need. Highly recommend.

Zaray User Profile
May 2017
Very good place for location and budget

Holly User Profile
May 2017
Tippi's place was great! The room was small but the perfect size for my purpose of staying. The key pad to get in made checking-in later at night convenient and easy. I would recommend Tippi's place and would stay there again myself.

Angira87 User Profile
May 2017
good distance to downtown

Ashfana User Profile
April 2017
Tippi's place was a great place to spend a week in Chicago. It was close to the Ashland station and several bus stops, so getting to downtown was easy. Although the area is quiet there are a number of restaurants and pubs, including a brewery. The room featured a bed, a desk and storage to stash luggage. Tippi provides a towel and you can find soap and shampoo in the bathroom. I did not cook much but the kitchenette is well equipped.

This host has 320 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Chicago, Illinois, United StatesJoined in August 2011
Tippi User Profile

I am from Thailand, single and retired from one of the top consulting firm. I am an easy going, friendly person. I like to scuba, golf, cooking, baking, movies or watch TV at home. I love to meet people, make new friend and Airbnb is one of the great way to do that. That is why I rent out the 2nd floor apartment in my building.

Languages: English, ภาษาไทย
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings