Cozy Bedroom in Williamsburg 2 BR

Apartment - Private room · S 3rd St, Brooklyn, NY 11211, United States
Lulu
Your host, Lulu
58 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

PLEASE READ ENTIRE LISTING BEFORE BOOKING...

I have a 3 Bedroom cozy apartment in Williamsburg of which Two (2) bedrooms are available for rental during temporary stays in NYC. Great for travelers!

1st bedroom rents for $80/night (This Profile)
2nd bedroom rents for $75/night (Please see my other listing)
Full apartment also available for rental as well for $125/night + fees. (Please see my other listing).

Bedrooms:
- This Bedroom: Full size bed - Temperpedic mattress (Sleeps 2)

- Other Bedroom: Full size bed - Sealy's Spring mattress (Sleeps 2)

****3rd Bedroom is where Constance sleeps****

- Common area: Bathroom / Full Living room / Full Eat in kitchen.

Please note that both rooms may be booked at the same time and you will be sharing the space with other guests. (Great way to meet new people!!) :)

Amenities:
Washing machine in the apartment (this is a luxury one does not find in many NYC apartments! or hotels!)
Full Kitchen
Coffee and Tea - you can enjoy great meals all over the neighborhood or buy cool stuff at the local supermarkets to prepare at the apartment! :)
Free Wifi Web Access
Iron & Ironing Board
Fresh Towels / Bed Linens
Air Conditioner in Bedroom 1 (This listing)
Floor Fan in Bedroom 2
1 set of keys per 2 people (come and go as you please)

Other things to know:
We live on the 5th floor of a walk-up. (no elevator)
If Constance is not home when you arrive, she will give you instructions to pick up the keys.
Our bathroom is small as shown in the photo, but is always perfectly clean! :)

*Rates include utilities
*Max 2 people PER BEDROOM

Location:
The apartment is located on S.3rd & Bedford Avenue - which is the beginning of the popular Bedford Avenue Strip. It's in the quieter end of it so you will enjoy the benefits of this busy neighborhood (email hidden).

You'll be half a block away from great restaurants, bars, shops, food markets, etc.

Transportation:

The apartment is 5 minutes away from the L train on the Bedford Avenue Stop, one stop to Manhattan and 5 minutes from Union Square. The L train will take you from the East side to the West side connecting you to all of the major subway lines in NYC.

It is also located 5 minutes away in the opposite direction from the J/M/Z lines. These lines will take to the center of the Lower East Side, Chinatown, City Hall, Wall Street, and Fulton Street which is a 7 minute walk from the South Street Seaport. The M train will take you directly into Midtown.

Subway map: (website hidden)
L train is the gray line
J/M/Z trains are the brown line

Looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Cleaning Fee: $30
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We really enjoyed staying in Lulu's flat! It's clean, cozy and colorful place. Only problem that we had was with towels. When we arrived, we didn't know which are ours and there were a few, still wet towels in living room. Otherwise, everything was ok. Location and neighborhood are great, just a few minutes interesting walk from L subway and there is a plenty things to do and experience in Williamsburg. We'll come back for sure...

    June 2014
  • The apartment and the rooms were clean and neat. The other guests (two other couples) were friendly and never disturbed us. If you want to, it is easy to cook lunch/dinner and make breakfast in the kitchen (but there is also a really nice bagel place one block away... :)) All in all, the room we stayed in was big enough for two persons with quite a lot of luggage and I would gladly stay here again! We bought a metro card and it was easy to travel to Manhattan with the L train (and also with some other train from another station which I don't remember the name of)

    June 2014
  • Good communication, vibrant Williamsburg neighbourhood, clean and lovely. We enjoyed our stay, thank you Lulu!

    May 2014
  • Communication with Lulu and Constance was very fast and pleasant. The location is perfect. Just two stops by train from Manhattan. Two subway stations nearby, Marcy & Bedford. Marcy if you prefer the shortest walk home, Bedford if you prefer a walk along hipster boutiques and cozy coffee bars. The apartment has all the basic things you need for your stay. The bright colors and decoration make it cozy.

    May 2014
  • We enjoyed a very clean and spacious room in a very nice neighborhood! Organisation and key pick up went perfectly smooth! will come again!!!

    April 2014
  • It's my first time to visit New York and I have a great time to stay at Lulu's place for 7 days :) The location is very convenient close to subway line J,M,Z and nearby Bedford avenue where we enjoyed eating so much. There are many bakery shops and nice restaurants there. Ronan and Constance, the host are very friendly and helpful. I feel like home when I stay here ^____^

    February 2014
  • I personally would not recommend my stay at this location, largely due to my communications in dealing with the apartment owner. That being said, many others seem to have had positive experiences. Below are my pros and cons:

    Pros:
    * Decent location, not too far from public transport
    * Apartment and room was tidy
    * Live-in apartment managers were friendly and accommodating (helped take out our recycling after we flattened the boxes)

    Cons:
    * Very negative experience dealing with owner - particularly in regards to pre and post stay communications
    * Very noisy apartment/thin walls - offered little privacy
    * Very sub-par bathroom facilities (rusty tub, no sink to brush teeth, etc in bathroom - had to do all washing up in kitchen sink)
    * Have a washing machine, but no dryer - kind of defeats the purpose
    * Very dirty common areas of the building and other people's comments regarding cockroaches and giant bottle of Raid in the apartment was unsettling

    Lastly, if you are intending on booking the entire place, be very clear in your request.

    February 2014
    Lulu
    Response from Lulu:

    I have never left a response to a guest (whether positive or negative) because I understand that every experience is different. However, Mike was a very tough guest to communicate with because he couldn't accept his mistake in his booking (he wanted to book the entire apartment, but only booked one room). He then demanded that I cancel my other guest the night before his arrival, as well as cursed at me and threatened to leave a bad review BEFORE he even arrived solely because he was angry about his mistake and blamed me for it. I told him I would cancel his reservation instead because he was being unnecessarily aggressive, but he apologized and I thought it was over. During his stay, he accused me of charging him more money, which I did not, then made racist remarks to me regarding the way I was trying to resolve the issue with him. I did ask Airbnb to get involved directly and they did in fact sort things out.
    I've never met any guest who has complained about me having a washing machine in a NYC apartment, which hardly exists anymore so I now see that he also was looking for everything "wrong" with my place although the majority of guests have been happy with their stay. It's a 100+ year old building so it still has it's old school charm. Mike, you may not know this, but old buildings in NYC still have bathtubs in the kitchen!

    If you wanted perfection in order to propose to your girlfriend, Mike, I would suggest that you should have done it at a fancy hotel in NYC and not in an apartment in Brooklyn. I've had guests who were going to get married and guests who were going to propose, I've had guests who booked my place for their families for their weddings, etc, and not one has ever left such a spiteful review.

    I apologize that it was the stay that you expected, but I certainly wasn't expecting such a rude and immature person to stay in my home.

    Again, I never respond to guest reviews, even if they're negative, because everyone is 100% entitled to their own opinion and experience in my home. However, I had to make clear that this guest was aggressive, threatening, and racist and this is why our communication was negative the entire time I tried to resolve any issue with him. I regret not canceling his reservation when I thought about it. And I've never felt that way about any guest in my 4 years of hosting...

    February 2014
  • Very cozy, super warm, nice neighborhood, close to subway!

    January 2014
  • Our stay at Lulus was very pleasant . The apartment was warm & cosy which was just what we were looking for during a very cold time in New York .
    The people were friendly & we would gladly recommend the apartment for other travellers.

    Thanks from Rod & Ben

    January 2014
  • Nuestra estancia fue por 11 noches y pasamos unos días increibles, Constance y su esposo nos trataron como en casa.
    El departamento es comodo, caliente durante el invierno y tiene todas las comodidades que requeriamos.
    Recomiendo ampliamente su estancia, por supuesto (website hidden) gracias por todo Lulú & Constance!!!!

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$80
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 125 times
Languages
English, Español
Work
Professional Organizer
About
I'm in my early 30's, Professional Organizer who has worked all over the city. I enjoy travel, but also love NYC. I was born and raised in Williamsburg, Brooklyn and would like to share my space with guests who want to experience this beautiful city with a local feel. I now reside in Nairobi, Kenya where I am experiencing a whole new wonderful culture!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings