Spacious room with lots of light and double bedView from your bedroom window
Triple/Twin room + separate shower
Triple/Twin room + separate shower

3 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 shared bath

3 guests

1 room

2 beds

1 shared bath

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The room is spacious with a double and single bed. This room has a separate bathroom shared with a single bedroom when in use. Amenities include shampoos, soap, hairdryer and towels. Basic breakfast is included in the price. Free WIFI also available.


Extra people: $8 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $11
Weekly Discount: 20%


The space

This comfortable bedroom is on the 2nd floor in a home that is located close to the town centre and Killarney National Park.

A spacious room with a double bed and a single bed and separate bathroom. Although the bathroom is not beside the room (down the hallway), the bathroom is shared with a single bedroom when in use.

There is WIFI available throughout the house and the facilities in the house include access to kitchen/dining room and lounge area. Washing machine and dryer is also available for guests use.

Should you wish to catch up after a day of touring / sightseeing - I'd be delighted to know all about it. Alternatively if you want to just relax and do your own thing - that's fine too!

Breakfast is included in the price ie: cereal, toast, good coffee and tea and fresh fruit. I also cater for coeliacs etc.

Guest access

Guests have access to the house except mine and my daughter's bedrooms. The kitchen and dining area are all in one. The lounge area is generally used by the family but we would love for you to join us if you so wish.

Interaction with guests

I am a full time working mom. I leave to go to work in the mornings and am back in the evenings. I always try and make time in the mornings for a quick chat before leaving for work and in the evenings enjoy catching up with guests after their day out. My interaction is informal and I'm always available to give tips and advice on where to go and what to see. I do my best to meet everyone on arrival but I'm not always available to meet you but various arrangements are in place.
Please note that during the summer months we rent out 3 rooms so the house can get quite busy at times. I will ask that you please respect everyone's privacy and keep showers short. If there is anything I can do to make your stay with us more comfortable please do not hesitate to let me know.

The neighborhood

The house is situated in a quiet neighborhood estate close to Killarney town. It has great access to the town and for exploring the Ring of Kerry. You can pretty much walk everywhere from our house. Most places in Killarney are within 15-20 minutes walking distance from our house including Killarney National Park and Ross Castle.

Getting around

Walking distance to Killarney town (15 minutes)
Walking distance to Killarney National Park (10 minutes)
Taxi from Train Station / Town Centre to the house is approx. €6
From Kerry Airport, there is a shuttle bus to the bus station in Killarney and from there its easy to walk to my house.

Other things to note

Please note our house is a family home and you are a guest of ours. We have 1 large dog who loves people and is very friendly! Our dog is very much a part of the family and tends to be indoors when we are at home. Even though we love our animals, we do ensure that our pets respect our guests.
Please note that if you do not like animals this house is not suitable for you.
Breakfast: Breakfast is included in the price ie: Toast, cereal, tea / coffee and fruit from the fruit bowl. If I'm not travelling, I usually set the table for guests however I do expect guests to tidy up after themselves and wash their own dishes.

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 6PM - 11PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We are no different than any other family with general rules but the important ones are below:
1. Please respect our home and our rules
2. Please leave your room tidy before leaving
3. Please ensure that showers are not long as hot water is limited
4. Please do not smoke in our house (or out the window)

For longer stays (in excess of 4 days)
If you are cooking in the house - please respect that we are a working family and would need kitchen facilities when I get home from work. You are more than welcome to use the facilities too but understand that we will be in the kitchen too.
Should you want to use the washing machine or dryer please use these during the week (if possible) during daytime while I'm at work.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) lives in the house



Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

1 night minimum stay

45 Reviews

Check In
Marta User Profile
August 2016
We felt like at home with Yolande and Jessica. We would love to come back there next time.

Erin User Profile
August 2016
This was the 3rd place we stayed on our vacation to Ireland and I would rate it 3rd on the list. I have rated it two stars mostly for cleanliness and dealing mostly with the hosts child. Some of the reasons I rated it a two are: the cat was lying on the kitchen table when we came down for breakfast and there was fruit rotting with loads of fruit flies in the kitchen, the dish towels needed to be washed, and the abundance of pet hair, the shower didn't drain probably because of the drain being full of hair so I had to stop the shower so that the water didn't flow over the edge, there was no top sheet on the bed and given the lack of cleanliness in the kitchen I would wonder how often the comforter on the bed was washed. The wifi signal was not great. It felt like a hostel not a B&B. The lock on the door was quite difficult and had the daughter not been home we would of been waiting outside, there were other guests in the house but our room door could not lock, the bed was extremely squeaky, there were 2 sets of steep creaky stairs so if you had mobility issues I would not recommend. We were spoken to quite firmly by the child about making sure we locked the door so that the dog would not escape yet provided no direction on how to lock the door as it was different than what we are used to. Some positives are, I did appreciate that the host had purchased gluten free bread and cereal for us. The location was good but if you don't have a vehicle it is a bit tiring walking back and forth to town. Since we only saw the host for a brief second I would suggest a welcome package be given to guests with taxi numbers, where to put food scraps (a can was outside but unless you were outside looking for it you wouldn't see it), notes about locking the door and that the dog is friendly.
Yolande User Profile
Response from Yolande:
The fruit flies was not due to rotting fruit as the fruit was fresh however the humidity of the air which is why the food bin was brought outside to try and avoid as many of these flies as possible - unfortunately I couldn't get rid of them even after burning citronella incense. New dish towels are used when necessary and as I'm sure you saw the labels on kitchen cupboards and drawers, there was also one for dish towels. My other guests were quite comfortable taking a clean dish towel out of the labelled drawer. If the shower was overflowing you should have brought this to my attention. Rooms and bathrooms are cleaned after the departure of every guest. Also ALL sheets, towels, duvet covers and pillow cases are washed after the departure of EVERY guest. If you required a top sheet then you should have asked as I have plenty of these however they are not generally put on a bed - even in a four star hotel. But if you asked me (or my daughter) then I would have said to you that if you opened your cupboards in your room they would have been on the shelf for you. Just like there were spare (clean) towels and extra pillows. Yes the wifi signal is not great on the second floor and I'm hoping to rectify this shortly. 'The daughter' who is my 12 year old is extremely polite and helpful to my guests and helps me where ever she can including assisting guests with the front door. I'm sure if you asked her how the door worked she would be extremely obliging to show you. As for the gluten free bread - yes. It was gluten free cereal, bread and crackers just in case you needed to take some with you during your day trips. Unfortunately when I was home in the evening you didn't make yourself known and I didn't want to interrupt you as I thought you might be tired from your long day travelling. Your idea of a welcome pack is a good idea but all details are also found in airbnb on my suggestions page.
August 2016

Hannes User Profile
August 2016
room as described on pictures, nice and familiar athmosphere, cute cat and dog, nice breakfast option, everything clean and cosy, walk in city centre possible, free car parking, thank you very much for sharing your home !!!

María User Profile
July 2016
Yolande's house is the perfect place to spend one or two nights for travel around Ring of Kerry or Killarney National Park. Everything was clean and tidy and we had all the facilities and a cozy atmosphere there. It's true that the house is a bit far from the downtown but with a car you can be there in only 5 minutes, so I'd definitely recommend this house to everyone!

Alexandru User Profile
July 2016
Staying at Yolande's home was a really nice experience which I will definitely do it again when the next Ring of Kerry cycle will happen. The place is really warm and I felt good there. The nice thing about the dog is that he was really friendly so I enjoyed that. The place is just 10 mins from city center so that was awesome for me as the event started from there. I definitely recommend Yolande's place, it's a nice one and really welcome. Hope to see you soon, Yolande and Jessica! Thanks for everything, Alex.

Vicky User Profile
April 2016
Yolande and her daughter were very welcoming and friendly. The room was nice and comfortable, the bathroom was very clean, and we were provided with a lovely breakfast in the morning. Yolande gave us with very helpful information and recommendations about what to do and where to go in Killarney, and thanks to her we ended up having a great day exploring the gap of Dunloe. The house is in a perfect location to be able to walk to both the national park and town. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Catherine User Profile
March 2016
Nice place to stay in Killarnay! Very cozy and confortable place! Yolande let us use the kitchen and make us feel like home. We has nice conversation and we really like our experience. Thank Yolande!

This host has 133 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Killarney, Ireland · Joined in April 2013
Yolande User Profile

Hi my name is Yolande and my daughter is Jessica. I have travelled and worked extensively through Africa and finally settled in the beautiful green Emerald Isle. We are a mother and daughter who live busy lives but enjoy meeting people. We love animals, and have a dog and cat who are a part of our family.
Being a single parent it can sometimes be financially demanding and my daughter and I decided to open our home to guests and show them the beautiful area of Killarney. We would love to welcome you to our home!

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.