A friendly place-8 euros/sharedroom

Apartment - Shared room · Aristotelous, Athens, Attica 10432, Greece
Your host, Gabrielle
13 Reviews
Response rate: 93%
Response time: within a day

The Space

SPECIAL WINTER OFFER: 1st Nov 2014 - 30st April 2015 !!!




Our guest house is located in the center on Athens where you are conected with everything. We can accomodate up to 20 people in rooms with 3-4 beds.
In 10-15 min walking you can reach Monastiraki Square, Plaka, Syntagma Square with the greek Parlament also a lot of mini-markets, supermarkets, open market with fresh meat and fruits, farmacies, banks, restaurants, fast-food, tavernas, Hondos Center, Zara, gift shops etc. The metro and busses stations is 5 min walking, you can reach easily: the airport, the port, the sea-side of Athens. The area is secured because 50 m upper from us is the Central Police Station of Athens. Also the building is closed, there is a buzzer and security cameras. Every guest of ours has keys but we also have 24 hours reception to welcome you. The common area has a huge plasma TV, telephone, a computer with internet access, also there is free wi-fi provided with acces from rooms. We also put on your disposal a full eqipated kitchen.
Is a place where you can meet people from all over the world and make new friends.

Room type: Shared room
Accommodates: 16+
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 5
Beds: 16
Extra people: $13 / night after the first guest
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The people who left good reviews must have stayed in a different Athens House Hostel than we did, since we had a completely and utterly disappointing experience.

    It was in a very sketchy party of Athens (in which we were scared to walk around at night) and was not a pleasant experience at all. There is smoking allowed inside, so if you have allergies beware.

    We were put into a room where the faucet was broken and went off randomly (including in the middle of the night) which was annoying and not what I expected. The toilet seat was also falling off in the bathroom near our room, and rarely flushed, meaning it was constantly smelly and often had leftovers from the person before you there.

    One day, while we were out, the employees of the hotel MOVED OUR BELONGINGS to a new room WITHOUT PERMISSION and WITHOUT NOTIFYING US BEFOREHAND. It was completely inappropriate and a total invasion of privacy to come home to "Oh girls, we moved your stuff because we had a new party come in". Clearly the manager doesn't have a good booking system.

    They didn't bother to move things respectfully, I had a suitcase laying down closed (but unzipped) on the floor and found it open and standing up with my things falling out in our 'new' room. My friends had their clothes laying on the bed and found them piled on the floor. This was absolutely unacceptable and we were SUPER uncomfortable with them touching our private property.

    In our new room, there were bugs in the room. I woke up with new bed bugs each day, and when I emailed the host about it, she suggested that it may have been the blanket and that I should have asked for a new one.

    The manager is barely fit to run a hostel, and every time we walked by reception he was trying to deal with unhappy customers. He also leaves the hot water off until you demand he turn it on so you can shower, meaning you have to deal with cold water or wander around in a towel until he is around to turn it on for (website hidden);DR, don't stay here. I'm low maintenance and will sleep just about anywhere (including couches and airports) and I found this place disgusting and the management terrible. Never again.

    April 2014
    Response from Gabrielle:

    For the first days, we gave you a big room because we had it available and we wanted you and your friends to feel comfortable. After that we had a booking, and we need it the room because is the ONLY room with 5 beds we have. And a family with 3 kids were waiting for you to come to change the rooms. We coudln`t reach you, so the cleaning lady moved your things. It was not something meant to make you uncomfortable and we did apologised for it many times.
    The area, is the CENTER of Athens, the central police station is 2 blocks away. maybe it looks a big dramatic for somebody that is not used with life in big cities, but let`s be honest: did you had any kind of problems? Really now!
    The "bugs" you say, there were flyes coming from the balcony, we could help if you were telling us about it, nothing to do with the blankets.
    The hot water, we explained that we work on solar system and if there is no sun out all you have to do is tell to reception to open the electric system. That easy!
    Also I have to remind you the price you payed, for the price of a coffee you got a room, clean shits, wi-fi and if you were not so determined to point all the "bad" , you could discover that actually we are nice people willing to help our guests to have a nice staying.

    April 2014
  • muy buena experiencia! el hostel esta muy cerca de todo, se llega caminando a todas las ruinas y a la acropolis, y hay supermercados muy cerca..La habitacion es muy cómoda, con lavamanos incluido! se puede entrar y salir en cualquier momento sin problemas. La zona donde esta ubicado no es linda, no es turística, pero el centro de atenas es así, luego estan los barrios turísticos muy cerca que sí son preciosos. Las personas que nos recibieron fueron muy amables, tenes la cocina con heladera y microondas a disposicion. Por el precio esta muy bien...

    October 2012
  • It was my first experience in Athens. The city is very nice and beautiful with its all nature and ancient things. At then, when I arrived at Gabriella's hostel, she expressed a good friendship and kindness. She explained me details about the city and the facilities of the hostel. The hostel is clean and very strategic location. I recommend it for you to stay there when you visit the Athen city. Thanky Gabriell and airbnb :-)

    September 2012
  • Hi, stayed there again and had 2 cool room mates, an Australian and an Austrian. It's always buzzing with activity and interesting people. This time someone was cooking in the shared kitchen and the whole place smelled sooooo good! It made the three of us so hungry we went out and had a meal together and really made some good connections. I know some people have mentioned the not so nice neighborhood, but if it was in a ritzy area it wouldn't be so affordable!!! Also got to meet Michael, the owner who was working the desk and his friend from Guam who was a laugh riot, with his stories! Another good experience for me there and I will probably be back next month when I return to Athens.

    August 2012
  • To put it short, this guest house is similar to a youth hostel. Looking for a cheap base in Athens with all basics accessible ? This is a fair pick. Special thanks to Gabrielle for being kind and helpful.

    August 2012
  • Very bad and unsafe neighbourhood, lot of prostitutes at the door and we saw two thefts during one afternoon.
    Really bad hostel, so dirty and like 8 people sleeping in the floor of the "reception".
    Never see Gabrielle, There was two men that didn´t know anything about our reservation and our payed night.
    Terrible experience on Athens.

    August 2012
  • Don’t Judge this hotel by past reviews…….

    We found this hotel that fit our budget but after booking were scared after reading many reviews that made it out to be the worst place in the world (the one we are currently travelling). After contacting the hotel owner (Mike) I was reassured that my family would be safe, clean and cool (our criteria).

    I told my family we should try it one night and then if necessary we will move for the other 4 nights. To our surprise the rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were spotless. The rooms were safe and the building is controlled by CCTV. We were not the only ones that found Athens House Hostel acceptable – 3 nights in a row I found 4-6 people sleeping in the lobby when I got up at 5am to write. Rooms were full, people friendly and helpful.

    We also liked the fact that we could walk to all the sites, stores and restaurants.

    This is the best priced, safest, cleanest centrally located hotel/hostel you can find in Athens!!

    We were glad to have included this for 5 days of our Around the World in 80 Days trip! (website hidden)

    August 2012
  • Gabrielle gave very good directions, so I had no trouble finding the place. Very close to the Acropolis on the metro. Unfortunately, they charged to use the AC, and the room was very hot, but they provided fans for every bed. All in all, pretty much what I would expect for the price.

    July 2012
  • The room was clean, simple and very affordable. It had a nice balcony. I was in a room with 4 beds and later in the evening I got a couple of roommates. Two very nice Canadian boys and I enjoyed getting to know them a bit and finding out what they had been up to in Greece. Air-conditioning was available for an extra 4 euros a night, but we decided to get used to the hot weather and fore go it. They also had a shared kitchen for cooking meals and plenty of showers with hot water 24/7. I'm going to send a friend there next week.

    July 2012
  • I needed a place for 2 nights in central Athens and took from Gabriela a full room for myself.
    The location of this hostel is very convenient, 5 minutes walk from Omonia square. The rooms are reasonably clean and comfort with respect to the price. Kitchen facilities are available for the guests convenience.
    Gabriela is a very welcoming host and tries to help with all necessities.

    May 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 42 times
English, Español, Français, Ελληνικά
NT University
Athens House Hostel
I have this wonderful job that allouds me to make friends all over the world.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
4 weeks ago
Similar Listings