Private room close to the shore/NYC

House - Private room · N Stevens Pl, Hazlet, NJ 07730, United States

Private bedroom in a two story home with an in ground pool and colorful backyard.

The Space

The room has a full sized bed, desk, and desktop computer. There are two large windows overlooking the front yard and one window overlooking the side yard. There is not a private bathroom in the room but the main upstairs bathroom is rarely in use when needed and there is a half bathroom downstairs as well.

The bedroom does not have a TV but HBOGo, Netflix, and HuluPlus are easily accessible with our guest login information and can be used on your laptop/tablet or the room's desktop.

Guest Access

Guest are welcome to use our common areas as they would in their own home: kitchen, living room, bathrooms, large backyard, & front porch.

Our kitchen is well stocked with cookware and appliances and great for cooking meals. If you don't cook there are a number of great delivery and take out options in our area.

Our living room has a nice high def TV w. cable, HBO, Netflix, HuluPlus, and a dvd/bluray player. If you enjoy videogames we also have PS3.

Our backyard is large with many places to relax & our pool is open in the summer months.

Interaction with Guests

I am retired so I am home pretty often and can usually be found in the garden or kitchen. I often make pancakes and coffee in the morning for those of you who rise early & enjoy breakfast. Although I am typically home there is a lot of space in the house whether it be indoor or outside so if you like to keep to yourself you will still be afforded privacy.

My daughter lives with me as well and typically shows guests around town and sometimes the shore & NYC if they are interested. She has created a local guide folder which you can find in your room.

I have two dogs which love to play fetch outside but will also let you keep to yourself if you aren't a dog person.

The Neighborhood

My neighborhood is a residential suburb and our block is very private and quiet. Lots of bunnies running around although in the past 10-15 years we've lost a lot of our trees and nature to new houses and businesses being built. Behind my home is wooded area which is nice to see from the house and also while hanging out in the backyard. In the summer it looks beautiful and lush against an already lush garden.

There are local parks 10/15 minutes away by car which have nice hiking trails and picnic opportunities.

A large movie theater is 10 minutes away and has all of the new releases and sometimes independent films. On Tuesdays tickets are $5.

There are several bowling alleys and bars scattered around the area as well, both in our town and surrounding towns.

Most of the shops and restaurants are corporate establishments but many small businesses are scattered around our town and the surrounding towns.

We are a landlocked town but many beaches are within a 20/30 minute drive. Seaside is 1 hour away, Wildwood is 2 hours away. Most beaches are accessible by train.

Red Bank is about 20 minutes away, it is a small city within our county. Famous for Bruce Springsteen and Bon Jovi sightings as well as Kevin Smith's comic book shop. Lots of good restaurants there too. Accessible by train.

NYC is one hour away by train, about 40 minutes by car.

Getting around

Public transportation is convenient to NYC, the shore, and the airport but otherwise it is best to have a car. The local train station is a 15/20 minute walk away.

If you are flying into EWR airport it is very easy to arrive to my home by taking the train. It costs about $15, takes about 30 minutes, and I can pick you up at our stop.

If you are driving in or will be renting a car there is plenty of street parking on my block and directly in front of my home. It is very private and safe.

Other Things to Note

In case you missed it noted above, I do have two dogs. They are very friendly and well behaved. They will approach you when you first arrive but if you don't want to interact they are very astute and will not approach you again.

I have a washer/dryer but because of a previous incident I don't allow my guests to use the washer/dryer on their own. In the past I have done guest laundry for free but moving forward I am charging $20 a month which will be collected the first week of the month with the first batch of laundry. If this isn't convenient there are local laundromats in the area.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Extra people: $5 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $345 /week
Monthly Price: $800 /month
Security Deposit: $200
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Alta is such a welcoming host!! The accommodations were just as listed. I came & went a lot during my visit, but truly enjoyed the times we chatted together. I even enjoyed a refreshing night time dip in the pool! I will definitely visit agsin!

    July 2013
  • A warm welcome from the beginning, our stay was great. Alta is very sweet. Our room was ready with all of the essentials and even some fresh flowers & locally sourced cupcakes! Alta made some mean pancakes and we enjoyed spending a bit of time with her and other guests in the morning. We broke in her new juicer and made some great juice too! Great place to stay!

    June 2013
  • We had a quick overnight stay at Alta's place (our first using AirBNB) and it was nothing but a positive experience. The house was very clean and everyone was friendly and welcoming. We had to arrive a little bit late and we still hadn't eaten so Alta helped us get settled and find a place.

    October 2011
  • Alta's house was very welcoming and spacious! We used her location to film some of our television series' recreation segments, and Alta and her family were a delight. When you stay there, be sure to pet Harvey for us! He is a bundle of joy!

    October 2011
  • We had an absolutely lovely time with Alta in Hazlet, New Jersey! Her house is beautiful and Alta is super kind and hospitable. We didn't spend the night, but used her home as a film location. The wonderful grounds and outdoor space were exactly what we were looking for and we had a great sunny lunch one day on the back deck. Her dog, Harvey and her birds (especially her super smart talking bird) were adorable. Stay with Alta, you'll feel welcome and taken care of!

    September 2011
  • Had a wonderful stay. I was lost the first night, but they gave me real good directions...Alta is awesome, she dropped me off at the station & offered to pick me up as well. the Rooms were clean and bed comfortable. I would stay there again if I was ever in NJ

    September 2011
Per Month
From
$50
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 51 times
Languages
English, Español
Work
gardener
About
Hello! I live in a quiet neighborhood in central NJ located 40 minutes from NYC and a close drive to the famous Jersey shore. Two rooms are available for short trips or long stays. My home is quiet, clean, and has a colorful backyard with an in ground pool and plenty of places to relax. I love to travel and spend much of my time in the garden. Please let me know if you have any questions :)
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
5 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings