Caveland is a complex of cave houses and terraces with amazing views and small gardens with lemon, pomegranate, orange, pear, vanilla and pistachio trees. The decor is largely home-spun, in refurbishing the walls we have used many types of local techniques and the rooms are furnished with refurbished antique and local furniture. In the late 18th century, this complex was used as a winery. In May 2011 we opened Caveland as a boutique hostel.
Each Cave has an A/C or a fan that can be turned into heating, heating blanket for the bed (you will appreciate this during the winter months), small kitchen corner with a fridge, double bed, closet.
Possibility to rent per week or month for discounted prices IN THE WINTER!
There is also a big communal kitchen for cooking, outdoor terraces and gardens with our dog Klara that stays outside! You can browse our bookshelves, join morning/evening yoga classes, chill out at the pool (June-September) or play tennis at our courts.
You will be welcomed by our volunteers or receptionist. We live in a village 3 minutes drive from Caveland and we are daily at Caveland, too.
Location: Caveland, Karterados- Santorini. 25 minutes walking distance from Fira town or 5 minutes car drive.
Supermarkets: 3 minutes walk (2 mini markets) and 10 minutes walk (big supermarket with a weekly fruit and vegetable market)
Restaurants: plenty of restaurants on the way from Caveland to Fira town, the closest restaurant is 3 min walk.
Beaches: 5 minutes drive is a local beach in Karterados, 15 minutes with a bus is a famous black beach in Kamari, 25 minutes with a bus is a famous black beach in Perissa.
10 minutes walk is a local bus stop in Karterados village (at Zotos bakery). All the busses heading to Fira town and to the south of the island pass this bus stop.
We also recommend you to take a driving license with you. Renting a car or a quad bike is easy, reasonably priced and the best if you wish to discover the island.
Let me start by declaring that my next trip to Santorini is already planned and the place ill stay in will be my private and amazing cave in caveland!
The place is artisty, wonderful and peaceful. The host is great and so are the volunteers. The dogs are adorable and the location is just great! Ive stayed for 16 nights and I wish I could stay for 16 more.... till the next time :)
Caveland, oh Caveland! We already miss you. We had the pleasure of staying for a month at Caveland on Santorini, and it felt like home to us. The atmosphere is relaxed, the grounds are beautiful, and the people and dogs are friendly! We rented a cave apartment, with a private bathroom and small kitchen. The kitchen is not fully equipped, but Veronika assured us when we arrived that we could have full use of the hostel kitchen if needed. The only downside is that the hostel is a far walk to Fira town. However, the lovely village of Karterados has everything and there is a bus stop near by for busses going to Akrotiri, and Perissa and Kamari beaches. Caveland is also very affordable, perfect for budget travelers like us. We highly recommend for long or short stays, and we will stay with them if we return to Santorini.
Really like the receptionist and the dogs running around the place! :) He also recommended a place for us to rent ATV and Volcano Tour, both of which were good.
Price was very reasonable given that it has a pool, includes breakfast (although we never made it!!) and is a short ride away from Fira.
We booked the double ensuite room which came with a small kitchen and cozy sitting room. Linens and towels provided, all nice and clean. Bring your own toiletries though.
Our only suggestion is that the bathroom could do with some TLC. Taking a shower got the whole bathroom wet, and the faucet is barely hanging on. Hot water works just fine.
nice place, nice staff. we enjoyed this holiday very much.
Overall an okay experience. The location is quite close to Fira, by scooter it takes about 5 minutes. There are 5 rental places a few steps away. The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk away... not exactly around the corner. And it's way uphill! I personally found we overpaid. Sure there is a pool and the concept of living in a cave is cool. But as soon as we got off the ferry, there were a bunch of locals that were offering their rooms at half the price and including a free private transfer to their location. I had tried veronika and kostas for 2 days before our arrival to give us indications to reach caveland but did not get a reply. And for the price we paid, i did not expect to have to leave a security deposit (equivalent to one night stay) on top of that. And there are warnings in the room saying that stains on the bedsheets will result in our forfeiting our security deposit! And at the price we paid, i wouldn't expect all that mold in our shower, i would expect the shower drain not to be clogged, and i would expect bedsheets without huge yellow stains on them.
I guess that's the price you pay when you want to book ahead of time and make sure you have a place to stay. But if i had to do it again, i would not book again.
We are sorry to hear about your bad experience with us. We don't use an android phone/iphone, therefor we could not send you directions right after you sent us a message, therefor we have a response rate within 24 hours and thereof I also emailed you the directions a month in advance right after you booked with us.
we checked with airbnb.
Your deposit has been well returned, we don't have any reason to keep it. The amount to be paid as a deposit has been well indicated in our profile, too.
We are a hostel, so says also our profile and therefor there are signs here and there that remind some of the travellers of our house rules. We work with people from all around the World and what is standard for people in one country might be strange for people from some different country, therefor we have these reminds in the room.
We don't stay ourselves in the caves, so it would be great if you let us know via reception or a private message that this or that could be better.
We believe airbnb is a community that offers something different, it is not just a vacation rental. We are exactly not the people who go down to the port and "fish" potential guests and offer low prices. We spent our time advertising our property online and we still believe it is unique and different and therefor the price and advanced bookings.
We had the best stay in Caveland. The hosts are wonderful and the place itself is without doubt one of the most unique places we've stayed in. Since Caveland lies a little bit inlands we rented a car to get around, but a busstop is around the corner and very convenient as well. We highly recommend Caveland, thanks so much for the wonderful stay!
We had a wonderful stay at Caveland, the apartment was beautiful and the hosts were super helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Caveland is a beautiful place and if you don't feel like going out, hanging at the pool was a perfect option. If you are ok with a walk it's easy to get to the bus stop, or rent an ATV and explore the island. I highly recommend staying at Veronika and Kostas place, it was a truly magical experience for our honeymoon.
We had a great time here. The pool is lovely, the dogs are funny and it is a twenty minute walk into the best views in Fira.
Caveland was awesome!! It had such a cool vibe and wonderful atmosphere. We arrived in the middle of the night and had no problems finding our 'cave.' It was much more spacious than we expected and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! One helpful hint: the cave bedrooms are really really dark when all the doors are closed (which is wonderful!)- I recommend a small light or phone near the bed for waking up in the middle of the night. I woke up one night and didn't want to turn on a larger light for fear of waking my partner and got woefully lost and turned around in the utter and complete darkness! :-)
Favorite place I have ever stayed. Does this say enough?