A new single bed and a quality folding cot for 2nd guest.closet with shelves, dresser, desk and two swivel chairs.  Oak floors throughout.
Private room
2 Guests
2 Beds
Per Night
Your credit card won’t be charged
120 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A block away from the bike trail and Main St. in Florence neighborhood. Cozy private room looks out at woods. Some decor is my own painted furniture, art quilts, and stained glass. I love meeting people and introducing our "Paradise City". Please note that the house is tiny, 888 sq ft and worn-looking, though it has its charm. It's simply furnished. Both rooms may be occupied, and there's one shared bathroom. I'm waiting for contractors availability. Quiet and consideration needed.

A new single bed and a quality folding cot for 2nd guest.

A new single bed and a quality folding cot for 2nd guest.


The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $10
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

Share my 888 sq. ft. home with me. One medium sized bedroom overlooking woods has a new comfortable inner coil twin size bed. A twin size air bed or padded cot can be added for a second person. My other listing accomodates couples in a spacious room with an inner coil/foam double size bed, not a futon. It's in the same home. There is one shared bathroom in the home. There's a deck in back with table, chairs and umbrella. Walking/biking trails are very close by.

Guest Access

Guests are welcome to the kitchen, dining room, and deck in back of the house, facing woods. There is reliable high speed wifi available. Bring own sheets and towels and I'll waive the cleaning fee.

Interaction with Guests

I take my cues from my guests. I'm pleased to meet and converse with guests, be available as possible, and provide information about our unique, wonderful community. At the same time, I respect those who seek more privacy, quiet, or solitude. I'm flexible, and never intrusive. Though I no longer have a dog, I welcome well-behaved quiet dogs as house guests (accompanied by humans, of course).

The Neighborhood

I adore my neighborhood. Just a few steps from my door to the expanding bikeway, a network gradually connecting the eastern coastal states. I'm around the corner from Main St., with cafes (vegan, gourmet, and child-friendly), restaurants, the landmark 1940's Miss Florence Diner, galleries, used book shop, and historic sites. Florence was, for a time, home to Sojourner Truth and was an Underground Railroad stop for slaves fleeing the South. It was also the site of a 19th century Utopian community and worker collective. Look Park is less than a mile away, with zoo, paddle boats, mini train, tennis, miniature golf, water park, and picnic/barbeque sites. Fitzgerald Lake trails are also just a mile away, extensive hiking trails along a lake and forest. I've seen moose, deer, bears, and a snapping turtle. Florence is just 2 1/2 miles from downtown Northampton, with its fabulous restaurants, shops, art and music venues. Just so you know, although the street is pretty and residential, trucks and cars travel it heavily at times during weekday work hours.

Getting Around

The Central Mass Greenway bike trail is a few steps from my door. It's bicycle heaven around here, with bike paths extending in all directions. The busses in Florence are infrequent in the evening. Pioneer Valley Transit Authority bus schedules are online. A car is suggested.

Other Things to Note

Given that my house is quite small, I'd appreciate guests being mindful of noise level. If bringing a pet, please don't allow dogs to scratch at doors or relieve themselves in the yard. Please don't leave dogs alone in the home, as many dogs are anxious in unfamiliar surroundings. Dog care may be available at extra cost, if schedules permit. I've given loving care to my own dogs while I had them. I'd greatly appreciate help conserving utilities (turning off lights when not needed, no long showers, please).


House Rules

Courtesy and consideration for others makes for pleasant visits. It's a fairly quiet, peaceful household, so if you love loud music, wear earphones. At the same time, it's not a monastery and I do like having fun and enjoying good company. I try to be approachable and flexible with reasonable requests. Quiet, well-behaved pets are welcome. There is no smoking permitted anywhere on the property. Light alcohol use (1 or 2 drinks) is okay. Drunkenness isn't okay. No drugs.


Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay
closet with shelves, dresser, desk and two swivel chairs.  Oak floors throughout.

closet with shelves, dresser, desk and two swivel chairs. Oak floors throughout.

Your Host


Lisa

Lisa

Northampton, Massachusetts, United States · Member since November 2013

I'm originally from New York, and have lived in the Northampton area for 25 years. I'm a former social worker, and am a multi-media artist and designer. I love meeting new people, love dogs, and I badly play mandolin and fiddle. I promise not to subject any guests to my playing. I love good company and conversation, yet am sensitive to those who are seeking privacy, peace and quiet. Empathy, kindness, and the Golden Rule are central to my style. I love words, language, most art forms, and aesthetics. I have an offbeat, spontaneous, but always good-natured sense of humor (so I'm told). Well-behaved dogs who like other dogs are welcome. I've travelled to the Southwest, Mexico, and California. I've made three trips to Europe, once "vagabonding" around Europe for three months. I hope to do much more travel.

Response rate: 100%(past 30 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Northampton

    More places to stay in Northampton: Apartments · Houses · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums