Private room
1 Guest
1 Bed

Request to Book

$63
Per Night
Per Month
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.
Subtotal Total

You’ll be able to review before paying.

This property is unavailable.

View Other Listings
When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Ryan's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!

About This Listing

lGBT friendly, modern designer apartment, easy access to central London - and organic chickens on the sun terrace!

Contact Host

Now comes with matching duvet!

Verified Photo

The Space
Bed type: Real Bed
Property type: Apartment
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Other pet(s)

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Price: $362 /week
Monthly Price: $1206 /month
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

House Rules

Safety Features
None
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit
Safety Card
Fire Extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

fitted wardrobe with extra shelving storage space

Verified Photo

12 Reviews

Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
From Lyon, France · June 2015

From Pyrmont, Australia · February 2015

From Edinburgh, United Kingdom · October 2014

From Edinburgh, United Kingdom · August 2014

From Montbrison, France · July 2014
Ryan
Response from Ryan:

I didn't want to have to respond to this review as it would require me to respond to lies and false accusations but Airbnb refused to remove it so here goes! My first impressions were that this had the potential to be a challenging stay as when Aurelie arrived she immediately burst into tears. Later, she confided in me that she was finding it very difficult to be away from home. Accordingly I tried my best to make her feel welcome. I invited a fellow French speaker friend of mine round and cooked for Aurelie and my friend and we had a nice evening. Shortly into her stay her laptop broke so I arranged to borrow a friends laptop for her to use for free for the remainder of her stay. She was very grateful for this (although no mention of this is made in her review) however Aurelie gradually withdrew into spending more and more into time in her room and with that, towards the end of her stay the problems with food hygiene began. She would eat in her room and leave half eaten food and debris to rot by the window seal in her room which catches the sunshine. This got worse to the point that just a week before the end of her stay I had a weekend away and when I got back I was horrified to see her rotting food had caused maggots to appear in the kitchen! It took me 3 hours to clean them away! I also had to ask her to clean her fresh fruit compartment as vegetables had been left there for several weeks and were turning black! By this point I was very concerned and approached Airbnb for guidance - they advised me I could, via the resolution centre, make a small claim for the cleaning I had incurred as a result of her actions. I opened a case and Aurelie refused without explanation. Accordingly Airbnb found in my favour and the next day Aurelie decided she was going to leave. At this point she still refused to remove food waste from her room so reluctantly I had to enter and I removed several bags of rotting food debris. The morning before this Aurelie was going to work and I thought it important to break the ice so I approached her as she was trying to open the front door and I asked her if she could respond to the resolution centre request. She said she wouldn't but her father would. As we talked I went to open the door for her (to clarify the outrageous false allegation in her review against me).
Finally to clarify on her other false points. Breakfast, in the form of organic fresh eggs from my pet chickens Izzy and Eva were always available, which she enjoyed frequently. I have a washer dryer and I offered to show Aurelie how to use it but my offer was rejected. Aside from a friend who visited me and stayed for 2 nights I had no other tenant staying while Aurelie was - I think she would have objected sharing her room with a stranger!
Although Aurelie was the type of guest that many hosts would regard as difficult I wish Aurelie all the best for the future. I think she would be more suited to stay in a hotel in future as it is very disrespectful to treat someone else's home you are sharing in the way I have described and as the pictures I sent to Airbnb show.
As you can see from all my other reviews I encourage guests to communicate with either me or Airbnb as issues can only be resolved if they are known about (and I frequently ask my guests if everything is ok) Aurelie appeared on the surface to be ok while I think she was struggling with issues that were unconnected to this stay.

July 2014

From Asheville, NC · May 2014

April 2014

About the Host, Ryan

Ryan
Barking, United Kingdom
Member since August 2011
Response rate: 100% (past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Trust
  • Ryan
  • Cristina's

    Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, great food at an even greater price!
    North St Barking IG11 8AW
  • Barking Park

    Lovely old park with kids wet play area, boating lake, miniature railway and cafe
    Longbridge Rd Barking Essex IG11
  • Eastbury Manor House

    Elizabethan manor house well worth a visit!
    Eastbury Square Barking Greater London IG11 9SN

Similar Listings