City Center Penthouse Terrace Flat

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Sursock, Mar Nkoula, Beirut, Lebanon

The Space

Modern 2 bedroom/1.5 bathroom elevator-serviced top-floor terrace apartment in the city center of Beirut between prestigious Rue Sursock and the nighlife of Gemmayze district's Rue Gouraud. This prime location is just a 10 minute walk from downtown (Solidere), and a 2 minute walk from Gemmayze cafes, restaurants, pubs, clubs, and nightlife. Also walking distance are the hip neighborhood of Mar Mikhael, with it's cafes, boutiques, and Achrafieh, with its classic residences and picturesque neighborhoods. Hamra and the American University of Beirut (AUB) are just 10 minutes away by automobile. Beautiful city and sea views from all rooms, large outdoor garden and terrace, fully equipped kitchen, and panoramic windows, central and bedroom air conditioning, marble floors, 24 hour electricity, Internet access.

Master Bedroom: Accommodates 2 guests in 1 bed
Second Bedroom: Accommodates 2 guests in 1 bed
Living Room: Accommodates 1 guest on sofa; 1 guest on folding bed

Breakfast: Excellent breakfast provided upon request for US$5.00/person paid directly to concierge

Please Note:
-3 day minimum stay
-Beirut typically gets 21 hours of municipal electricity per day (the 3 hours without electricity get rotated between 8 am and 6 pm) with frequent short outages at times of high demand. Generator service for building common areas (elevator and entrances) and 5 amps (enough for refrigerator and a couple other small appliances) inside the apartment are provided during times of outage.
-Internet in Lebanon is notoriously slow and expensive. While Internet is provided at the apartment, performance can fluctuate considerably. Be patient, but more importantly, get out and play... you're on vacation!!!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 2
Extra people: $25 / night after 4 guests
Weekly Price: $985 /week
Monthly Price: $2975 /month
Security Deposit: $500
Cleaning Fee: $50
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Great location, spacious apartment, lovely balcony, and very friendly owner. We had a wonderful time.

    November 2013
  • Michel's place is great. It is on the top floor and had great balconies. The location is right in Gemayze and just half a block from lots of restaurants. Michel even had recycling bins which was very unusual for Lebanon. I'd definitely stay there again.

    October 2013
  • The flat was exactly what it looked like in pictures. Even better. The terrasse is huge and the view stunning. It was clean upon arrival. Towels and sheets were folded, clean and ready for use to use. We didn't suffer too much from the heat thanks to the AC units. The flat is well furnished and offers all the comfort of a modern apartment.
    Michel is a great host and arranged transportation from the airport to the flat for us. He also provided good advices regarding the neighbourhood.
    By the way the neighbourhood is the best neighbourhood you could imagine if you like to go out in nice restaurants and bars. Gemmayze is paked with nice places to hang out. And the apartment is right in the heart of it.
    We were 4 to share the place and we all agreed that renting this apartment was the best way to experience Beirut.

    August 2013
  • Michel's apartment is fantastic. It's location is perfect, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Gemayzeh but only a minutes walk to great restaurants, bars and shopping. Michel was a superb host. He arranged everything perfectly and was beyond gracious. Chandi brought us delightful treats in the morning - setting up breakfast outside on the fantastic balconies. I would recommend staying at this flat for both those that know Beirut as well as newbies coming for the first time. Such a fantastic time!

    June 2013
  • We were a married couple and two friends staying in Michel's flat. It was perfect in terms of location and in terms of amenities. Sometimes it was hard to leave the flat because it was so comfortable and relaxing. We were all surprised how big the flat was and just how much outdoor space there was. The breeze was amazing (and especially with three balconies to enjoy)! The neighborhood has many great restaurants and bars, plus has much more character than other neighborhoods we visited. We especially enjoyed Leila's and the 24 hour wrap shop just around the corner. Michel's concierge can't be beat. Her breakfasts were spot-on and quite affordable! We will be coming back for sure.

    May 2013
  • Michel's flat is wonderfully located in the centre of Beirut, with huge penthouse terraces on three sides giving great views out across the city and to the sea. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops in the area, which really bustles on weekend evenings.

    The flat itself was easily spacious and comfortable enough for four of us; (not luxurious, but it doesn't claim to be). Aircon worked well, though we didn't really need it with the cool breezes from the terrace windows (though they brought in a little dust).

    Michel, his mother, and the building concierge looked after us well. Michel had kindly booked airport taxis for us and check-in and check-out were smooth and easy. The concierge also brought up good (and copious) Lebanese breakfasts every morning.

    Very happy to recommend this as great base for visiting Beirut and Lebanon.

    May 2013
  • I am uncomfortable writing an uncomplimentary review and have not done so before, but unfortunately this warrants one. There are a number of issues: (1) the apartment is marketed as being let by Michel and he handles communication pre-stay. However he was not present during our stay, and the key-handover, etc. was (rather chaotically) managed by his mother Patricia, who made it clear she resented taking on this task; (2) The apartment is spacious and very pleasant, but it was dirty. Everyone has different standards of cleanliness, but I mean dirty: the surfaces were dusty, the air musty, and the bathroom looked like a student’s complete with body hair. Fine if that’s what you’re expecting, but not at this price bracket; (3) To continue the cleanliness theme, on our second day both drains in the bathroom bubbled up with noxious liquid, which was clearly raw sewage. The other “half bathroom” advertised was out of operation. To their credit Michel and Patricia called a plumber who fixed the problem, but not before Patricia had claimed it was “our fault”. We were too taken aback to even respond. She also made entirely erroneous claims that we had smoked inside the apartment. (4) A few days after leaving Michel contacted me claiming that we had stolen a phone charger. After letting him know I was checking with my friends and before waiting for their response, he proceeding to issues a $50 claim against me. To be honest I find the situation risible. This is a great apartment, but it’s dirty and the hosts sour the taste.

    April 2013
    Response from Michel:

    I've been hosting guests at this apartment for a few years. It's personally very important to me that people enjoy the apartment and consider me a professional and honest host, so I took his review seriously. I've tried to contact Austen to get clarification on the issues he mentioned in order to better understand the issues he mentioned and to better serve future guests but never heard back from him.

    In response to the points he mentioned:
    (1) We arranged taxi pick-ups from the airport to the apartment for all guests. Austen's accompanying guests' flight arrived early but they didn't inform us so they ended up waiting outside until the scheduled check-in.
    (2) A housekeeper thoroughly cleans the flat before every guest check-in. For stays of four or more days, housekeeping is provided every few days. There were seasonal dust storms that passed through Beirut during their stay, so with windows/doors kept open, the dust very quickly can accumulate. As for the hair in the bathroom, Austen was accompanied by two female guests who arrived before him, so it's difficult for me to respond to this concern.
    (3) All plumbing issues have been resolved. The plumbing issue Austen experienced was very unfortunate. We quickly arranged for a plumber despite the difficulty on Easter Sunday. Certainly, we can't blame anyone for it, but afterward we did mention precautions to keep the plumbing functional.
    (4) We let one of the guests borrow a phone charger but after check-out it couldn't be found. We simply asked Austen to check with the other guests if they placed it somewhere obscure or if they mistakenly took it with them. Never did we suggest they stole it. There's a time limitation to AirBnB claims, so when I didn't hear from Austen after a few days, I submitted the claim, informing him that I'd cancel the claim if the charger was located. The cord was eventually found and I cancelled the claim.

  • Disappointing! Michel’s flat has a great location and nice terrace. I stayed there with other four friends. His mother gave us keys. However, it is pretty dirty and as we went to Beirut for only 4 days which is very short; we didn’t try to find another place to stay in order to not ruin our 4 days. If even we came to flat only for sleeping, it was disgustingly dirty. Everywhere (bathroom/ground of rooms) were cover by short hairs. Half bottom of shower curtain (which is transparent) were complete dark grey due to fungus! And there were noting except 1 toilet paper roll and a dirty soup in bathroom. So we went to shopping in our first night. So 2 of our friends didn’t have a shower for 4 days as it was unbearable and I had to close my eyes while brushing my dishes to not see dirty sink. Flush in small restroom was out of order and my friend fix it. We also told it to his mother. During our stay, I contacted with his mother if there is a hair-dryer at home and her answer was “it is a man’s flat, what do we expect?”. Well I guess there are much more polite ways to say it. Finally, we checked out by having a small tour with her mother that everything is fine. 4 days later he wanted to cut our deposit due to a damaged bed cover with red wine spots. As we even didn’t buy red wine during our stay, it was pretty strange. Also we lost our ipad charger and high-quality earphone in the flat. However it is difficult to blame someone because many people have keys of flat.

    March 2013
    Response from Michel:

    It's unfortunate to get negative reviews, let alone two in a row. As with the review above, I contacted Nisa by email to get clarification and to better serve future guests, but never heard back from her. Nisa wrote her review of the apartment, all issues she never mentioned to us, after I submitted an AirBnB claim due to damage caused during her stay. Upon check-out, everything looked fine and no issues were mentioned by her or the other guests. However, when the apartment was cleaned for the next guests, red stains were found on one sheet set which were not there previously. We submitted photographs and receipts to AirBnB and were credited for replacement costs. Separately, following all confirmed bookings, for security we require passport scans and flight reservations from each guest. She provided, but with all important information (passport number, etc) removed--not particularly useful. Upon arrival, we verified, and two of the guests had changed. This wouldn't usually be an issue, except we had rejected prior reservation requests from two of the guests because we didn't feel comfortable with them. Awkward and dishonest to say the least.

  • I was happy to be back to Michel's place - and my friends loved it, too. Its sunlit terraces, comfortable beds, the wonderful living room create a great atmosphere for a trip. I couldn't feel more at home in Lebanon. And I love the area of Gemmayzeh - the Torino and Dragonfly bars are just down the road, Hookah at Kahwet Leila, fresh food at Urbanista or Le Chef. Thanks so much, Michel - hopefully, until next time!

    March 2013
  • Michel is the consumate host and made our stay easy. The information provided was incredibly detailed and helpful. As for the apartment, it was a wonderful place in a great location, walking distance to downtown and a US$10 cab ride from Hamra.

    I would mention to anyone that they familiarise themselves with the procedure for turning on the generator when the electricity ceases at various points. It is off in alternate 3-hour cycles each day, and this is a Beirut issue, not with the apartment. If you get stuck the gardienne on the ground floor is possibly the nicest lady on earth, and she will happily assist.

    Overall, we had a wonderful time and are very grateful to Michel's service.

    September 2012
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 129 times
English, العربية
Columbia University, MA; University of California, BA
Management Consultant
Adventurous, world traveler, passionate about introducing people to Lebanon. Originally from San Francisco, lived in NYC for six years, and now Beirut. Competitive cycling, running, open-water swimming, yoga, urban gardening, cooking, and meeting interesting people from around the world.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
4 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings