Spacious Studio Near Lincoln Park

House - Entire home/apt · California Ave, Seattle, WA 98136, United States

Spacious studio in a beautiful area of West Seattle! Mountain and water views abound in our well kept neighborhood. We also run a home brewery and are happy to do beer tastings with interested adult guests.

The Space

Your private studio is a daylight basement apartment, and comes with a full kitchen and bathroom; a new, queen-size memory foam mattress and a full-sized sofa bed; access to a shared washer and dryer; your own off-street parking; TV and blue ray player with netflix; (HDMI/VGA inputs); and upstairs, live-in owners who are happy to answer any questions you may have.

Children two and under stay free in this family friendly accommodation, and we have lots of baby gear for loan: pack and play, stroller, baby swing, and more.

The apartment stays nice and cool in summer, and can be heated by the electric heat system in winter. (The fireplace pictured is not safe for use. Sorry!) Wireless internet provided. You will also have access to our fully fenced backyard and deck. We will try to accommodate your requests to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Planning a SPECIAL GETAWAY with your sweetie? Let us know if you would like flowers, champagne, chocolate or any other treats ready upon your arrival before you book. It would be our pleasure to make your stay extra-special! + $50 / price negotiable.

Note: There is a cat in the house, but he doesn't have access to the studio.

Interaction with Guests

We always strive to meet guests in person when they first arrive in order to answer questions. We are happy to give advice about activities or restaurants in the area.

The Neighborhood

Fantastic location in West Seattle! Beautiful, safe neighborhood with nearby coffee shops, grocery stores, parks, restaurants and ferry access (Vashon ferry). Near #22 busline for easy access to downtown. Check out my guidebook for specific listings of places you will not want to miss in our neighborhood!

Other Things to Note

We have seasonal pricing changes.
2014 daily pricing:
Jan 1 - May 30
And
October 1 - December 31st

Sunday - Thursday $79
Friday & Saturday $90

June 1 -September 30

Sunday - Thursday $90
Friday & Saturday $110

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $550 /week
Monthly Price: $1500 /month
Security Deposit: $200
Cleaning Fee: $50
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Great little hideaway in a fantastic location.

    Awesome airbnb'ers, they looked after my need very well and took care of my experience there brilliantly

    February 2014
  • We came back for a second stay and things were great. Even the shower head was fixed and worked well. Amy was again accommodating with our check in time. Would return again on our next trip to Seattle.

    January 2014
  • We had a wonderful stay in this West Seattle spot! Everything was as shown in the photos, a very comfortable, homey space to snuggle into after a day of exploring. A nice kitchen if one wants to cook, excellent tech solutions, tv, smart phone docking station, kind and attentive hosts, a sweet coffee shop within walking distance. It feels very safe, secure, and the sounds of children upstairs was lovely and comforting. We recommend highly.

    January 2014
  • We had a great time. Room was clean and comfortable. Amy was accommodating when our flight was delayed and we had to check in late. The only problem was the overhead shower. There was low pressure, but the side handheld unit was fine. Looking forward to our next stay in January.

    December 2013
  • We had a very nice stay here. The accommodations are exactly as they're pictured and our hosts made everything very easy. We were just passing through and spent a single night but there were plenty of amenities provided from a hair dryer to a coffee machine to a Wii. They were very helpful with recommendations for local restaurants and even set up an extra pull-out bed for our daughter. We didn't really now the area and it seemed a little more 'out of the action' than we might have hoped but that had more to do with our own unfamiliarity with Seattle. There is a fantastic nearby cafe called "Bird on a Wire" which really hits the spot too!

    November 2013
  • Amy was really sweet and helpful and the space was perfect for my hubby and me and our 6-week-old baby. She had a swing and rock-n-play for her to use also. Very clean and cozy place with most of the conveniences of home :)

    October 2013
  • Very comfortable room and Amy was very accommodating and easy to work with. We really appreciated being able to stay in West Seattle, close to where I grew up. Thanks for everything.

    September 2013
  • My husband, 10lb dog, Emmy and I stayed at Nathan and Amy's airbnb in West Seattle for 3 weeks, our daughter from NewYork also joined us there for a week. It was great, a home away from home while we visited our other daughter and son in law and granddaughter in Seattle. We had everything we could need and more, comfy bed, washer and dryer access, full kitchen, and extras like the Wii with Netflix. We would definitely go back, great location, we really like West Seattle and enjoyed our stay immensely. Thanks Amy and Nathan.

    September 2013
  • Our overall stay here was good. Some PROS and CONS.

    Pros:
    *Location - liked being in West Seattle, close to shops and amenities. Being close to Lincoln Park was very nice also. We could walk down to the ocean view.
    *Cleanliness - the suite was nice and clean. A few stains on the carpet but nothing major. Bathroom was very clean also.
    *Comfortable - our bed was comfortable, it was nice to be in a basement suite rather a hotel room.
    *Hosts - Amy was very friendly and helpful.
    *Netflix - that was nice for our children.

    Cons:
    *Smell - the smell when you park in the driveway was of cat urine, not pleasant. We have a cat so we understand cat smell, but it was not a pleasant oder when you first arrive at your lodging.
    *No key - there was no key to our door, we only had the opener to the big garage door. I did not like that at all.
    *Fruit flies - fruit fly problem, I had to make my own trap they were so bad. Although I read it was the season for fruit flies so there may have been nothing they could have done to control that.
    *Closet - not a huge deal, as this is someones home that am staying in :) But there was a closet in the livingroom area that had a lock on it. It creeped me out.....lol. As it had shutters so it was really creepy knowing that something was behind there that I couldn't see.
    *No phone - unlike a hotel there is no phone in your room. Which may pose a problem for some people, we didn't mind because we had our cellphones.

    Other then those few things it was a pleasant stay. If they supplied a key in the future we would stay again.

    August 2013
    Amy
    Response from Amy:

    Hi Billie,

    I'm glad you guys enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the feedback. I'm just going to respond to CONS you had listed to clarify for future guests and let you know what we're doing to address the ones we can.

    *Door key - Door does lock from the inside with a deadbolt and garage is pretty secure/watched but we will be installing a new lock/deadbolt during the off season.
    *Smell - We had one other guest who thought they smelled cat urine outside and we found out this is the boxwoods, which smell unpleasant on warm summer days ((website hidden))
    *Fruit flies. Sorry for the annoyance. You're right that we can't avoid them completely, especially with back-to-back bookings but we've found that a glass of apple cider vinegar with a couple drops of dish soap gets the job done within 24 hours. We'll be sure to keep an eye out in the future.
    *Phone. This is another thing I will add during the off season, once I have a chance to run a network cable into the apartment.
    *Storage closet. Unfortunately not much we can do here--we need our storage space. If it makes anyone reading feel better we don't mind telling you we use that storage room for our Christmas decorations, kids clothes/toys, and for the winter blankets and sheets for the suite. Probably all the same things you have in the storage closet at your house. :)

  • We were attending a wedding in West Seattle and the location of this studio was perfect. We love to hike and enjoyed walking to Lincoln Park every morning. It was a little claustrophobic being in a basement but the people we were visiting in West Seattle had a nice backyard with a firepit so it really didn't matter. Wonderful to hae a full kitchen with all the amenities. Thanks! Our family would stay again.

    August 2013
Per Month
From
$79
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 215 times
Languages
English
School
Seattle Pacific University
About
Nathan and I are an easy going couple who loves traveling and seeing new places. We love going to the beach whether it's the Washington coast, Hawaii, or Portugal! Nathan is an IT services manager who runs our home brewery in his spare time. I am a registered nurse on hiatus caring for my young children. We are parents of two little boys and one fluffy grey cat. We are friendly, down to earth people who strive to treat everyone with kindness and respect. We love our city and are eager to share with our guests all our favorite spots (check out my guidebook!) We value Seattle for it's friendly people, diverse and delicious foods, its amazing natural beauty and fun outdoor activities. As hosts we like to greet people in person when they arrive and make sure the check in process goes smoothly. We strive to give our guests space and privacy while also making ourselves available to answer questions and provide recommendations about the local area as needed.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings