This is a one bedroom garden apartment that is on the same property as the yoga studio apartment and the Skyline Apartment. It has all coconut wood floors, and imperial plaster walls and ceilings, there is a nice yard, garden and fruit trees, and it is in a quite neighborhood where everyone is friendly. It is in a great location to see the entire island in day trips. There is a sweet bedroom, with a queen bed, living room with a futon couch, and The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need, and there is a marble bathroom with tub and shower. The linens and towels are hand picked by Poni, and the decor is adorable. This apartment is down a short gravel road, across the street from the water, and a couple of blocks down from beaches in either direction. We are only 1/2 mile from Paia town and all the fun places to eat and famous Mana foods, the best health food store on the island. We would love to have you with us!
Beware!!! THIS PLACE IS A DUMP AND IS NOT VACATION RENTAL WORTHY. For $165 plus all the taxes and fees - This was the worst lodging experience we have ever had. First of all, the pictures on the website are extremely outdated. The place looks old and run down from the outside in. The landscaping is dirty and unkept. Inside the place, everything is old, there is rust on the fridge door. The shower is the WORST! The shower head really needs to be replaced - the water pressure is weirdly harsh and painful on your skin - i had to cover certain parts on my body as I was showering because it was that painful, and if you are a little sunburned, it will hurt even more. On top of that, the shower curtain is very cheap and thin, when you're showering, it keeps flying everywhere that makes it impossible to wash yourself. If you are lucky to get through that uncomfortable and painful showering experience, you walk out to a completely flooded bathroom floor due to the cheap malfunctioning shower curtain. Considering it (email hidden) and you are there on a vacation, they only provide 2 bath towels. How are we supposed to go to the beach and shower with one towel each. We went during dry season so no mosquitoes but I am sure during the rainy season it would be a different story. The host was not very helpful from the beginning. We did not hear from them at all prior to our arrival. When we called for direction on the day of, she kept repeating that everything is on the website. We booked to stay there for 3 nights but after the first night we just left because it was that unacceptable. We called and left them a voicemail that we had left and they took a day to email us back with a very standard message like - we will fix whatever that is broken...The point is this place is not suitable for vacation rental. They should just rent it out to some local for cheap! Or make some upgrades and lower the price. For $50 more you can check in to a nice resort without a worry in the world. We wanted to experience Paia and what the local living was like but it was a big mistake. Paia is not a town for tourists unless you are a surfer and don't care about uncomfortable lodging, but still, basic things like a working bathroom should still be there. Either way I would still opt for a real hotel.
Aloha, We are sorry that you had such a terrible time in our lovely Coconut Apartment. From your comments about how you could not stand our apartment, or our town for that matter, it is obvious that you were looking for a very different kind of experience. Because we have 158 great reviews over the past two years, and one bad one from you, you may understand that many guests are looking for an apartment just like this one, and seem to love it. Your review seems to be a bit harsh in my opinion, as I am quite sure that Megan tried to get a hold of you, as she lives right there in the same building, and does her job very well. I am also quite sure that we sent you all the directions that you needed ahead of time to find the apartment and make yourself at home. I am also quite sure that all of our other guests in the past knew how to turn the water pressure down on the shower so that it did not flow so strong as to blow the shower curtain around making the water leak out all over the floor. I am also quite sure that we have at least six or eight towels in the dresser for your to use in the house as well as the beach, and if they were in the laundry room still in the dryer for an un-forseen reason, you could have called Megan, and she would have brought you some fluffy clean towels with a smile on her sweet face. As that is how we like to treat our guests. Instead you, (with no name or photo) write this large loud reivew of how much you hated our place, instead of getting in touch with us personally. Im not sure what to say, as normally I always feel the guests are right, and our team likes to do what ever it takes to make them happy, but you, (with no photo or name on this site), did not even give us the chance. You left a voice mail at seven oclock in the evening to say you would not be staying there, after never checking in, and with out leaving us time to try and rebook the apartment so that we could have gotten you some of your money back. Again, we are sorry that you had such a terrible experience, and I hope from the bottom of my heart that you found a place that suited your needs so that you could enjoy magical Maui. Peace to you, Poni, the Owner
Amazing! Super easy and great.
The apartment was absolutely gorgeous. It was extremely bright and had all the necessary items needed for cooking which we took advantage of for a couple of days. It was within close walking distance to the beach and about a 15 minute walk to great restaurants, bars and shops. The assistant Brooke was extremely helpful and answered all of our questions. Liam was also very helpful and lovely as well. Thank you for making us feel at home. Would recommend this Apartment to anyone who visits Hawaii! Mahalo!
Stayed here with my wife the first portion of our honeymoon. We had an amazing time, BUT there are three things to be aware of!
1) SPIDERS - There are alot of Cane Spiders in the area, and they end up in the apartment from time to time. They're harmless, but my wife is terrified of all spiders. If a spider can ruin your day, look elsewhere.
2) The road to town is narrow with no shoulder for parts of the way. It's not an issue to drive, but not wonderful for walking.
3) The apartment is near the communal clothes wash area for the building. You WILL hear your neighbors, but by and large it's very quiet.
Having dispensed with the cautions, the place is amazing. It's very spacious and well furnished. By and large, it's very quiet - as I said earlier, you will hear the neighbors from time to time, but that is the only outside noise you'll hear. The Apartment is located pretty much at the end of the drive, amongst the cane fields - hence the periodic spider. Paia is a very quick/short drive, and there is an amazing variety of quality restaurants available when you don't want to cook. The rest of the island is a short jaunt away, but the North Shore is breathtakingly beautiful. We drove to Lahaina to explore, and it felt like driving into a desert the closer we got. Returning to the lush area around Paia was a relief.
My mother and I spent a few nights at the Coconut Apartment in Paia. We really enjoyed our stay on the quieter side (not filled with resorts) side of the island, and I have no regrets about staying at Poni's Coconut Apartment. The directions given were perfect. Liam, Poni's friend, was there to greet us and answer our questions about the apartment and the area. The apartment was clean, well furnished, and everything worked. It is located on a quiet road, and seems very secluded, which is exactly what I wanted. Thanks Poni (and Liam)!
The place was okay, a little hard to find at night with no lights on but not too bad. Some things could be a little cleaner as well. We did see a few cockroaches in the kitchen, but nothing too scary. Overall, I felt like the place was OK, but was a little disappointed with the owner (Poni) trying to add extra charges after the booking (in addition to the extra 13+% tax that was mentioned in the original booking). The issue was worked out but did frustrate me. Personally, I think the place was a little overpriced for a 1-bedroom downstairs apartment (some noise could be heard from upstairs). However, the location is pretty nice, close to the Airport, Paia and the beaches, as well as some nice restaraunts. So if you don't mind the above, I think you would be fine staying here.
I debated whether or not to write this review, but I think it's good to have realistic expectations. In sum, 4 stars for the Blue Room and 2 stars for Poni, averaged to 3.
We booked the Coconut apartment for 1 night only for my husband, our toddler, and me. I booked a 1-bedroom because toddlers nap and go to bed early, and nothing stinks more on vacation than sitting quietly in a studio.
But I was contacted by Poni afterward that she didn't want to block it for one night because it might impact her ability to book it for a week before/after and asked if she could put us in an equivalent or better place. I totally understand the dilemma and said it would be ok and just asked her to please let me know if she moved us.
When we arrived at 2:30 pm and followed the instructions that were included in the confirmation text I received the day before (no other communication from Poni), the door to the apartment was locked. I called Poni and she first argued with me that we had arrived on the wrong day, but eventually apologized for her mistake and arrived quickly to take us to the Hideaway apartment she said was available.
Once we got there, she said that it needed to be cleaned, but we needed to put our daughter down for her nap, so I asked if we could put her crib in one of the rooms while the rest of the apartment was cleaned. Then Poni proceeded to explain that she's the owner, not the cleaner, and she'd clean it if she had to, but she just had a procedure done on her back and really really didn't think she should do it.
I'm not sure why she offered originally if that were the case, but we're not jerks, so of course we didn't press it. Instead she put us in the Blue Room, 1 room of a shared 3-bedroom apartment. It wasn't ideal, but it worked out ok. The other guests were understanding and fortunately our daughter didn't wake up in the middle of the night or at 5 am like she has been.
I did feel like we were baited and switched with the way Poni handled everything. I reserved/paid for a 1-bedroom for a reason, and she kept emphasizing the $30 she was returning (which wasn't quite the difference, though close enough). Had she been forthcoming when I booked and simply cancelled our reservation, I would have understood and could have found something more suitable.
That said, the Blue Room and its corresponding apartment were cute and clean. The Blue Room was WAY too tight for 2 adults + a crib, but it would (email hidden) without a child for a short stay. For a longer stay, I suggest reserving a room with private bathroom at least. There's a nice patio and kitchen, and it's a very short walk from the beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful vibe and good energy of the coconut apartment. It (email hidden) with beautiful teak floors, great big windows with views of Bamboo and Hawain plants/flowers.
We persoanlly loved being so close to Mana (awesome health food store in Paia). We were there a lot. Yum-Yum!
The only down side was the noise form the apartment upstairs. I must admit that we were early to bed most nights, but I was jolted awake a few times by the upstairs tenants just living their lives. They were not doing anything out of the ordinary.
I might actually consider trying that apartment out next time to eliminate the noise element.
Overall, great stay. Felt amazing not to be in a resort or condo during our stay. We were really happy to have found this place.
This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the final rate, including VAT along with fees from the host and Airbnb.
This is the fee charged by Airbnb
This is the fee charged by Airbnb and includes VAT