Cosy artisan home +sunny garden in unique setting
Cosy artisan home +sunny garden in unique setting


Entire home/apt

4 Guests

2 Bedrooms

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing


Something different - charming 1930's style terraced houses beside river and park, this cosy, quiet home in leafy Rathgar is only 5 minutes walk from busy village with its boutiques, pubs, restaurants and bookshops. Central Dublin only 10 min by Luas tram. Free parking outside the door - heaven!


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: 1PM - 6PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $58
Security Deposit: $230
Weekly Discount: 24%
Weekend Price: $132 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Description

The space

Cosy living room connects to dining area and compact kitchen which opens onto a large deck and pretty, very private garden.

Upstairs, two small double bedrooms with antique cast iron double beds in each beside toilet and shower.

On arrival, you will find everything you need in fridge or store cupboard to rustle up a delicious breakfast or snack after your journey.

Modern double glazed windows throughout.

The peaceful south facing back garden is a beautiful space where you can sip your morning coffee in privacy - plan your day to the sound of birdsong. Later, after a long day in the city, relax and maybe cook something delicious on the barbecue!

Guest access

The entire house can be made available for guests with the exception of a tiny office. Check in is before 2pm if possible but we will try to facilitate you - and preferably check out before 12 noon. I can also make one bedroom available to a couple for (min/max) 3 nights.

Interaction with guests

I look forward to meeting and greeting my guests whenever possible, making them welcome and assisting them in any way I can to find their way around. I am only a phone call away if they have any queries or problems during their stay.

The neighborhood

This is such a unique and special neighbourhood - you really don't need a car! At one end of the street is a little walkway to the river bank - then over the footbridge into Dartry park - great for jogging, dog walking or just strolling among the tall trees - turn left to the weir where you can stand and watch the herons and cormorants drying their wings. Keep walking straight on beside the river, under the bridge and pick up a newspaper or coffee at the Kiosk. Coninue up the hill to the buzzing neighbourhood of Raathgar with its Organic Supermarket, coffee shops and restauarants. Then through the next park and further along the banks of the Dodder, full of wild life. The other direction brings you to the famous Dropping Well Pub - all 5 minutes from my home! Cross the road to the Luas Tram stop and be in St Stephens Green in 10 minutes, or continue walking along the river all the way to Ballsbridge!

Getting around

Yes - a bus at the end of the road which brings you into the city, or the Luas Tram just 10 minutes walk from the house. More buses available at Rathgar village only 5 minutes from the house.

Other things to note

I can give you lots of tips and information about some of the many great places Dublin has to offer - from restaurants and pubs to theatres, galleries and places of historical and cultural interest - or maybe you just want to soak up the atmosphere and go shopping! My home is also within short driving distance of Dunlaoghaire, Bray and Graystones - all beside the sea with wonderful views, walks and more great places to eat!


House Rules
Check in time is 1PM - 6PM

Just to respect my little home and its contents - treat it as if it was your own! I have a green bin in the garden for fruit and vegetable waste, another outside the door for recyclable materials. Please no smoking though!


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
7 nights minimum stay

17 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Declan User Profile
January 2017
It was a magical stay at Andrea’s place. The location was very convenient for variety of reasons: within walking distance to the Luas (the light rail tram system into the city center) and to surrounding shops and restaurants, in addition to some lovely nearby parks. The house was warm and cozy with a beautiful back garden to gaze into during the rainy days, along with good lighting and comfortable furniture and beds, and well-working heating, shower, dishwasher and washing machine. The owner does live in the house full-time during the rest of the year, but although there were personal touches throughout the home, there were plenty of empty closets, dressers and hooks to use and it felt spacious. The neighborhood also felt very safe. The owner of the property could not have been nicer or more welcoming; she was also available throughout our stay for any needs or questions. In addition there were neighbors who were friendly and available in case of emergency. I would highly recommend this Airbnb during your stay in Dublin.

Kai User Profile
July 2016
Fast things first. Everything was perfect and we really had a great, relaxing time in Andrea´s house. Marina, Andrea´s neighbor ,showed us around and a snack was waiting on our arrival. The written information Andrea prepared for her guests were very helpful. We slept well in the two large bedrooms, enjoyed the well equipped kitchen, and relaxed in the really nice living room. Most of the time we spend in the lovely, beautiful garden. Much more time than in the city to be honest. We didn`t used the bus or LUAS Tram lines. We rented two bikes instead. A really great way to get around in Dublin. Next time we travel to Dublin with the whole family, Andrea`s home will be our first choice. Thank you so much

Gary User Profile
October 2015
Excellent experience. Andrea reached out prior to us leaving U.S to ensure no changes to plan. Upon arrival, gave us the tour and explained everything in depth. Very flexible with our arrival time, which is great with two young kids. House was as described, neighboorhood was great with easy access to everything. Nice neighbours too. Kids loved playing in the garden. Great value for money.

Alan User Profile
August 2015
Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Andrea in person, but we were made very welcome by her neighbour and shown where all the important stuff was. The house was delightful, clearly lived-in and well looked after. The garden is a joy also. It is in a good location if you are travelling into Dublin by public transport, or south of Dublin by car. Getting to the north of Dublin is a bit of a journey. Finding lots of stuff in the cupboards and fridge was a bonus - I hope we left as much as we used!
Andrea User Profile
Response from Andrea:
After almost two years of hosting and welcoming guests from all over the world, family commitments finally caught up with me and I had to travel to the UK for an important event. However, I am always aware that guests might need some help during their stay and am extremely lucky to have such wonderful neighbors only 2 doors away. In fact this was the first time I have not been here to greet my visitors! So apologies to the Rolfes'! My house information contains everything I can think of and includes clear information about how to work the washing machine and dishwasher - basically quite simple but due the advanced age of the appliances I no longer have the original instructions!
August 2015

Bri User Profile
June 2015
Andrea was warm and welcoming and had a lovely home. She left us breakfast foods and tea to get us started and list of sights she thought that we'd be interested in seeing. We loved her garden and also the location! Perfectly close to the heart of Dublin but far enough that you aren't in the hustle and bustle. We would absolutely stay with her again.

Alexandra User Profile
June 2015
Andreas home was lovely and well kept . She greeted us the morning we arrived and was so kind to have breakfast food in the fridge for us and tea ready . We travelled for 13 hours to get there so it was wonderful that breakfast was in the fridge. Beautiful quiet location . 15 min walk to Luas train station that gets you to downtown core in about 20 min . If you plan on being downtown everyday late at night then it's a little far . However very easy and convenient away from the hustle and bustle at night . The beds were extremely comfortable , hangers were provided which was nice. Beautiful kitchen area lots of cooking equipment ,spices and oils provided. Spacious backyard , cozy living room space . Andrea could of supplied more pamphlets for ideas in and around Dublin in her home to get a grasp on things a little better right off the bat. However all in all it was a lovely stay and I would recommend her home toy family and friends so why not you ! Safe travels

Guido User Profile
March 2015
Andrea's place is a lovely house located in Churchtown, just 20-30 minutes from Dublin Centre by bus or car. The house is lovely with a fully equipped kitchen and a beautiful garden!!! The 2 bedrooms (upstairs) are awesome with sight to the street and the garden on the backyard. The only catch with this place is that you won't want to leave!!! If you have a car you can park it just outside, if not you can just move around a little with lovely places or take the bus or tram to the city centre for a little more action!!! I stayed here during St Patrick's day and we didn't have Ani issues moving around the city. I can't recommend it enough!

This host has 69 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Dublin, Ireland · Joined in November 2013
Andrea User Profile

I really enjoy lots of things! Cooking, ethnic food, live music, singing, walking, the countryside, movies, reading, vintage shops and markets, travelling when I can - especially to France where I try to speak as much French as possible! I'd love to travel more - who knows where I might end up! And of course - meeting people from anywhere and everywhere!

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.