User Profile Image

Private room close to the shore/NYC

United StatesNew JerseyHazlet
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
Per Night
Your credit card won’t be charged
228 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Private bedroom in a two story home with an in ground pool and colorful backyard, great for long term stays.

Private room close to the shore/NYC

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: $200
Weekly discount: 15%
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

The room has a full sized bed, desk, dresser, and large closet with a small bookcase for additional storage space. There are two windows overlooking the front yard. There is not a private bathroom in the room but the main upstairs bathroom is rarely in use when needed and there is a half bathroom downstairs as well.

The bedroom does not have a TV but HBOGo & Netflix are easily accessible with our guest login information.

Guest Access

Guest are welcome to use our common areas as they would in their own home: kitchen, living room, bathrooms, large backyard, & front porch.

Our kitchen is well stocked with cookware and appliances and great for cooking meals. If you don't cook there are a number of great delivery and take out options in our area.

Our living room has a nice high def TV w. cable, HBO, Netflix, HuluPlus, and a dvd/bluray player. If you enjoy videogames we also have PS3.

Our backyard is large with many places to relax & our pool is open in the summer months.

Interaction with Guests

I am retired so I am home pretty often and can usually be found in the garden or kitchen. I often make pancakes and coffee in the morning for those of you who rise early & enjoy breakfast. Although I am typically home there is a lot of space in the house whether it be indoor or outside so if you like to keep to yourself you will still be afforded privacy.

My daughter lives with me as well and typically shows guests around town and sometimes the shore & NYC if they are interested. She has created a local guide folder which you can find in your room.

I have two dogs which love to play fetch outside but will also let you keep to yourself if you aren't a dog person.

The Neighborhood

My neighborhood is a residential suburb and our block is very private and quiet. Lots of bunnies running around although in the past 10-15 years we've lost a lot of our trees and nature to new houses and businesses being built. Behind my home is wooded area which is nice to see from the house and also while hanging out in the backyard. In the summer it looks beautiful and lush against an already lush garden.

There are local parks 10/15 minutes away by car which have nice hiking trails and picnic opportunities.

A large movie theater is 10 minutes away and has all of the new releases and sometimes independent films. On Tuesdays tickets are $5.

There are several bowling alleys and bars scattered around the area as well, both in our town and surrounding towns.

Most of the shops and restaurants are corporate establishments but many small businesses are scattered around our town and the surrounding towns.

We are a landlocked town but many beaches are within a 20/30 minute drive. Belmar is 30 minutes away. Seaside is 1 hour away, Wildwood is 2 hours away. Most beaches are accessible by train.

Red Bank is about 20 minutes away, it is a small city within our county. Famous for Bruce Springsteen and Bon Jovi sightings as well as Kevin Smith's comic book shop. Lots of good restaurants there too. Accessible by train.

NYC is one hour away by train, about 40 minutes by car.

Getting Around

Public transportation is convenient to NYC, the shore, and the airport but otherwise it is best to have a car. The local train station is a 15/20 minute walk away.

If you are flying into EWR airport it is very easy to arrive to my home by taking the train. It costs about $15 and takes about 30 minutes and I can pick you up at our stop.

If you are driving in or will be renting a car there is plenty of street parking on my block and directly in front of my home. It is very private and safe.

Other Things to Note

In case you missed it noted above, I do have two dogs. They are very friendly and well behaved. They will approach you when you first arrive but if you don't want to interact they are very astute and will not approach you again.

For those interested in staying for a month or more: I have a washer/dryer but because of a previous incident I don't allow my guests to use the washer/dryer on their own. In the past I have done guest laundry for free but moving forward I am charging $15 a month which will be collected the first week of the month with the first batch of laundry. If this isn't convenient there are local laundromats in the area.


House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in is after 12PM (noon)

Peace and quiet is important so please keep noise to a reasonable level.

I am only hosting long term guests (1 month+). I provide cleaning supplies in the kitchen so please use them to keep your room clean. I keep the common areas clean including the bathrooms and I will wash your sheets weekly but your room is your responsibility to keep clean and in order.

No smoking.


Availability
20 nights minimum stay

Private room close to the shore/NYC

Your Host


Alta

Alta

New Jersey, United States · Member since August 2011

Hello! I live in a quiet neighborhood in central NJ located 60 minutes to NYC, 30 minutes to Asbury Park/Long Branch, and 60 minutes to Seaside Heights. About a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the train station which brings you north to NYC or south to the beaches. Two rooms are available for short trips or long stays.

Response rate: 0%(past 30 days)
Response time: a few days or more

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Hazlet