Sunny Room 1/2 Block from L Train!

Apartment - Private room · Starr Street, Brooklyn, NY 11237, United States
Erica And Jorel

Lots of sunlight, wood flrs, and beautiful exposed brick wall. This comfortably fits 2 ppl. This is a very private room, away from the other bedrooms facing the street.

Your host, Erica And Jorel
26 Reviews
Response rate: 98%
Response time: within a few hours

Lots of sunlight, wood flrs, and beautiful exposed brick wall. This comfortably fits 2 ppl. This is a very private room, away from the other bedrooms facing the street.

The Space

- We are located on the same block as the Jefferson stop on the L Train. This train takes us directly to Untion Square in exactly 14min. In our area there is nothing as new, clean, close to the train, and close to the most amazing shops and bars in our neighborhood.
- This upstairs bedroom has direct light and exposed brick. It's the perfect size for a single person or a couple.
- And depending upon request we can offer the entire apartment, all 4 rooms at the same time depending on the intended length of your stay. You could easily house 4 couples in this configuration and maybe a 9th and 10th person on our air mattress!

-All of the rooms are totally private with locking doors.
-We have 1.5 bathrooms. Full bathroom upstairs, half is downstairs.
-Exposed Brick and Hardwood floors.
- Very comfortable beds. Fresh Linens and Towels.
- Coffee and snacks every morning.

There are two other rooms with potential availability in our home. So if you're traveling in a group make sure to look at all of our listings.

Guest Access

Laundry in building!!!
Backyard with Apple trees, and a Fire Pit, with BBQ possibility.
Awesome Bars! It's very easy to just stay in this neighborhood.
The greatest Taqueria (maybe on Earth?). Also nothing there costs more than $6!
Totally amazing restaurants, from French, to New american, to brick oven Italian style pizza.
A local Park for indigenous people watching.
AGAIN, 45 second walk to "Jefferson" stop on the L train.

The kitchen and bathroom upstairs is a shared area.

Interaction with Guests

Erica and Jorel will be here during your stay. We will totally be available for you, to help you understand the city. You can text, call, or email us anytime. And depending on what you're looking to experience, Erica or Jorel will have recommendations.

There is a backyard with a fire pit/BBQ with access through Jorel or Erica's rooms. We'll be happy to let you out there when we're home, or you can join us when we BBQ!

Erica also has a car, so depending on her availability she'll take you to and from airports for a fraction of what a cab would cost. Just ask her about it ahead of time.

We highly recommend shooting us an email to tell us when you are hoping to stay with us, and we can give you an immediate idea of all the possibilities. Plus the third room could always be available if Jorel is going away so write to us anytime to say hello, and we'll answer any questions:

The Neighborhood

A flourishing artist community has existed in Bushwick for decades and has now become one of the most lively art communities in New York City. Dozens of art studios and galleries are scattered throughout the neighborhood along with countless music venues, bars and restaurants. There are several open studios programs that help the public visit artist studios and galleries and a number of websites dedicated to promoting neighborhood art and events.

Some restaurants, music venues, and bars we love:
Guacuco
Tortilleria Mexicana Los Hermanos
Roberta's Pizza
Northeast Kingdom
Radio Bushwick
Heavy Woods
Silent Barn
Secret Project Robot
The Loom
Low Brow Artique
The Living Gallery
Tutu's
House of Yes
Eastern District
English Kills Art Gallery
The Cobra Club
Goodbye Blue Monday
Momo Shushi Shack
Dear Bushwick
El Mio Cid
Mominette
Café Ghia

Getting around

Again...Yes, the L train is conveniently located ON OUR BLOCK.
The train makes commuting very easy into other neighborhoods:
- 8-10 minutes from Williamsburg
- 13 minutes to the East Village
- 15 minutes to Union Square (Holiday Market and shopping)
- 35 minutes to Rockefeller Center (ice skating, christmas tree)
- 40 minutes away from Central Park

From JFK:
- Subway: Take the ACE line and transfer to the L train.

From LaGuardia:
- Mass transit is tricky, we suggest a fairly inexpensive yellowcab ride (about $30 with tip, depending on traffic) to our place.

Other Things to Note

We do have 2 cats that mostly stay in Erica's Room. And from time to time Jorel has a beautiful, loving dog that also mostly stays in his room. But the dog is only in the apartment about 10 days out of each month.

The Rental rooms never have any pets in them, so you most likely won't even know they are here.

There is free street parking on our block, yoga, Indian Food, 3 great bars and a 24 hour gormet food store around the corner!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Extra people: $20 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $25
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Eric and Jorel were amicable, generous and extremely flexible with my booking. This was my first stay using airbnb, and it was a very positive experience- I felt right and home and settled even though I came in groggy and shuffling from an international flight- the place is a short cab ride from JFK, as well. It's also sitting almost on top of the L train stop, which is extremely convenient for getting around Brooklyn and the city. In addition, both of them took time to hang around the neighborhood when I had downtime leading up to a job interview, helped me figure out how to get around the city and arranged for a cab the night before I was to leave for an early flight.

    Thanks for a great stay!

    June 2014
  • Erica was an excellent hostess--made me feel at home, was very easy to communicate with regarding my arrival time, and promptly addressed any questions I had. I left a day earlier than planned, but this had nothing to do with my hosts or the facility.

    June 2014
    Erica And Jorel
    Response from Erica And Jorel:

    Thanks for the info Paul! I appreciate it.

    June 2014
  • Erica and her place were great! Clean, nice place in a happening part of town.

    June 2014
  • It was definitely bad experience. My brother and I went to NY for a few days and before we leave our country I asked Erica if she could take care of my orders from Apple and amazon. She said yes. The plan was to make my orders before I arrive in NY and when I get there everything will be there in the room for me. It turned out to be a total disaster because Erica never bothered to tell us that the delivery company should dial a password in the front door of the building and what happened is that one of the packages were stolen and I almost missed a Mac Pro 2013 of more than 5.000 dollars after their trying to deliver multiple times. I needed to apologize for all the companies saying that I didn't know the place was so messy to receive packages. Erica never warned us, she just said we could order and everything would be ok. Hugh? Not to be sufficient, she never told us that there was a password to get into the building and what happened is that my brother, that arrived in an earlier flight than me, got into her address and took about half an hour to get inside. As he didn't have the roaming in his celular phone abled, he needed to call to Brazil to ask someone to call Erica to open the door. It took him about half an hour until she got there and while waiting there was a lot of strange people outside staring at him with all his luggages. Than later I got there and fortunately my brother was there to open the door for me, but when I got inside the room was cramped with a single bed, no TV, no air conditioning, nothing. I though I did the wrong decision choosing this room for both of us but that was ok if we were there just to stay a few days. We've had some terrible nights sleeping both at the same single bed and some noisy early morning because of the sounds coming from the street directly to our window. In our last day, there was another girl checking out from another Erica's room. She left the door of her room opened after leaving it and we could see inside and realise that this one was the sunny private room we've been hiring. A much bigger and comfortable bed with a balcony, TV, games, quiet etc... I got feed up with Erica's total lack of concern with us. She was not prepared to receive us and after booking we and another girl to the same room she decided on the last minute to alocate us in her worst front room. The only good thing is that she was always prompted to help us but I got discouraged after my first trial. We knocked her door at 10:30 am to ask about the nearest subway and she attended us disheveled, wearing pajamas...

    June 2014
    Erica And Jorel
    Response from Erica And Jorel:

    Hi Leandro,

    I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay! I'd like to address and clarify the issues you mentioned in hopes that you can understand that there were some communication errors that happened most likely due to the language barrier. I give a lot of thought and put a lot of care into running my bnb and usually have wonderful experiences with my guests. I'm very disappointed that we were unable to understand each other and I hope to improve my ability to communicate with guests who don't speak English. I do speak some Spanish, but unfortunately no Portuguese.

    For future reference, when you book through air bnb, you book the specific room in the description and photograph. I don't choose for you in any way. The bigger room is a completely separate listing, "Master Bedroom", and is priced higher. You had access to that room at the time of booking. All three of our rooms are completely separate listings and I in no way choose the room for you. I even specify in the listing of the room that it is small although it is absolutely normal in size for NYC.

    I'm sorry you had problems getting in! I know it can be overwhelming traveling and simple things like buzzing an apartment # can become confusing. I don't give out the door code because we need to hear the doorbell which is located on the outside of the building. If you came into the hall, you'd only be able to knock and I won't hear from downstairs. I've given this strategy a lot of thought in order to minimize guest ending up stuck outside, or rather in the hallway if you did have the code and were knocking at the door of the large apartment. The apartment # is listed in the information about the apartment and I absolutely hear you when you buzz. This system usually works well, I'm sorry he had trouble with the doorbell system! I gave the door code to your brother after check in, which is my policy.

    I've never before had any problems with packages in the past, guests receive packages regularly. From now on I will explain that if you order something, that is completely at your digression and I can't be responsible. I've never needed to include the door code for shipping, so I didn't think of it! Usually things are ordered online and they don't specifically ask for this.

    Finally, we have air conditioning! I gave your brother a full walk through of the house the night he arrived and showed him. I was aware that his English was limited but did my best to communicate. I also told him I work nights and was surprised to be woken by you in the morning. I understand that this was a language issue, though I've given orientations to people with limited English. I even followed up with an email to you to make sure you understood some of what we covered; wifi, communal food, lists of local restaurants. I knew that there were communication problems, we should have figured out a system to communicate. I will give this some thought.

    Anyway, I hope that you have better experiences in the future. Please know I am an individual inviting you into my home, it's ideally an experience of mutual respect and communication. This can be difficult sometimes with the language barrier, but it can also be surmounted. I intend to try harder in the future to make sure my guests understand me.

    Erica

    June 2014
  • Erica and Jorel's place was perfect for a night in Brooklyn -- they were very accommodating for a last-minute check-in, and the room was clean and private, close to the best parts of Bushwick and only a subway stop or quick cab ride from Williamsburg. There were other guests staying here as well, all super nice and friendly. Thanks for having us!

    May 2014
  • I had an awesome stay at Erica´s place. The apartment is amazing, artsy, clean, very quit, and a great stay in New York. Internet is very fast. There is lot´s of stuff you can do in the neighbourhood, restaurants, coffee shops, bars, a park nearby, and the surrounding streets are full of amazing street art. I skipped some Manhatten days just to hang around in the flat and the neighborhood. Erica is properbly one of the nicest persons you can meet in New York, and I´m looking forward to visit her place again.

    May 2014
  • Great room in a fun part of Brooklyn. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Erica was very helpful and pointed us towards good places to eat and drink and gave us some useful pointers. On the right side of town for JFK (i.e quicker / cheaper transfer!).

    Clean, friendly and convenient. Thanks Erica!

    April 2014
  • Erica and Jorel are very nice hosts, their appartment is very conveniently located and quiet! This is definitely a very good address to visit NYC.

    April 2014
  • We had an absolutely great time at Erica's and Jorel's place. The room was clean and nice, fresh towels und an amazing bathroom. Erica is very communicative, hospital and courteous. She even booked some events for us and helped us planing our stay in NY. The house is very close to the L-Train, which makes the location very comfortable as starting point of manhattan-trips. Highly recommended!!!!

    March 2014
  • This was a great apartment! I booked a few weeks in advance and they got back to me right away. We met with Erica the morning we flew into NY and she was so sweet. The apartment was clean and modern and conveniently located near the Jefferson stop.

    This was a great introduction to Air BnB and I'd definitely stay here again.

    March 2014
Per Month
From
$65
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 230 times
Languages
English, Français, Italiano
School
San Francisco School of the Arts, The New School
About
We are two artists living in Bushwick Brooklyn. Erica is a classically trained musician and recording engineer. Jorel is a Filmmaker/Photographer. We have a beautiful home and love to host people from around the world. Jorel has lived in Europe for over 7 years and speaks some Italian and French. Erica was partially raised in Central America, even though her Spanish in now limited, she loves to try.
View full profile
Response Rate
98%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
6 days ago
Similar Listings