Green 'n Gold Guestroom

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Shrub Hollow Road, Roslyn, NY 11576, United States
Geri
Your host, Geri
2 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

This spacious room is on the first floor of my home. It is bright, cheerful, and very comfortable. The bathroom is just across the hall and features a HUGE bathtub and brand new fixtures. The style of this room is eclectic, with lots of different styles of furniture (think WEDDING theme of something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue) and you'll see why it's a family favorite.

The house is large, open and airy, and guests are welcome to lounge in the den or the living room. Meals are eaten in the dining room or large, eat-in kitchen. The appliances for cooking are the most efficient Viking and Sub-Zero brands on the market. The dishwasher is a Bosch brand and runs so quietly that you don't even know when it's "on". Be careful when you open it!

There are lots of restaurants and shops within a few blocks of the house, and of course there are malls, theaters, and restaurants galore all over Long Island and in New York City, which is only about 30-45 minutes away, via car or train.

The Long Island Railroad service is frequent and there are many stations to choose from should you choose to use them to commute to NYC. MIneola, Manhasset, Albertson, and Williston Park LIRR stations are all within walking distance from the house (.8 miles is the closest one - 2.5 miles is the furthest one) and there are buses that also serve
the area (within about 6 blocks of the house).

My house is unique in that it is very large, yet very cozy. There are areas in the home for quiet reading and relaxing but if you want to engage in lively conversations, there is always someone willing to chat, or listen while you do. I love my home, and I love sharing it with people from all over the world. It represents the best of what Long Island has to offer.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $400 /week
Monthly Price: $1500 /month
Cleaning Fee: $10
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
  • I loved staying with Tom and Geri! They made my stay as comfortable as possible, and they were so great to come home to and just vent about the day. I missed them before I even left, and would definitely stay here again if I had the chance to back in the area! Geri always asked me if I needed anything else, and Tom makes the best brownies (and popcorn!). You would be missing out if you didn't take the opportunity to stay with them!

    June 2014
    Geri
    Response from Geri:

    Hi Sarah - we will most certainly keep in touch! Give us a call when you are done with your Chicago rounds and you can come for a visit, and ping pong tournament, any time that you are available. It was a pleasure getting to know you and I enjoyed your company. Fondly, Geri

    June 2014
  • I admit I was a bit hesitant about the airbnb concept. Geri hugged me when I arrived and I knew all would be fine. She and Tom have a gracious and spacious home. They were always going out of their way to make sure the other guests and me were fine. The house is in a lovely, safe suburban neighborhood. "My" room was exactly as advertised- large, airy with lots of built ins and windows that opened from both the top and the sides. The room and shared bath were spotless. Fresh sheets and duvet as well as fluffy towels were a welcome touch. I was preoccupied with the both of my first grandchild but next time I look forward to getting to know Geri and Tom better!

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$75
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 5 times
School
Benjamin N. Cardozo High School, Baruch College, Queensborough CUNY, Hofstra University
Work
New York, New York
About
I'm originally from Indiana, and moved to NY when I was 7. I have been married to my husband, Tom ( a native New Yorker) , for 28 years and we have 4 grown children. We both love meeting new people, reading, skiing, traveling, and hosting guests in our beautiful home. I am a 4th grade teacher in Brooklyn, a borough of NYC, and my husband is a retired NYC firefighter who owns and manages a sign and awning business. I like to bake, decorate, organize, play piano, take photographs, spend time with my adult children, garden, read, and relax in the backyard. My husband likes to garden, swim, walk, watch the Yankees, BBQ, and spend time with family and friends. We have a great relationship and we are each others' best friends. Our motto is "Find work that you like, and you'll never work a day in your life." and we are both fortunate in that we love our jobs. Another motto that we have live by is to "Live beneath your means." and that has served us very well over the years. We are easy-going but hard-working people and we take pleasure in our home and surroundings. We started hosting on airbnb to help pay for our daughters' wedding (in October 2014) and our son's college (he graduates in 2016) but have loved the experience and meeting so many new people that we will continue hosting for many more years. We love our house, and you will too!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago
Similar Listings