Charming vintage guest house !!

House - Entire home/apt · N Kerby Ave, Portland, OR 97217, United States

The Space

Welcome to my Charming vintage guest house centrally located in one of the Portland oldest historic neighborhood in North Portland. Very close proximity to North Mississippi and NE Alberta Arts business districts and 5 min drive to downtown Portland.

It's 3bedrooms + 1 bath house. 1600sq. I have 5 beddings. (2 queen beds, 2 double beds and 1 single portable futon per your request).

The house is built in 1919 and maintains all historic charm. The house has old wood floor throughout the main floor. There are two bedrooms in downstairs and one huge bedroom in upstairs. 2 guest bedrooms in downstairs are charmingly decorated with very comfortable queen sized bed with organic cotton sheets, Indonesian teak bench, Japanese antique prints, large closet and sunny large window. Upstairs room is carpeted, huge space with a double beds, comfy chair and TV with basic cable. There is Wi-Fi throughout the house.

The bathroom is equipped with all the amenities you need such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryer, and plenty of towels. Cozy and clean with shower room with vintage tiles (No tub).

Living room and dining room are filled with natural lights, very spacious and cozy place to relax. There is a small balcony right off of dining room which is covered by lovely grape vine. Mexican hammock is there for you to read and relax in the afternoon or in the evening with lanterns on for summer. There is a cozy fire place in the living room to curl up and relax in winter. The kitchen is large and fully equipped with all the items for you to prepare any meal you like. Microwave and dishwasher are also available for your convenience.

I also have a super adorable brick covered back patio that you can relax or dine anytime you would like. Covered front porch with vintage tile floor is also a great spot to relax.

There will be an assortment of teas and organic coffee for you to enjoy :)

The house is in an excellent location in Inner Portland with easy access to public transportation and highways. Walking distance to organic grocery store called New Seasons, and incredible Rose Garden, Peninsula Park. You can go take a nap in this absolutely adorable and peaceful Rose Garden. For dining and shopping, there are artsy Mississippi district and Alberta Arts district close by which are full of great restaurants, cafes, shops and Yoga studios. You can either walk (30min) bike (15min) or take a bus (5min) there. We are also 10 min drive or 15 min direct bus ride to downtown and 15 min drive to the airport.
Bus stops are only a couple of blocks away from my house. Our house is on a bus line #4 and #6 via N. Mississippi biz district to downtown and Yellow Max Train (To Downtown/Airport).

There is a very nice tennis courts in the rose garden only 5 min walk from my house. Free to use and I have rackets and balls you can borrow !

Please include information about yourself when you make a reservation. I love traveling and love meeting travelers and share stories. I would be happy to share any information about our lovely city

Thanks for checking my ad and feel free to email me any inquiry you have. I look forward to seeing you all !

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 7
Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 5
Extra people: $25 / night after 4 guests
Security Deposit: $200
Cleaning Fee: $70
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We never met Riko but her communication was easy to follow and straightforward. She left little notes in various places in the house which was helpful. She also had a helpful coffee table guide which we used for restaurants etc.
    The house itself was ok but I agree with someone else who reviewed saying that the photos are a little misleading. This place needs some new paint and a deep clean to raise the standard.
    It was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay but we did have higher expectations.

    April 2014
  • Our group of 4 adults enjoyed our recent stay for 3 nights at Riko's guest house. This was our first trip to Portland and Riko made herself available to answer questions if they came up. Her suggestions were spot on. We ran out of matches to light the fire and she dropped off a fresh box the next day. Quite a hostess! We didn't cook, but the kitchen was adequate. The dining room would be great for a family meal. Complimentary coffee and teas were provided. The hammock was a perfect place to take a nap in the sun. Oh, and she stocks lots of great magazines for your reading pleasure. A vacation must in my book. Thanks again Riko!

    April 2014
  • Our stay met our needs but we were somewhat disappointed in the condition of the property. The posted pictures were obviously taken at an earlier time. It appears that someone lives there part time, hence the private stickers on closets and drawers and the leftover collection of stuff in the basement. We found several surprises, coffee maker not cleaned, rotting orange under the couch and the kitchen towels still in the washer with the mop heads...The best bed is the one on the ground floor in the back bedroom.
    The location was fine for our needs. The neighborhood is filled with interesting houses. Many stairs so not suitable for those physical challenges.

    April 2014
    Riko
    Response from Riko:

    Thank you for your constructive criticism on my property Francine. We appreciate you are in landlord business for 40years hence your critical view.
    This property is used solely for rental purposes and nobody lives here. As you can see, you were the first person to criticize in our house condition in such a way. Our place looks exactly same as picture images provide. (They were taken less than a year ago.)
    We have a temporary cleaning crew due to the previous one quit suddenly. We will make sure that new cleaning crew will do a better job.
    We apologize for some surprises caused by it. Thank you for staying in our guesthouse. We will continue to do a better job to keep the property without any error.

  • My stay at Riko's was quite enjoyable. I didn't arrive until around midnight the day I got there, but finding the house was easy and getting in was no issue. The house was clean and there was good kitchen utensils to prepare meals with. Although I didn't meet Riko face-to-face there was a really good amount of information she has prepared to give her guests something to look through if they are looking for ideas of what to do. Great place overall!

    March 2014
  • My group and I had a great time staying in this home! There was plenty of space, beautiful scenery, an interesting neighborhood, and a central location at our disposal! We had four people staying in the home, and were expecting four bedrooms, but two of the beds are actually together in the upstairs area. The four of us wanted to see all of the nature in the area and experience the nightlife, and everything we wanted to do was in a close proximity to the home. I will stay again if I return to Portland!

    March 2014
  • This was our second stay at Riko's and we were welcomed with the same homey feel as last time. Very comfy, familiar & conveniently located for our needs. Riko has a lovely care for her guests. Her recommendation to Swedeedee was super delicious and we would go back again!

    March 2014
  • We recently stayed in Portland at the Charming Vintage Guesthouse and had such a lovely time! Riko Frohnmayer was the perfect host, and accommodated our every need! When some of our party needed to arrive earlier than planned, she made that possible for us all. Thank you Riko!

    The inside of the home is charming, just as shown on the Airbnb listing. It was actually smaller than it appears in the photos, but was as "neat as a pin" and accommodated seven of us very comfortably, with room for everyone to spread out, relax, have meals, and sleep in- as needed. Thank you again!

    When we first arrived, we weren't sure if we had the right address, because the outside of the house looked different than we had expected. It is very cute, and in a charming neighborhood, but for some reason we weren't sure that we had found the right place. Rest assured if you have the same experience! The home is decorated to ensure full privacy and serenity, and the inside has very calm, peaceful surroundings. A wonderful place to unwind from a fast paced world.

    Riko's suggestions in a well organized notebook, lead us to an organic foodstore within walking distance in the morning. And one of the members in our party found a lovely community hot tub on our first evening, based on her recommendations. You too will enjoy your stay at the Charming Vintage Guesthouse in Portland!

    February 2014
  • Thanks, Riko!

    The accommodations were great. I loved the ease of the automatic check-in, as we were traveling for work and were unsure of our timing.

    Unfortunately, we just happened to be in Portland during snowpocalypse! So we were snowed-in almost the entire time we were there, and all of our meetings were cancelled. Luckily, Riko's house was perfect for this! Think big fireplace, cozy couches, big beds. We were able to walk to a nearby grocery store and get some provisions to cook at home (since the roads weren't plowed and we couldn't drive anywhere). The kitchen is fully stocked, and especially great for making a big pot of Ramen, as we figured out :)

    The beds were incredibly comfortable as well. REALLY comfortable.

    This house could have easily fit 6-7 people, but there were only 3 of us, so it definitely felt spacious.

    Thanks for a great stay, Riko. we will definitely be back!

    February 2014
  • We found the house to be comfortable and it met our expectations in regards to the listing. A huge bonus for us was the beds. They were very comfortable and we were grateful to wake up without stiff backs! The kitchen and bathroom were well equipped and there was easy access to the interstate as well as local restaurants. Riko was responsive to my questions and I appreciated the communication. I agree with another reviewer, there are a lot of notes and reminders around the house and we were terrified about the "no shoes" policy. We were unsure if we could wear our shoes inside the entry area? Did we need to take them off outside? But it was cold outside and we have kids... (Any evidence of shoes being worn in the house and you lose your deposit so we took this seriously.) There was a piece of metal sticking up from the shower drain that was a safety hazard. My husband hammered it down so that we didn't cut our feet. I thought the request for a detailed list of any stains on the sheets was very strange... kind of off-putting... I don't regret my stay at all but will probably choose a different rental the next time we visit Portland.

    January 2014
    Riko
    Response from Riko:

    Amy, I really appreciate your feedback! Yes, bed' mattress Is brand new. Glad you loved it. Really too bad that no shoes policy made you feel somewhat uncomfortable. I really wish that I could have met you face to face and explained you better and made you feel more comfortable about it. Of course you could take off your shoes inside of the house. It's mainly to protect newly changed carpet upstairs and I thought no shoes policy inside of the house is common now and days. . But I understand if you are not accustomed with it, might feel a bit odd. I will make sure to communicate with our future guests better to make them feel at home.
    As for sheets stain, I had several negative experience with blood etc which ruined our great sheets. We thought it is fair to ask guests to declare if these situation happens.
    Thank you for reporting drainage coverage in the shower: we will replace it right away!
    I'm glad overall you had a great stay! We believe directions we provide in our guesthouse is fair and not overwhelming.

  • I very much enjoyed my stay at the charming vintage house! It was cozy, I felt that my instructions were very clear upon renting the house. Riko was incredibly hospitable, and easy to speak with. There was work to be done on the house that weekend, and she was considerate to ask if we would like her to postpone the work if it would be inconvenient for my family and I.
    I recommend this house to any who wish to stay. It was clean and perfect!
    Thank you Riko!

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$140
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 715 times
School
Portland State University, Economics Major
Work
Metro Regional Government
About
Hi there ! Thanks for checking my profile. My name is Riko and I am originally from Kyoto Japan. Living in this loveliest town in Portland for 14 years. I work for Portland' Regional Goverment to make this city even more awesome place. I commute to my work by either bike or bus evreyday. I'm super well travelled. Travelling is my #1 passion in my life. So, I know what travellers' needs are. I know Portland super well. I can give you a ton of great recommendation. I always had this dream of run my own B&B in somewhere tropical. Well, Portland is nowhere near tropical but I hope to get a good start and positive hosting experience with Airbnb. Thanks for reading this and look forwrad to meeting you all! はじめまして!フロンマイヤー理子と申します。京都出身でポートランドには1997年から住んでいます。 仕事はアメリカ政府関連の機関で公務員をしています。 ポートランドには精通しているのでどしどしおすすめ情報をお伝えしますね! 是非ポートランドっぽい生活をこのゲストハウスに滞在されて垣間見てください。 立地条件もとても便利ですよ~。
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings