Near centre, WIFI, buses, quiet

House - Private room · Lytham St, London, SE17, United Kingdom
Marina
Your host, Marina
86 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The Space

**Please note, I cannot take bookings more than 6 weeks in advance**
PLEASE READ ALL INFO and then contact me BEFORE booking

Hello,

I have a room available in my 2-bedroom house in London for you to stay in. It's a quiet house at the end of a cul-de-sac, in Walworth, between Camberwell and Elephant & Castle, in the London borough of Southwark, south of the river. (Famous former residents of the area include Charlie Chaplin and Michael Caine!)

THE AREA:
Walworth is a cheap-and-cheerful, multi-cultural part of London close to the centre with excellent transport links. It's just outside zone 1 - Elephant & Castle station belongs to zones 1 and 2. You can see photos of the area here:
https://www.airbnb.co.uk/locations/london/walworth

The house is only a couple of minutes' walk from the big main street with a Tesco and Morrisons (supermarkets) nearby, as well as a 24-hour Turkish grocery shop which sells lovely fresh produce and a good selection of beer! There are kebab shops, Caribbean food, a nice little pizza restaurant and more, all a short walk away on the main road. There is also a decent sized park nearby if you like jogging.

TRANSPORT:
Lots of buses going in all directions and a brisk 10 minute walk from both Kennington and Elephant & Castle tube stations, you can also get any bus from the main road a few stops to the tube station.

On the bus:
*10 minutes to Waterloo
*20 minutes to London Bridge
*20 minutes to Trafalgar Square
*22 minutes to Victoria
*22 minutes to Piccadilly Circus
*25 minutes to Oxford St.
*30 minutes to King's Cross

Easy access on the bus or tube to the West End and the square mile (St. Paul's, the Gherkin etc.), and on several night bus routes.

THE ROOM:
The room has a double bed, 2 bedside tables, big chest of drawers, wardrobe, desk/dressing table and shelves, all empty for your use. Clean carpet, neutral decor, large window. The house is the last in a cul-de-sac, so the room is very quiet, there is no traffic noise at all.

Clean bedlinen and towels provided.

**There is the option of adding a single bed in this room (no charge), so you would have a double and single bed; this is for 2 single guests or a couple and child, not 3 adults. This does obviously make less space in the room**

THE HOUSE:
My house is a small, clean, quiet townhouse.

The bathroom is near your bedroom. It is shared with me, and I keep it very clean, so it is pleasant to use.

Open plan living room/kitchen with white walls, oak floor and a lovely garden, where you can relax in a deckchair or eat outside (weather permitting).

OTHER:
No cooking please. You can help yourself to tea and coffee. There are sometimes a few breakfast items in the fridge which you are welcome to (bread/jam), but I do not provide breakfast in general, because I don't really eat it myself. Feel free to keep things in the fridge, and use the toaster, kettle and microwave/grill, but no extensive cooking please. This means no oven or hob. I understand some guests like to save money by eating at home but if you are looking to prepare meals then this isn't the place for you :)

CHECK-IN:
Check-in possible after 9.30 a.m. but please note that the room will not be ready yet from the previous guests before noon so if you come earlier it will only be possible to drop off your luggage. I have a lockable storage cupboard outside the front of the house if you'd like to leave your luggage early or while I'm out.

CHECK-OUT:
I'll need the room to be empty by 11 a.m. but for later flights you can leave your luggage, either in the house if I'm around, or in the lockable storage cupboard at the front of the house.

I welcome enquiries about the room - please have a profile photo (which shows your face!) and some information about you :)

I hope to hear from you soon!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $14 / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: $141
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Nice and lovely

    December 2013
  • The room was cute and very clean! Marina was very nice and a great hostess! :) It is located in a cool area.

    November 2013
  • Marina was very welcoming and a great host! She was very welcoming and a great host. The room was really comfortable too and it had everything you'd need.

    I'd highly recommend!

    November 2013
  • for english - scroll down

    ... bewerten also ... mhh... wo anfangen?

    1.) die Unterstützung durch Marina ist toll - Info´s sowohl vorab als auch bei Fragen gibt sie mehr als ausreichend.
    2.) die Lage - ein sehr ruhiges Wohngebiet mit Garten in dem ab und an ein schöner Fuchs vorbeischaut. Ein paar Minuten zu allen Bussen die man braucht, 15 min. zur nächsten U-Bahn - kann man gut zu Fuß gehen und sich umschauen.
    3.) das Zimmer - kleines und feines Schlafzimmer mit Kommode und Einbauschrank - SEHR SAUBER - keinerlei Straßengeräusche oder ähnliches
    4.) Unterkunft - SEHR SAUBER - Bitte Regeln beachten (Schuhe aus...), das Häuschen ist sehr gepflegt, das Bad annähernd neu.
    Marina ist sehr nett und hat Humor.

    klasse Preis/Leistung
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    1) the support from Marina is great - Infos before your journey starts are very good as the infos you get after questioning.
    2) the area - a very calm residential area with garden. Sometimes with a nice fox. :o) - in walking distance you´ll find all the important busses you´ll need. 15 min to the next tube station - by feet - enjoy the streetlife.
    3) the room - small but cosy room - good bed - fitted cupboard - VERY CLEAN - absolutly no noises from the street.
    4) the house - VERY CLEAN - please regard some rules (like -shoes off in the house). The hole house is neat and tidy, the bathroom looks like (close to) new.

    Marina is very nice with a sence of humour.

    GREAT value

    November 2013
  • everything went fine. after a few missunderstandings via text message ;-) , we were on the same sheet of music.
    excellent host and loved the talking session until 3 in the (website hidden) next time! ;-)

    November 2013
  • The COOLEST person ever! =D She was very sweet, accommodating, and helpful. It was incredibly easy to get into the city from her place and a nice and quiet area to sleep in.

    November 2013
  • It is a very calm and pleasant area and the house is very nice.
    The city center is quick to get to.
    Would stay there again!

    October 2013
  • Nice location, nice house, nice host!!! That's all there is to it ;)

    October 2013
  • We sincerely appreciated being able to stay with Marina for four evenings in September. Marina's bus directions to get from the train to her house were spot on. She encouraged us to go back to the South Bank yet late in the afternoon that first day so that we would make good use of our time. We were a little tired from traveling and a little anxious about getting started, but we did and were glad we did. We exchanged a few emails before coming so we felt that this all was going to happen! Marina helped with questions about getting around by bus and told us about the pay-as-you-go oyster card. The room was very comfortable and there was plenty of space for unpacking our things. Her home is very clean and everything we needed was very accessible. We missed our cats so we enjoyed seeing the neighbor cats travel the catwalk on the connecting walls of the neighborhood! All the sights are easy to access by the many bus routes close to her house. Thanks for sharing your space with us, Marina.

    September 2013
  • We enjoyed our stay at Marina's house very much. It was conveniently located close to the buses and she was very helpful in letting us know which buses or tubes to take. The room was small but clean and bright. The wifi worked well and she was very accommodating and welcoming to me and my spouse.
    I would definitely recommend her to anyone wanting to stay in London.

    September 2013
Per Month
From
$79
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 308 times
Languages
English
Work
MA in Theoretical Linguistics
About
I grew up in London and have recently moved to Barcelona, teaching English for the moment. I've rented my spare room and whole house on airbnb since the summer of 2011 and have enjoyed meeting a variety of people. I've travelled quite a bit myself in Europe, the US and Asia. (Several people have asked: yes in one photo I am holding a menorah. I bought it only because I liked its shape - I don't have a religion, but everyone is welcome!)
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
2 months ago
Similar Listings