Old Sonoma home built in 1921

House - Entire home/apt · Fetters Ave, Sonoma, CA 95476, United States
Lorene
Your host, Lorene
18 Reviews
Response rate: 21%
Response time: a few days or more

The Space

This is a quaint home in an old part of Sonoma, near the Fairmont/Sonoma Mission Inn and Spa. It's just 2.5 miles from the charming downtown Sonoma Square that has a beautiful park and great dining. The house has an upstairs bedroom with a queen size bed and separate bathroom with shower. The downstairs there is an office with TV and books and a bedroom with one twin bed. There is a twin bed out on the porch for summer out-door sleeping :)

Out back is a wonderful outdoor setting that is great for entertaining with a fire pit, BBQ, tables and chairs.

There is a separate unit on the property, with a loft, big screen TV, and wireless internet access for both houses. Both houses are for rent, separately or together.

I am a beekeepr, so I do have a hive on my property. The bees leave you alone if you leave them alone. I pass by the hive many times a day and have never been stung. If you rent the main house you would never need to pass by the bees. Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns about this.

UPDATE: I LOST MY HIVE IN WINTER OF 2013 :( So for now, no worries about bees.

Guest Access

Guest can use out-door patio and may need to share back unit space if there are guests. However, what i have found is most folks seem to busy out and about in Sonoma for fire-pit use. So sharing is usually not an issue.

Interaction with Guests

I like to give my guests as much privacy as possible and when both units are rented sometimes I don't even get a chance to meet guests. If I am around I will meet you for check in and then leave you be...unless of course you need me for anything :)

The Neighborhood

It's an old neighborhood with tons of character; wonderful for walking around, lots of winding small streets and hills. The folks in the neighborhood are very friendly too :)

Getting around

There is public transportation, but bus lines are slow. Best way to get around is by Bikes! Or taxi (Verns).

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Extra people: $40 / night after 3 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $1800 /week
Monthly Price: $6900 /month
Cleaning Fee: $65
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • This is a quirky and charming old house with an awesome back yard. It was perfect for us! We were a party of 6 (two couples and two singles). We brought a queen-size air mattress and set it up in the front room. It worked out great. I met Lorene briefly the morning we left, and she was very gracious and friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

    June 2014
  • Lorene has a very cozy and cute home. She was very easy to work with and generous. I rented her home for my friends bachelorette party, and it was the perfect accommodations for us. Very close to lots of wineries and only a 10 minute drive to the beautiful Sonoma plaza. Her home was filled with everything we needed, from a fully stocked kitchen to comfortable seating and sleeping arrangements. I would definitely recommend staying here!

    June 2014
  • Great spot. Thank you very much for letting us stay and being so flexible with us.

    May 2014
    Lorene
    Response from Lorene:

    My pleasure Aj! Glad you enjoyed :)

    May 2014
  • Lorene is very nice, the pictures looked good and the reviews were great, so we were looking forward to our stay. But, the key was not left for us, the interior was dirty and in a state of disrepair, trash was left in the trashcan, expired food was in the refrigerator, and there was no goodie basket as mentioned in the description. It did not appear that she was ready for us and we didn't trust that the mismatched linens had been cleaned, so we washed them ourselves. The next morning we were trying to figure out why it looked nothing like the pictures and realized that the furniture was rearranged, so we moved it back to how it was pictured, which was more comfortable. The house is really beat-up and needs a lot of work and new furnishings, and the bathrooms are not very functional.

    Lorene said she felt awful and offered to have the place cleaned again or monetary compensation, but we had already cleaned it ourselves and did not want someone coming in after we were already there. (However her friend surprised us by popping-in the back door to grab some glasses while we were sitting in the living room the first night.) When we left, we put our linens in the washing machine and ran the dishwasher. We expected to receive our $65 cleaning fee back, but when we asked for it, she refused.

    Honest reviews like this need to be posted so people know what they are getting into. This place is fine if your expectations are not very high.

    April 2014
    Lorene
    Response from Lorene:

    I would have tried to work out Jennifer's rather questionable dissatisfaction of my home had I been given the chance, but when I didn't respond to her refund inquiry immediately, and she sent me the 'preview of the unfavorable review' she'd be forced to leave if I didn't refund her, I told her to go ahead and give her opinion. I think my positive reviews speak very accurately to the state of my house, as do the pictures that airbnb took (although I do have brand new hard wood floors in my bedroom now).

    Being new to airbnb, Jennifer and her sister clearly didn't understand that they were staying in my home, where I live, with all the quirks that come with a 93 year old house. If they were looking for a brand-new, sterile, characterless Sonoma experience they should have paid three times as much to stay in a hotel.

    April 2014
  • Was in the area for a wedding... Accommodation was great for three of us.

    Gorgeous part of the world. Comfy home with tons of character.

    Thanks Lorene!

    March 2014
  • A few of us girls stayed at this lovely house in Sonoma. It's a great location right and easy to find. There is such a cute backyard for a bonfire and tons of seating inside and out! One of our girlfriends is terrified of bees but there was never any issue, whatsoever!

    October 2013
  • Loved Lorene's charming house!! We had a wonderful time during our stay. A delightful place to host small parties and for a girls retreat!! Thank you for making our stay stress free and comfortable.

    October 2013
  • Lorene was a lovely host who's home was just right for our group. The house was an inviting, comfortable spot to rest and relax. Plus, it was so cute! Great location, very close to downtown Sonoma and local wineries.

    September 2013
  • The house if comfy and nice and was everything we expected,

    The WOWing part is definitely the kitchen, which is equipped with all the supplies and cookware you'd ever dream of- great knives, high quality pans, amazing olive oil and more. After a stop in the Safeway we cooked several fancy meals in the house and loved hanging around the dinning table and feeling at HOME.

    Thanks for sharing the house with us.

    September 2013
  • Lorene's home was great for the four of us staying for the long weekend. Good location, comfortable set up and we made a great use of the kitchen, deck, fire-pit and BBQ. Did not get to meet Lorene in person but the check-in/out process was very easy. She was great at communicating via email and phone. Great place!

    September 2013
Per Month
From
$299
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 170 times
Work
Planet Organics, a premium on line Home Delivery service of artisan foods.
About
I'm a fun loving, free-spirited person. I own an organic produce and grocery home delivery business -for the past 16 years- and love my work. I employ 17 people who are like family to me. I have two children, teenagers, and my eldest is off to college this year. I work hard, and feel it is important to find time to play. I exercise regularly because keeping fit is important to me. I love to cook, socialize with friends, listen to music, and dance! I enjoy meeting new people and before I started my business I researched opening a bed and breakfast, so I think having my place on airbnb will be like fulfilling the other business I never started!
View full profile
Response Rate
21%
Response Time
a few days or more
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings