We pride ourselves on being an honest and ethical agency and are incredibly disappointed with the inaccuracy of your review. Whether your intention is to defame or smear our reputation, 30 (Hidden by Airbnb) messages over a period of 5 days ranging from issues related to ‘why you never told us the supermarket was closed?’ to ants in the laundry, Bistro opening times, a light bulb not working, and the blame given to us in relation to the power cuts that occurred across the whole Sorrento Peninsola as a result of the heat wave, made us question whether a hotel with a 24hour concierge service would have been better suited to your needs.
I will not attempt to recount the (Hidden by Airbnb) correspondence that took place between the guest and host during this guests stay, however, I would like to affirm that the Gocce host RESPONDED PROMPTLY TO ALL messages received and that the guest never once sent an email to us via the Airbnb website or via our agency website.
Indy, I would like to briefly comment on the issues you have raised in this review:
-No access to a resort – Gocce Villa & Resorts operates a resort in Massa Lubrense called Gocce di Capri, and offers all Gocce Villa & Resort Specialists’ guests complimentary access to the pool and facilities. If guests are interested in visiting the resort, they usually ask and we provide the details. Our host was not asked about the location, etc of this resort during the stay and therefore didn’t provide any information in relation to this. Given the frequency of contact that took place on a range of other issues during your stay, it is strange you raise this as an issue now.
-No instructions on use of appliances, garbage, incorrect information on supermarkets, towns – we are always available for questions and provide as much information as possible should the guest ask. You inquired about the whereabouts of supermarkets in the area (obviously the host didn’t know what time you intended to do your shopping) and he told you where they were located. To receive a message on (Hidden by Airbnb) that stated ‘You never told us the supermarket was closed!’ is implausible. How to use a toaster, kettle, dishwasher and other appliances are generally straightforward and again our host was available to answer questions on the use of appliances. With regards to waste disposal, there is usually a sign near the rubbish bins on recycling and collection. We have since replaced and apologise that this information wasn’t present.
-Host refused to answer emails, texts or phone calls – following a debrief with our host and a review of the communication that took place between you and the host, I cannot comprehend how you can state that your host refused to reply to your texts. Every question, request or inquiry made day and night was responded to almost immediately. NO EMAIL was ever received by Gocce Villa & Resort Specialists at any time during your stay.
-Frequent power outages – Unfortunately, due to the heatwave that hit during your stay there was an increase in overall power consumption across the area which resulted in all properties on the Sorrento Peninsola losing power sporadically. Yes, our host replied that there was nothing he could do as the power outages were the fault of ENEL, the national electricity distribution company and NOT Gocce Villa & Resort Specialists, who were also without power. A relocation, following you claiming it was a state of emergency, would not change the situation as all our properties were WITHOUT POWER. We understand the level of stress you must have experienced with a child suffering from asthma but our host in fact told the truth as the situation was beyond his control.
We believe we went above and beyond our duties as a host to cater to your needs around the clock. Just as a guest wishes to be respected, we too as a host would like to work in an environment of mutual respect. We have acted ethically and fulfilled our duty as a host, yet to check-out and leave the apartment with the key and without paying the compulsory tourist tax was unacceptable.
We invite future guests to please read the other reviews of Gocce Villa & Resort Specialists, as you can be reassured that the majority of our guests are satisfied with our holiday homes and the services we offer. The reviews of the very apartment this guest stayed at, and the neighbouring apartment, have always been positive.
Director – Gocce Villa & Resort Specialists