Master bedroom shaded by banana and mango treestwin bed with artistic drift-wood detail in the second bedroom
Entire home/apt
4 Guests
2 Bedrooms
3 Beds
Per Night
2468 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Sharing the treetops with monkeys, birds & iguanas, this light, airy, 2nd floor apartment is just 50 meters from the beach, right in the heart of Sámara. Great nature views and sounds of the ocean throughout. Fully equipped kitchen, 2 bedrooms, WiFi.

Master bedroom shaded by banana and mango trees

Master bedroom shaded by banana and mango trees

The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 3
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Other pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: $5 / night after 3 guests
Cleaning Fee: $21
Security Deposit: $103
Weekly discount: 10%
Cancellation: Moderate


The Space

Poised on a back road that ends at the beach and is shared by the local language school and other lodging units, this unique and spacious apartment (75m2) with its vaulted ceiling is shaded by mango, papaya, plantain, and cashew tres. Our fully furnished apartment has two bedrooms, one bath, and an open-plan living room and kitchen with a tiled breakfast bar, TV with Roku for internet access, and WiFi.
The master bedroom has a double bed while the second has two single beds sleeping a total of four comfortably, perfect for a family, two couples or traveling friends. Both rooms have bedside tables, lamps, closets and ceiling fans. Our unique furniture is handmade by local woodworkers using recycled tropical woods and driftwood.
The kitchen has a convection toaster-oven, 4-burner stovetop, blender, electric water heater and Costa Rican coffee-drip, and seating for 5 at the breakfast bar.
In the interest of full disclosure, as with any rentals in the heart of Sámara, the bar-restaurants can be noisy at night (mostly on weekends), and there is a new bar-restaurant diagonally behind us that has live music on Wednesdays. The early morning roosters, dogs and howler monkeys present all over Sámara can also be a noise factor! To that end we have two loud floor fans that work great for drowning out outside noise, and recommend bringing earplugs. If you are sensitve to noise or a light sleeper, we recommend looking for a rental further out of town. We do not have AC at the apartment, so check average temperatures for your dates if you are not used to the tropical heat.

Guest Access

For the use of our guests, we have a pack and play crib, and other children's equipment may be available, just ask! (we have two kids, aged 5 and 12, and we are back and forth between the city (where they go to school) and the beach house (in vacations). The surf school just down the beach offers special rates for our guests and can rent boards by the week or day, as well as give lessons.
Finally, guests are welcome to enjoy the beachfront facilities of the language school (diagonal to the apartment) that we co-own; you are offered a 25% discount on our group Spanish clases and may sign up for yoga, Latin dance, zumba and cooking clases at local rates. You are also welcome to consult with our staff/ resources for reservations and/or advice on local activities and trips around the country.

Interaction with Guests

We are happy to help guests with any questions when we are in town and give suggestions on things to do in the área. Our friends live in the apartment below the rental unit and will receive you and help with any questions when we are not here. Guests use an entrance separate from ours, so you will only see us if you want to! We recommend using the airbnb site to communicate, as messages come up instantly for us on our mobile airbnb app. Otherwise, you can visit me or the Intercultura staff in the office at the school across the road. When I am out of town, our friendly reception staff will help with any questions.

The Neighborhood

I love that we are so close to the beach, you don't even need to put your flipflops on, and that there is so much nature and wildlife around us. Also, being right near the language school is a plus, as guests can use the facilities and take part in activities like yoga and dance, and feel like they are part of a community if they want to. Also, absolutely everything is within very short walking distance (no more than a few blocks)!

Getting Around

Most people walk or bike everywhere. The shops are a block down the beach, the bank is a block and a half away, and restaurants are all within one to four blocks.

Other Things to Note

We are a family with two kids and we love to host other families, travelers, anyone wanting something other than the hotel experience! Kids are welcome to use our swingset and trampoline during the day (8am to 5pm) and we can also help you pre-arrange childcare or bilingual kínder and school options, for those staying for a longer time.
If you are interested in a long term stay (several months+), we have lower rates available too, just ask.

+ More

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is after 2PM

All we ask is that people are respectful and not too loud late at night. We provide linens and towels for use in the house. We do not allow smoking in the apartment or the yard, as the yard space is interconnected. No pets, sorry! For laundry, there is a laundromat at the end of our road which will pick up and deliver (green life laundry).

+ More

Safety Features
Fire Extinguisher

5 nights minimum stay
twin bed with artistic drift-wood detail in the second bedroom

twin bed with artistic drift-wood detail in the second bedroom

52 Reviews

Check In

Your Host



Heredia Province, Costa Rica · Member since July 2013

I was born in Switzerland but grew up in England, then moved to the States for college where I got my BA in English Lit. and Spanish, and later my MA in Cultural Anthropology. I originally came to Costa Rica for one year, which turned into twenty, after I started Intercultura language school here with a Costa Rican teacher I met while working at a San José language school, and we now have the two schools, one in Heredia and one in Sámara.
I lived at the beach until 2015 when we moved back to Heredia for school for the kids; we have a daughter Ela aged 5 and stepson Taurean aged 12. In my free time I like biking, yoga, riding (Taurean has a horse) latin dance, reading and enjoying the beach during school vacations.

+ More
Response rate: 100%(past 90 days)
Response time: within a day

Social Connections

Additional Hosts