The bright livingroom  / diningroom. The bright livingroom  / diningroom.
Entire home/apt
4 Guests
2 Bedrooms
2 Beds
$125
Per Night
51 travelers saved this place

About this listing

Our modern meets vintage penthouse apartment is the perfect place to start your love affair with Amsterdam. Close to the city, with many restaurants, cafes and bars close by. Also close are supermarkets, a park and playgrounds. Ideal for families.

The bright livingroom  / diningroom.

The bright livingroom / diningroom.

Verified Photo

The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $23 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $874 /week
Monthly Price: $3520 /month
Cancellation: Moderate

Description

The Space

Our place has modern bones, and all the conveniences that go with that; good heating and ventilation, modern kitchen and bathroom, a lift. But vintage and Scandinavian is my thing, so you'll find that back in the way this place has been decorated.

What the photos won't tell you:
The kitchen is very well equipped (excellent coffee maker, masticating juicer, mixer, good oven, sharp knives). There's also some excellent delicatessen and supermarkets right around the corner if cooking is your thing.

The spare room is a combined guest room and kids room - it can be used either by two adults or two kids. We have a single bed that can be turned into a double bed, and a cot that can be turned into a junior bed. We also have a good travel cot if you're traveling with two children, and need one junior bed and one cot. Our daughter is two, and there's plenty of fun toys for kids in the room.

The (main) bed is seriously comfortable, there's black-out curtains and a wake-up light, so expect to wake up well rested. The second bed may not be quite as marshmallow-y, but perfectly comfortable with a memory foam topper, and brand new mattress.

Lighting is important to us, and the living room is seriously cozy at night when you close the curtain, and stretch out on the enormous sofa.

When the weather is nice, the terrace becomes the living room. It's south facing, and because we're on the top floor it has a roof top feel (but then straight out of the kitchen). Move out blankets and pillows, and have a picknick on the deck.

Guest Access

When you stay in our apartment you're free to use anything in the kitchen (spices etc), toys (if you have kids), the TV (although it's not connected to cable, it is connected to a media player, so you can bring your own films on a hard drive). We have good speakers that you connect straight into your computer. There's a washer, a dryer and a dishwasher. What else? Hair dryer, external computer screen, library of books.

Interaction with Guests

You'll have the whole place to yourself, but we hope to meet you at the beginning of your stay (unless we are abroad, in which case our best friend or neighbour will show you around). You can ask us absolutely anything at any time.

The Neighborhood

In general, our apartment lends itself to a relaxed and comfortable stay, and the neighborhood has the same qualities. We live around the corner to a small square, with excellent restaurants, cafes and bars. In fact, one of the best cocktail bars in town is a two minute walk from our house.

Close by (see photos):
- Cafe Bru. Excellent coffee, great cake. Kid friendly (there's some toys in the back).
- Bidou. French-ish place with a stone pizza oven. Great food.
- Bar Bukowski. Cafe / restaurant / bar. A high level of hipster. Good food.
- Henry's Bar (connected to Bar Bukowski). Oh la la! Watch out! The cocktails are excellent, and strong.
- Maxwell. More down to earth than Bar Bukowski. Decent food and friendly people.
- Eric's Delicatessen. Get your bread and wine here! And your cheese. Not cheap, but so good.
- Brouw. American hip: beef brisket, pulled pork and micro brew beer.
- Ijsboefje. Excellent icecream bar. Kids get a perfectly sized cone for 50 cents.

Getting Around

The tram that will take you into the city (11 minutes to Leidseplein) is just around the corner. The metro is a 5 minute walk away (4 stops to Central Station).

+ More

House Rules
Check-in is after 2PM

We live in a house with many other families. Our neighbours are lovely people, and deserve respect from all visitors. Please be quiet when walking on the landing, especially if its late. If you've come to Amsterdam to party really, really hard, you're at the wrong address.

+ More

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

The bright livingroom  / diningroom.

The bright livingroom / diningroom.

7 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 3 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Monica

Monica

Cologne, Germany · Member since April 2012

I love the concept of Airbnb, and I often find myself browsing randomly when my feet get itchy (which is often). Staying at somebody's home / cave / boat / is far more exciting to me than a hotel. In the past I've used home exchange quite a bit. In general, perfect strangers opening their homes to you tend to be generous, fun and open-minded. That works for me.

Travel is my passion. I love the smells, tastes and views of an unexplored city. I love to meet people with entirely different lives to mine, that often end up becoming friends.

I just moved to Cologne, but lived in Amsterdam for 14 years. I have a seriously hilarious 4 year old daughter, a lovely, super-tidy German husband, and a habit of collecting mid-century furniture. The 3 of us share a passion for food, water, warm weather and the Daily Show. I'm Swedish, and very tall.

+ More

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Amsterdam

    More places to stay in Amsterdam: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums