walk to the Painted Ladies in Alamo Square Parkupstairs bathroom
Secret cottage - with parking
Hosted by Russ
Russ is the host.
7 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
7 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Walk to the famous "Painted Ladies" of Alamo Square! Eat at unique neighborhood cafes and restaurants. Stay in a cottage of your own, right in the heart of SF. Fully remodeled with all modern features, elegant kitchen, designer glass and tile bathroom, exotic wood floors, very comfortable beds. Your own parking spot out front is a rare convenience.

The space

This cottage is a separate building, away from the street, so it is extremely private. One hundred years ago it was a carriage house for a horse and buggy before the age of cars. It was completely re-built last year with all new materials and modern amenities. We live in the main house 20 feet away, and we are usually here to help you get settled or quickly answer any question. You have a FREE reserved parking space out front which is very useful in SF.

The unit consists of the entire cottage, with partial views of Twin Peaks and Sutro Tower. Total size is approximately 1000 sq. ft. (92 sq. m.) The downstairs is open plan with gourmet kitchen, dining table with chairs, couch, large TV and full bathroom. Upstairs are two bedrooms, each with a queen bed, plus a full bathroom.

We apologize that the outdoor landscaping is still under construction. There is a 10 foot stretch where the ground is a little uneven. It is safe and well lighted day and night.


Amenities include:
* full modern kitchen
* free outdoor parking in front
* two new, very comfortable queen beds
* sofa downstairs, opens to queen bed
* air mattress for 7th guest (it will be a tight fit and a little uncomfortable)
* exotic wood floors
* large windows, great light
* two full bathrooms, modern glass and tile
* tub with double saloon glass shower
* professionally cleaned before each visit
* sheets, towels, and soaps provided
* high speed wi-fi, cellular/3G/4G, strong signal
* TV with cable, FREE streaming Netflix, DVD
* HULU, Amazon Prime Movies, etc. on your account
* private entrance with access code - no keys to lose!
* bike storage: off-street safe and secure
* laundry: free washer, dryer, and detergent!
* luggage storage for early arrival, late departure
* breakfast: many cafes and restaurants a few blocks away

Interaction with guests

We live 20 feet away in the main house and we are here to assist as needed.

Other things to note

PLEASE be extremely quite outdoors, as we live in a very quiet residential neighborhood and we don't want to disturb the neighbors.

Early or late check-in or check-out:
We have a secure laundry room to store your luggage if you arrive before check-in time or depart after check-out time. I will email you the access code for the the door locks so you can come and go at any hour. There are no physical keys to lose.

Free Laundry:
Washer, dryer, and laundry detergent is provided free of charge, 20 feet away in the main house. Not available Thursday 9am-2pm.


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $150
Security Deposit $350
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with keypad

Please be very quiet outside the cottage, as this is a quiet residential neighborhood. Neighbors are very close.
No smoking, pets, parties, or events on the property.
Kindly remove your shoes indoors.
Checkout time is 11am.
When departing, please run dirty dishes in the dishwasher and take out trash on your way out. Leave all used sheets and towels in the floor.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

184 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Nancy User Profile
October 2017
Great location! Nice neighborhood! The place worked for what we needed. Our only issue was there weren't any fans and it got a bit warm during our stay at night. No outside sitting area which would have been enjoyed. Good for a small family, a couple or business travler.

Ernie User Profile
October 2017
Very nice, clean and well kept bnb. Russ was very easy to communicate with and great host. Our group was returning from a vacation in “wine country” and decided to spend a couple of days hitting the “tourist” stops in San Francisco. The unit has two bedrooms upstairs and there are two full baths, one upstairs and one down stairs. Neither full bath room is ensuite. Parking available if you have a rental car like we did.

Olivia User Profile
September 2017
Overall great trip. We were able to fit 7 people comfortably, and were within walking distance to a lot of great areas.

Dale User Profile
August 2017
The interior is exactly as it appears in the photos. The exterior is a very different story. I wish I could post photos with this review as it was pretty bad including a dirty building facade, overgrown vegetation, trash in the yard, and a poorly maintained walkway. We enjoyed our stay overall, but I would have chosen a different rental if I knew what the exterior looked like.

Nicole User Profile
August 2017
The place was a hidden gem! Russ was so easy to communicate with and was so kind.

Janet User Profile
July 2017
My girlfriends and I enjoyed our 4 day trip to SF and found Russ's Cottage to nicely meet our needs. Great location to access different parts of the city and ability to walk to restaurants, shopping and GG Park as well. Thank you!

Hanzhi User Profile
July 2017
Private guesthouse was a quiet retreat away from the street. Two modern clean bathrooms and kitchen made for a comfortable stay.

San Francisco, California, United StatesJoined in October 2013
Russ User Profile

I've lived here for 13 years with my wife and dog. We recently have a 2 year old baby boy and wow has life changed! We enjoy hiking, eating, cooking, weekends in wine country, the beach, traveling to exotic places, and most of all nap time.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings