South room

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This listing is for the South room, king size bed and shared bathroom with the west room.

Hayete is one of the oldest and most charming guesthouses in town, located in a colonial building. Walking distance to all bars and restaurants.

The space

Note: The guesthouse can host up to 9 adults.
Listed is every room separately. If you'd like to book the entire place for a group, please write it in the request.
East room, 2 people possible
North room, 3 people possible
West room, 2 people possible
South room, 2 people possible

Loads of reviews to be found on Tripadviser. Monocle has listed us as one of the 5 most wonderful hotels of Lebanon, Elle Oriental has done fashion shootings in our place, the German cosmopolitan recommends us etc.

Yalla, come and visit us soon!

Along the Mid-Eastern coast of the Mediterranean, shimmers Beirut, jewel of the Middle East.

Hayete is a cozy guesthouse in the very center of Beirut, in the charming neighborhood of Ashrafieh. It is located in an early 20th century building. Here we offer our visitors a first hand experience of this marvellous city.

Hayete means "my life" in Arabic but when the Lebanese use it, they actually want to say 'my darling'. This is what we want to be, your personal favorite in Beirut.

In Hayete we have 4 rooms which each have their own identity. Are you looking for romantic scenery or inspiration behind your laptop, then in our West and South rooms you will find your perfect setting. The North room is ideal for people who require some more space and privacy. The East room is our artist room, giving you the feeling of being in a separate house.

Besides the rooms, a big living hall gives you space to relax and mingle with other guests or just maybe you just want to sit back behind tea.

- Served breakfast
- AC
- Heating
- Free Wifi
- Telephone for local fix number calls
- Ironing
- Hairdryer
- Laundry
- 24 access to coffee bar: French press coffee, tea, fruits, cookies, toaster etc.
- Basic tourist information; trip organization, restaurant reservation.
- Taxi service: Pick up and airport drop, as well as day trip taxi service
- Car rental information/reservation

Guest access

Shared living room with cookie/coffee bar, fridge, big nice balcony, and free Wi-Fi.
Access to the kitchen and the washing machine on request, for long term stays.

Interaction with guests

We are always available online or by phone; at the location occationally. But there is everyday a house keeper for the most important issues, from 7:30 am till 2 pm.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Room type: Private room


Extra people: 30 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: 5
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Enjoy yourself!!
Lebanon is one of the most fascinating places on this planet, and Hayete is the best guesthouse in the country, all we want from you is to come and enjoy yourself!



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

1 night minimum stay

45 Reviews

Check In
Great local experience in an excellent location. Our host, Caroline, was fantastic and helped us discover the best parts of Lebanon. We would love to stay there again and explore more of the area!

Sholto User Profile
February 2017
I stayed in Caroline's place for 5 days and it was very atmospheric and pleasant. Caroline was very attentive and Mutubal (who comes in the morning to prepare breakfast) was extremely nice and courteous. The flat is usefully located and the area is safe and has some nice dining options. I think the only thing I missed was a bit of buzz from other guests as it was quiet but of course that is subjective. The place is set up for the summer with a number of balconies! Thanks again. Sholto

Susan User Profile
January 2017
What you see is what you get plus a yummy breakfast every morning. Just don't go in the winter as there is no heating, everything else is charming.
Caroline User Profile
Response from Caroline:
Dear Susan, Thank you for your review. I enjoyed your stay with us. I wish you told me that you were feeling cold. I am sorry for the misunderstanding, I had to show you the air-conditioning and the heater available in your room.
January 2017

Tiffany User Profile
October 2016
Love this apt! when you stay with Caroline you get the experience of being embedded in a real community..Ashrafieh is my favorite Lebanese neighborhood, great restaurants and boutiques right downstairs buzzing with locals and hardly any tourists. The apartment has stunning balconies and a beautiful spacious vibe. It's tastefully decorated. Caroline is an incredible host, friendly and very attentive, quickly answering all questions and popping in to check on everyone. Already planning to return!

Duncan User Profile
September 2016
I absolutely loved staying at Hayete Gusthouse. Amazing decor, friendly host and great location to explore the city. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Beirut!

Benjamin User Profile
April 2016
Great place and excellent host, would def stay again.

Rebecca User Profile
April 2016
We arrived at Hayete late at night, so the host understandably did not meet us. However, we didn't actually see the host until our last day and that was by necessity to finalise some things so I'm not sure if we would have seen her at all otherwise. The lady who cleans and makes breakfast was there the next morning, but she didn't introduce herself so we thought she was another guest. She didn't get breakfast until we finally asked about it. I think a welcome letter with instructions for guests would save confusion, especially regarding the passport/immigration information required. Breakfast is simple but good (ask for either the Manoosh or Croissants). The place is clean and comfortable, with hot showers. The building is an original 1920s one, with an eclectic mix of antiques and bright colours inside. The decor is nice but it is a little run-down. The location is excellent (only 5 minutes walk to ABC Mall and 15 mins to Gemmayzeh) but unfortunately there is a lot of construction going on at the moment which is very noisy in the mornings. We were staying in the North room, but I think the East room would be the quietest. One thing that desperately needs replacing is the towels. They honestly looked about 30 years old, very ratty, I wouldn't give them to a houseguest let alone a paying one! Another drawback was the host forgot to top up the wifi account so we were left with no internet for a couple of days, which did cause us some problems contacting her and with a tour we were going on. Overall, I think it is a little overpriced. For the price we ended up paying for three people per night (US$150) we would have been better off going to a hotel.
Caroline User Profile
Response from Caroline:
Dear Rebecca, I tried to help you as much as possible by asking if you need an airport pick up or a pick up to any other place and I was constantly in touch with you through the airbnb messages. Concerning not meeting me, you were constantly out of the guesthouse in my working hours, I even was passing to guesthouse if I were around for a private reason. So I guess this explains why we didn’t meet until the last day where I had to wait for you until you come from your trip to the Cedars to clear out the reservation changes you made. Concerning the towels, the towels are not 30 years old, but it’s a concept, these towels are Syrian handmade, and are ordered especially for our guesthouse and a lot of our guests are requesting the seller details. You could easily asked Rita for the normal market towels, and she would have provided you with some. Concerning the WiFi recharge, the Sodetel company was out of the recharge card we use, so it took me some hours and not days to recharge it as I couldn’t buy it from a local market but had to go to the main Company office to get the card. Concerning the construction site around the guesthouse. .. sorry I can do nothing about that ! And we can't shut down our business because of that. I did what I can possibly do ... talked to the responsible of that construction site and it will be over very soon. Concerning being over rated ... I am sorry to tell you that with the location you got, the breakfast included, free tea/coffee biscuits bar 24/7 free Wi-Fi ... for 3 persons ... you will never have a hotel in ashrafiyeh giving you this price !! Believe me on that! I just asked a hotel near by and the answer was "starting from 300$/night " Best regards, Caroline
April 2016

This host has 23 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
LebanonJoined in January 2013
Caroline User Profile
Languages: English, Français, العربية
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings