Perfect Family/Group Retreat in SD

House - Entire home/apt · Caminito Chueco, San Diego, CA 92126, United States
Mary
Your host, Mary
18 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The Space

For a centrally located, beautiful and comfy home for your holiday - welcome to your San Diego retreat! Two story house with four bedrooms, loft w/ bonus room and downstairs living room.

Walking distance to shops, theater, restaurants (Starbucks!), supermarkets, beautiful public pool
Close to freeways:
- 20 minute drive to gorgeous beaches, downtown and many attractions (Sea World, Zoo, etc.)
- Beautiful recreational lake 10 minute drive away

Ammenities/Benefits:
- 4 bedrooms
- Spacious bonus room (can accommodate 2 more with couch/blowup bed); pack 'n play for baby upon request
- Fully equipped kitchen and large dining area
- Laundry in house
- Free internet access
- Comfy and sylish living room
- 2 TVs
- Giant public swimming pool available a college two minute drive away for kids or adult lap swimming (info supplied upon request)
- Mediterranean style patio for BBQ and relaxing
- Park-like quiet setting with lots of grass and paths for walking
- Parking very close/carport
- Family friendly BONUS: strollers, toys, pack /n play (crib), toddler mattress, iskooter, and pool floaties available upon request
- basketball court and volleyball sand area

Great for non-family types too if you're just sporty or in a group.

Guest Access

Guests have access to the entire house and patio, car port.

Interaction with Guests

I will be available via phone and messaging for anything needed during the stay. With the whole house rented I will not be there on the premises.

The Neighborhood

The neighborhood is quiet, in a nice park like area with lots of grass and paths between houses.

Getting around

There are bus stops near by (including an express bus for downtown); must check on bus schedules for specific destinations

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 10
Bedrooms: 4
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 4
Extra people: $5 / night after 6 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Security Deposit: $250
Cleaning Fee: $50
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Marry is very nice host for us. I could not meet her in person, but everything was very well organized and well prepared. We felt at home at her house and could relax after long travel as well as tiring attraction hopping.
    I strongly recommend to stay at her home.

    July 2014
  • Great location and size of house for our party of five adults and a child. Mary was very understanding when we arrived early. Good communication with her. Internet was spotty and neighbors were very loud and vocal with a contractor. Kitchen and downstairs bathroom was as clean as would have liked. Garbage disposal had a bad order, sticky counters/table/floor. Bathroom baseboards dirty and shower drain very slow so you were standing in your soapy water when finished. Clearer instructions for DVD player (no batteries in remote) and checking out would have been nice. Some of this might have been taken care of if we hadn't arrived early.

    July 2014
    Mary
    Response from Mary:

    My primary goal and desire is for my guests to have a great experience at my place, so I take it very seriously when anyone has issues. I am sorry that Sally found some things not up to standard. It's true her family came a couple of hours ahead of normal check in time (which I'm fine with, but was still finishing up cleaning from a group leaving the same day so the kids may have walked over my mopped floor, etc. when coming in). My regret is that Sally didn't communicate with me on any of these issues during her visit (I had urged her like all guest to contact me any time with problems). The construction project with my neighbor is over now thankfully. Again, I want to make sure everyone is happy, so I am sorry for these issues and am always happy to take care of them if informed.

    July 2014
  • Mary's house was perfect for our family! We had 3 young children with us and she provided strollers (which we ended up not using), playpen, and baby toys!! There was a Korean market (HMart) nearby with ready-to-eat meals (sushi rolls, etc) that was perfect for our trips to the zoo & safari!! The DVD selection was crucial when our car broke down and we ended up being stuck at home. The kids were happily occupied. There were extra linens and towels & a washer and dryer we used. Mary even provided beach bags with towels & a mat to sit on!! Everything touristy is around 20 minutes drive away (zoo, safari, sea world, and beaches). We would definitely stay here again.

    June 2014
  • Mary has been extremely accommodating to our family. I really appreciated her willingness to work with us and being so prompt to respond to any inquiries. The home was exactly as described and served our family well during our stay. We definitely would love to stay again if we ever visit San Diego! Thanks Mary!

    June 2014
  • We stayed in Mary's house for 3 nights. The house is perfect and location is very good too. Very close to the house there is seefood market which was a big plus as we cooked at home.
    We enjoyed our time in San Diego!

    May 2014
  • We stayed (3 nights-4 days) in San Diego. ı did not meet mary, but her friends and she are very frienly and helpful. Her house is very comfortable and cleaness. Thank you for everthing. If you live to good experience, you must select to Mary house...

    August 2013
  • We loved our stay in San Diego. The airbnb home was in just the right location for us, was just the size we needed (3 bedrooms, 2 baths) and we enjoyed the free wifi. We weren't actually there much during the day because we were enjoying San Diego and the beaches, but the house filled our needs well.

    August 2013
  • Ce qui est fort désagréable quand vous arrivez dans cette "perfect family retreat in SD", c'est de constater que les photos des chambres ne correspondent pas à ce qui vous est réservé, sauf si vous payez un supplément de 20$ par nuit pour pouvoir jouir de la seule belle chambre avec lit queen!!! vous en êtes informé seulement 8 jours avant votre arrivée. Sinon, vous n'aurez accès qu'à 3 petites chambres dont une avec lit double de petite taille (tant pis pour vous si vous mesurez plus d'1.80m) et 2 avec lit simple (tant pis pour vous si vous êtes 5 comme annoncé à la réservation). d'autre part, ce qui n'est pas forcément évident à comprendre sur l'annonce, c'est que vous aurez à partager la maison avec vos hôtes si ces derniers ne sont pas en vacances lors de votre séjour, il ne s'agit donc pas d'une maison entière...mais vous aurez tout de même le droit de poser vos propres denrées sur l'étagère du frigo qui vous est réservée (sic). Sinon, la maison bien que vieillissante et plutôt ordinaire, est propre et correcte pour de courts séjours, il faut juste considérer qu'au prix annoncé, il faut ajouter "un petit supplément" pour avoir une chambre correcte et c'est bien dommage de s'y prendre de cette façon!

    July 2013
  • Mary's house is very well located, all the beds are very comfortable. House is simple but well decorated. Kitchen is well equipped. Bathrooms are very clean. We definitely would consider to stay again in the future.

    July 2013
  • Positives:
    Large accommodating place. We had 5 adults + 1 child fit comfortably. We loved the outdoor patio area for the comfort as well as the privacy. Mary was very attentive, and was a gracious host. My daughter enjoyed watching DVD's in the loft. Mary has a bunch of children DVD's to watch which is great. The location is ideal, close to freeways/food/shopping. Would recommend this place for longer stays.

    Cons:
    We visited in the summer during a record heat wave, but the two upstairs rooms are warm during the day. There is a portable A/C that helped slightly, but we had a hard time staying upstairs in the daytime.

    We had a great time, and would stay here again!

    July 2013
Per Month
From
$165
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 190 times
Languages
עברית
School
San Diego State University
Work
Computer Related
About
I love to travel and have done a lot, so it's fun for me to host and meet people coming to visit our beautiful city. I'm a graduate of San Diego State University (SDSU) and fell in love with the city when I came down here for school - basically lived here majority of time since (don't ask how long ago that was - ha). I have lived in and visited other countries and know what it's like to be a guest; I try to be sensitive to traveller's needs. I am also very understanding of kids and have two of my own, so your kids are welcome. I've been having a great time with Airbnb - come on over for a visit!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings