About this listing
Tree House: Papaya Room: #5
Private bath/Hot water/ One Double Bed/ One single bed/ Free WiFi/ Free Pavilion Use/ Extended Private Balcony/Private Kitchen
Costa Rica Hotel taxes and AirBnB fees included. Based on single occupancy.
Nosara Retreat is nestled in the pristine pacific coast of Costa Rica on two acres of tropical gardens and jungle. Created in harmony with nature, we are here to provide you with an ideal setting for relaxation, rejuvenation, personal rediscovery and fun.
A five-minute walk brings you to the secluded Pelada Beach with fine white sand. The ocean is the centerpiece of life here. You can walk for miles along the quiet, unspoiled beaches of Nosara observing magical rock formations, breaking waves, and gentle tide pools.
We provide affordable earth friendly living with personalized service. Activities we offer include: turtle nesting, surfing and horseback riding, water sports, hiking trails, walk through the biological preserve, and zip line tour.
Our on-site jungle trail through the green zone to the beach allows you to explore the unspoiled wildness of this vibrant natural habitat.
Nosara Retreat is an ideal spot from which to explore Nosara’s laid-back charm, fine restaurants, shops and assortment of Yoga and wellness options. Or you may want to just relax in a hammock, watch the howler monkeys and listen to the ocean.
This peaceful setting is ideal for unwinding. Enjoy rural Costa Rica, “pura vida,” (pure life).
From Dec 18, 2015 - Jan 04, 2016 the minimum stay is 3 nights.
The Nosara Retreat is a wonderful place!!! Deborah and her staff are so so so nice and they'll help you out with anything on site/around the area. The rooms are spacious and the spirit of the place brings you closer to the surroundings. Breakfast is great too! Water would shut off at odd times, but the ocean is right there so no big deal!!
Loved my time in Nosara. Great host and location. The treehouse was great, met a lot of other guests and the beach was awesome. Very relaxing!
This is such a wonderful place!!! We were treated so well by Deborah, Theresa, Ashley, Junior and everybody else! We spent two amazing weeks here with our 3 year old son and we already miss it. We are already thinking of going back longer next winter!
Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and helped us when we needed something.
All in all, we felt so good here. From the yoga pavilion to the shady jungle paths, to the secluded, gorgeous (almost deserted!) playa Pelada and the lovely breakfasts prepared with care, we revelled in Paradise.
If you like to be away from the crowd this place is for you. We didn't have a car and were not looking to go out to restaurants and cafes everyday and that is what you get here, as you are a good walk away from civilisation and the touristy scene. We went grocery shopping every 4-5 days (and got fresh fish from the fishermen on the beach) and we cooked in our super well equipped kitchen. We loved it that way.
Thank you all from the bottom of our heart. You are a such a beautiful touching community!! We think of you fondly and we will see you again!
L&L&A : )
My trip was booked at the last minute and Deborah was very helpful in getting me from Liberia airport to Nosara Retreat ("NR"). However, the overall trip was not the best and I wound up leaving a day early.
After the three (3) hour ride from the airport, I arrived at NR and Deborah was there in the main office waiting. She provided some information about the property and gave very cryptic and unclear information about how to get to the beach and the walk to a restaurant for dinner. The walk from NR to the closest place of civilization was 20 minutes (note that I am a 6' 2" athletic guy). It was also 30 minutes to the surf area...... much longer than she had indicated.
My first morning I had a nice breakfast, but the woman working did not speak english and could not provide a map. It was clear that the closest places to buy a water or snacks was a substantial walk. The alternative would be a cab or rickshaw (note: the numbers Deborah provided on a small post-it note did not connect and I wound up walking to and from).
My accommodations were located under Deborah's residence. It was subpar and had many spiders and ants. It was not as nice as any of the pictures on the AirBnB site.
Overall, the location was close to the beach but I was very disappointed with its remote location and how hard it was to get to civilization (e.g. lunch and dinner required long walks). I wound up leaving a day early because I did not want to stay in a place with spiders and ants.
We stayed in the Papaya Room for four nights in mid-December and had a wonderful experience. The room itself is lovely, nestled in the trees. At night you go to sleep listening to the crickets & the occasional monkey. Other than that it's quiet. No road noise, no people, nothing. Just you and nature. It was a beautiful, amazing room, very breezy. There is a ceiling fan but it's on the same switch as the light so we didn't run it at night. You don't need to, though, because of the lovely breeze that flows through the windows.
We've since seen three other rooms in the Nosara area and none have been as nice as this.
The beach is a short walk away, and you are a quick drive to restaurants & etc. in town.
The wifi worked phenomenally well in the room and on the porch. No problems with bugs (other than a few critters here and there, which is to be expected given the location.) The outdoor kitchen was well-stocked with pots & pans and dishes.
Bars on the windows provide security.
Every morning we went up to the main house and had breakfast served to us - fresh fruit, toast, good coffee, and juice/shakes.
Deborah, Junior, and all of the other staff that we encountered were incredibly friendly and helpful.
If you stay here (and you should!) be sure to bring a flashlight! You are literally in the jungle and it's *very* dark at night. We hope to be back soon!
Deborah and Mandi were very nice and welcoming. The rooms are simple, the grounds were very nicely maintained, and it was a very easy walk to the beach (which was beautiful). The breakfast though was the highlight - delicious, very filling, and nicely prepared just for us. Thanks!
I had high hopes for Nosara Retreat based on other reviews but was sorely disappointed. Even before we arrived Theresa could not come through on her promise to help me with a ride from the airport and I had to call her back to get a response at all. We arrived and the shared kitchen and balcony were filthy (despite her knowing our arrival time) and she basically tried to give us a smaller room with almost no light because she didn't feel like cleaning the space after the last guests. Also, in spite of us confirming that we wanted breakfast, she re-checked with me because she would have to make a grocery run. I felt overall like a nuisance and inconvenience to Theresa, and certainly at no point felt welcome or rested. We didn't see her at all after the first day, so we didn't even have to chance to rectify the situation before the end of our stay. Also something to note: the pictures are NOT an accurate representation of the outdoor space at all. The kitchen is fully outdoor and was absolutely disgusting, so it's useless to cook in anyway. I get being in the middle of the jungle, but there is no maintenance staff or cleaning staff so the place just keeps getting dirtier and buggier. We were not told how to get clean towels or where to take our trash, and had to go buy toilet paper and soap because there were no replacements in the room. Also, there is beach access about a 5 minute walk away, but they neglect to tell you that it's not a swimming beach because of highly dangerous rip tides. To get to a swimming area (and, thankfully, a cool local restaurant and bar which was the only saving grace of staying here), you have a 15-20 minute walk down the beach. My boyfriend and I didn't want to stay here any more than we had to (i.e. Just to sleep in a poorly ventilated musty room). If you are going to Pelada, go to Paspartu. Cheaper, cleaner, closer to restaurants and swimming areas, and run by a welcoming and kind yoga teacher. Would not recommend Nosara Retreat.
Thank you for your feedback Rachel and Brian.
In light of your experience we have offered to refund the cost of your stay.
We would like guests to feel comfortable, enjoy our jungle surroundings and I apologize you did not.
Your input is welcome and appreciated as it keeps us striving to improve.
This host has 32 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Deborah
I came to Costa Rica in 1989 and fell in love with Playa Pelada, the people and the country. The houses we had built over the years served as a retreat for my extended family. For years, we all came together during the Christmas holidays. Inspired by the vibrant tropical colors and beauty of people and local scenes, I painted pictures for each room. In 1994 I started a B&B on the property and a year later, moved here permanently. My dream for many years was to have a healing center. Recently we began hosting retreats. It is my joy to share this healing paradise with you.