Large, Classic, Home-Away-From-Home

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Brooklyn Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11216, United States
Rebecca

Our part-time home, this space is ideal for 2-6 travelers. The apartment is very roomy and homey, complete with a big table to gather around and comfy lounge space. Who says that travelers on a budget can't afford some luxury? The reviews say it all!

Your host, Rebecca
30 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

Our part-time home, this space is ideal for 2-6 travelers. The apartment is very roomy and homey, complete with a big table to gather around and comfy lounge space. Who says that travelers on a budget can't afford some luxury? The reviews say it all!

The Space

Make yourself at home in our warm, inviting apartment. Whether you're here to see the sights, visit family and friends, or just for a change of scene, you'll be able to completely relax and make the most of your vacation in this clean, 6th-floor Brooklyn apartment. The building itself is unique with a medieval-style lobby and brick turrets. This is a huge one-bedroom apartment, completely and personably furnished by the owners. With big windows and beautiful southern light, the whole place feels all the more spacious, and sunsets over lower Manhattan are a joy to see.

Your main bedroom is also spacious with a queen-sized bed and plenty of room for anything from yoga to excessive luggage. This is where the 5th and 6th guests would stay as well. When more than 4 guests book this space, we provide a full-sized air mattress, sheets, and blankets for the additional one or two guests.

The walk-through kitchen leaves plenty of room for a couple of cooks (our favorite hobby!) and you will find everything you need to cook anything from a frozen burrito to a four-course meal. The bathroom is also charming, complete with a full tub for luxurious baths when you need a respite from the bustling city. We keep stocked a basic range of bath products, including a hair drier, in case you forget anything.

The other bed is located in the living room. It is, hands down, the most comfortable pullout sofa bed you'll ever sleep on. We've replaced the standard queen-sized mattress it came with, putting in a made-for-sofa-beds air mattress. You blow it up to the firmness that you'd like, put the sheets on, and enjoy a beautiful night's sleep.

No matter how long your stay, we'll start you out with basics in the refrigerator: milk, eggs, bread, yogurt, and fruit. On the server, we provide various breakfast and snack goodies, such as a variety of tea, coffee, instant oatmeal, cereal, and granola bars. There are also spices, condiments, and other kitchen staples available for your use. Whether they serve as breakfasts during your stay or a much-needed meal after a long trip, we're happy to provide these things for our guests.

The apartment has wireless internet for your convenience. There is no TV, and we will not be able to provide one. It's a big city out there with lots to explore, and there's (email hidden) where you can socially catch a not-to-miss game!

There is a laundry room in the basement, so doing wash isn't a huge chore. Quarters are required and can be gotten at the supermarket.

We enjoy the neighborhood, as it has a classic Brooklyn feeling with its brownstone-lined streets, and the character has a rather quiet family feel to it. There are plenty of eateries nearby with a wide variety of cuisines. There's a huge supermarket only a 5 minute's walk away. Iconic Prospect Park is only 2 miles from the apartment.

Your trip to Manhattan in on an express A train, only a 10 minute's walk away. You'll find yourself in midtown after a 25 minute ride. There are also buses which will take you all over Brooklyn.

This listing is for the entire apartment. You will have full run of the large bedroom, walk-through kitchen, and subway tiled bathroom. By renting the whole place, you will have the comfortable, spacious living room as well, and privacy throughout the apartment during your stay.

Concerning air conditioning: we provide one air conditioner for the proper bedroom and one for the living room where the sofabed is situated. These will keep the apartment at a comfortable temperature as long as guests follow advice about the use of curtains and shades. We urge guests to use the air conditioners only when they will be in the apartment (upon returning at the end of the day, until leaving the next) since running them all day long is a great waste of energy!

If you are two travelers on a budget, I suggest that you take a look at our other listing. For a lower rate, you rent the bedroom, and while you're likely to share the apartment 3-4 nights per week, you will have it to yourself most often and will always have access to the entire apartment.

We love traveling through Airbnb, and have done our best to bring home all of our favorite rental features for you to enjoy while we host you. Feel free to message with any questions, and we hope to see you soon!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $15 / night after 4 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $850 /week
Monthly Price: $2800 /month
Cleaning Fee: $20
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Rebecca and Andrew were excellent hosts, they appear to put a lot of thought into how they can best look after their guests and it was the little things they did like providing breakfast and shower gel, soap etc, that in addition to their lovely property, made all the difference. The location of the property was about 45 mins from Central Manhattan and the area in Brooklyn where it's based is close to some cool little pubs like the craft beer pub on Nostrand Ave we visited. The property has a lot of character and was great to return to after a hard days slog touring the sites of NYC. For five adults, it was a little crowded but for two to four would be perfect. It's a great option particularly if you're holidaying in NYC and wanting to experience how New Yorkers really live, outside of the tourist areas of Manhattan.

    June 2014
  • Thanks to Rebecca ! She really helped a lot when we had some details problems there, even made an easy suggestion to help us find the place. Her apartment was quite cute and warm, seriously enjoyed the lovely morning with homemade breakfast and Beatles records playing on!!

    June 2014
  • Rebecca's place was very homey, a great place to come back to after a long day in the city. It was just as described, complete with towels, linen and even some breakfast items! It was a little warm at times, but there is aircon and also fans. It's convenient to get to the subway (a 10 minute walk), and the area is quiet. The shower is a little small, but manageable. Rebecca was a fantastic host, easy to get in touch with and willing to help us wherever possible. All in all, a great start to our holiday!

    May 2014
  • We were graced with the opportunity to meet Rebecca and Andrew (and their darling dog Utah). They were way beyond kind, waited for us late to come from the airport, fed us some of their yummy leftover dinner, had the pullout already made up for our girls and made us feel so at home. It was a beautiful, well loved apartment so tastefully and artfully designed eithveverything you could ever need it want yto be right at home. I did yoga to the candlelight altar, had a warm candlelight bath and purused some of their wonderful books while playing records on the the record player. Rebecca was so prompt in responding to a question I had. The neighborhood was safe and everywhere we needed to go was so easily accessible. You won't find such a fabulous place for such a reasonable price with such lovely hosts so readily anywhere. Snap this place up quickly. You will be so grateful.

    May 2014
  • This place is a little under-maintained. However, in general, it is goof for the price.

    May 2014
    Rebecca
    Response from Rebecca:

    Dear Mabel, Please do message to let us know what you felt was "under-maintained" so that we can do our best to improve. Always feel free to message your hosts during your stay to ask if there's anything they can do about an issue immediately, and do please message after your stay with any more specific feedback. We can only fix what it is we are aware of! All the best, Rebecca

    May 2014
  • My husband, 2 daughters and I absolutely loved staying at Rebecca and Andrew's wonderful apartment! It truly was everything and more than the "Large Classic Home-Away-From-Home" as advertised! From the unique renaissance
    Style lobby to being in a nice neighborhood and to a kitchen that was easy to prepare food in; our 3 night stay was very enjoyable and relaxing. The beds are definitely very comfortable and we were happy that things were relatively quiet for sleeping. Getting to the subway is a reasonable walk of maybe 10-15 min.
    We had the pleasure of meeting both Rebecca and Andrew, who were lovely down-to-earth people. When we had any questions leading up to our stay, Rebecca was quick to respond and very accommodating.
    We would not hesitate to stay at their lovely place again!

    May 2014
  • We had a great stay (3 nights) here with our 15 months old daughter. All enjoyed the spacious apartment and the kindness of the host (very convenient help to look after our luggage on the day we left). The view is nicer than on the pictures and the flat is much bigger than it appears on the pictures. Flat is on the 6th and last floor which is great. The fridge was containing all the basics for a nice breakfast (milk, eggs, bread, plus tea, coffee, chocolate and cereals were also provided).
    Overall a great experience in a neighbourhood not usually visited by tourist but super interesting.

    May 2014
  • Rebecca is a nice and welcoming host, the place is quite good for a few nights, but there were several small things which could be improved in the apartment: it was dusty, there was no lock on the toilet door, the window in the bedroom has a few cracks and I would say it can be cold and drafty, the floor in the kitchen is damaged,I would not walk without shoes.The neighborhood is a bit shady and the subway is a good 15 min walk , it takes about 30 minutes to get to Manhattan.

    May 2014
    Rebecca
    Response from Rebecca:

    Dear Maria,

    We are sorry to see that you felt troubled during your stay. Along with the charm of a historic pre-war building come imperfections that you're likely not to find in a newer apartment. The building shifts and so the windows leave 1/16th inch gaps when closed. If you'd told us that you were cold, we could have directed you to the closet full of blankets. We are waiting for our building manager to address the floor situation, and we appreciate guests' understanding while that is taken care of.

    New York City is extremely diverse in cultures, and I do not know why you have called the neighborhood shady, as ourselves and our many guests before you have never had any problems, even when coming home in the middle of the night. Please do let us know if you had a problem, as this information is important to us. The walk, I suppose, depends on your pace, but (website hidden) Maps has it at 10 minutes, and we usually do it in 8. The city is also a very dusty place, and I will understand your surprise when I tell you that we dust weekly. We leave the apartment as we would want to find one when we're renting through Airbnb.

    We hope you still enjoyed your time in the city.
    All the best,
    Rebecca

    May 2014
  • The apartment was exactly as it appeared in photos with plenty of space and is in a safe location. Rooms were very spacious (shower is definitely small and would recommend people have a bath as the water heats faster.)

    Close to a grocery shop and transport. We enjoyed our stay.

    May 2014
  • The apartment was nice and coy, and was reasonably clean and tidy. Rebecca has given a lot of informations. You can reach many subway, train or bus stations in the neighbourhoud.

    April 2014
Per Month
From
$120
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 270 times
Languages
English, Français, Italiano
Work
Avalon Park and Preserve: Youth Volunteer Organizer
About
Coming from New York, USA, my husband and I enjoy nothing more than a unique, fantastical vacation whenever possible, be it in the states or abroad. Him, an architect, and me, a youth environmental volunteer organizer, have a passion for all of the beautiful things in life, and strive to see as much as we can see while we're young and able! We became hosts after using Airbnb as travelers for two years. It is our pleasure to contribute a comfortable, fun home-away-from-home for folks around the world, just as we'd experienced and appreciated during our travels. We look forward to meeting the wonderful people who wish to explore our great city, and will do whatever we can to make their visits even greater than they had imagined.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
a week ago
Similar Listings