Guest House Secluded Raw Desert

House - Entire home/apt · North Ent Catorce, Tucson, AZ 85718, United States

High Ceilings, tile floors, AC, 2 decks, mountain and city views, shared washer (front loading), TV, internet. Separated from the main house. Enjoy the sounds of silence. Cable available for fee. Utility share for monthly stay.

The Space

Light and airy, big room, small kitchen bath..
Space has been chemical free for 10 years. The space is clean as one can get it without the use of
chemicals. I believe that minor stains are a small price for a chemical free environment.

Guest Access

one sunny studio

Interaction with Guests


The Neighborhood

secluded next to acres of raw desert.
minutes to major civilization

Getting around

car is good, or bike.

Other Things to Note

Kitchen has double hot plate and toaster oven.
and 1/2 size refrigerator. New water saving toilet.
Water pressure is strong (50 psi), same as a municipal water system.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 6
Bedrooms: 0
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $20 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $299 /week
Monthly Price: $999 /month
Cleaning Fee: $10
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Flexible

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • I had an awesome stay at David's Raw Desert Guest House. David is a very nice, interesting person and a great conversation partner. The guest house is bright and inviting, the bed is very comfortable, so is the couch. Water pressure and cleanliness were okay as well.

    April 2014
  • I had a wonderful stay in Tucson at David's guest house. I was a little apprehensive about taking the trip at all as I have to take some medicine for 9 months that makes me need to get a lot of sleep....and I am a very light sleeper.
    As soon as I met David I felt very comfortable. It seemed like he was really going out of his way to accommodate me. The bed is very comfortable and I spent 4 perfect days with my friends. It is very quiet there. You can sit out on the porch and look at the desert and the Catalina Mountains. I felt very lucky to find the place, and this is my first time using airbnb.
    Thank you David,

    March 2014
  • David's place is located in a beautiful dessert setting, and is quit private. He was responsive to our requests and was accomodating. Although his rental has the potential to be exceptional, it has a ways to go. Most of the issues were related to cleaning and general house keeping. The walls and bathroom need prep and painting, and most of the interior, along with the microwave, coffe pot, etc. needed cleaning. The place had a slight, but unpleasant odor, that seemed to be strongest near the bed, or leather sitting chair, which was stained The exterior decks need some repairs and would best if refinished. Towels and blankets also could use a more thorough cleaning (or replacement) to remove stains. The water system apparently uses rain and city water as sources, but air gaps in the system made it sputter at the faucet. I forgot to ask David if the water was potable, so we bought purfied water for drinking. The bottom line is I could not recommend staying here, particularly at the price we paid ($97/night with Airbnb charge). However, with some fairly minor repairs, cleaning, and replacement furnishings, it could be a jewel in the desert.

    March 2014
  • We just returned from a great stay in the "Raw Desert"!
    The views are beautiful and the location is very peaceful. We enjoyed stargazing and scenic walks only steps from the door.
    Upon arrival David greeted us and showed us around. The place was clean and inviting. We used all the amenities, the fridge, hot plate and washing machine, no problem. Water pressure was good. Extremely comfortable bed, great after a long day of hiking.
    David was friendly and generous. He was informative about local restaurants, places to hike, and anything we had questions about.
    This place was great for our needs and we're looking forward to our next stay.

    February 2014
  • Ill start with the good news first and that is the location is beautiful, within a few minutes walk to sweet desert wash with epic views and close access to town. Nice outdoor porch area.
    And... the bad news is fairly bad I am afraid. I would not recommend this rental for the host makes empty promises, bad communication and not a fair man. We are very mellow people who have traveled far & wide staying at every place you can imagine... and let me tell you even transplanting this house in India, you would be shocked at the disgusting filth we found! The kitchen/bathroom were nasty,nasty - pubic hair in shower, stains in toilet, dirt on floor, mold in fridge, i mean this place was awful!! The comforter did not have a duvet & was repaired with duck tape. and.. the worst part was there was not enough water pressure to flush solids or wash hair.
    The host, blamed his bad eye sight on the filthy conditions & promised to fix the water pressure before we departed...which never happened.
    Sorry to say, this space should not be rented until he commits to hire cleaners & a plumber.
    If it was not 30 degrees outside we would have slept in the car, would have been more comfortable!

    February 2014
    Response from David:

    I feel so bad that Maggie was not happy. When I asked Maggie how I could make it up she asked for a refund...which Airbnb refunded.
    I tried to correct Maggie concerns the next morning, but she would not let me in saying "The dog will be here in morning and he is not good with strangers." Water pressure is strong now (50 PSI) I cleaned and cleaned after she left, and the toilet flushes just fine, thank you. And there is a new down comforter. Maggie sorry I did not meet your expectations, but thank you for propelling me to make the place even better.

  • The views are gorgeous, desert scrub and the mountains. A very nice porch. The place intially was dusty. The shower water pressure was ok, could be stronger. The toilet during my stay did break but David quickly fixed it. The unit is off the garage and provides alot of privacy. When I accepted reservation it was stated there was a shared garage space which never happened but there was a nice place to park my car on gravel right by the private door. The use of rainwater was a unique expierence that I have never used before.

    February 2014
  • David is such a cool guy. He provided us with a very simple stay. Meeting David was for sure one of the highlights of our trip!

    October 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 55 times
Long term Tucsonian, originally from the new york area. I am a self employed as a photographer.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings