About This Listing
Self contained Wing of a beautiful 18th century School House which is set in 3 acres of mature gardens, with stunning panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. Five minute walk down to the village pubs and shops.
Tucked away yet a few minutes walk down to the local village, the accommodation is an upside down sort of place with living room/ diner /kitchen upstairs and bedrooms and shower room downstairs. This is to take advantage of the lovely views of rolling countryside and distant Slievenamon...
Whole self contained wing (pictured left of main house).
Interaction with Guests
Guests always greeted on arrival. After that, as little or as much interaction as you wish!
Peace and tranquility apart from the sound of goats, cows and sheep in nearby fields!
In less than 10 minutes drive is the main Dublin/Waterford motorway M9 giving easy access for day trips. Small towns of Callan and Carrick-on-Suir within a 10 minute drive with supermarkets, restaurants, theatre, pubs, takeaways, train station, buses to Dublin Airport, Cork etc. Kilkenny city a mere 20 minute drive away.
Other Things to Note
Oil and electricity is meter read and payable on departure. So you only pay for what you use!
No smoking inside please.
We had a great time at David's place. We used it as a base from which to explore the area by car and found it excellent for that purpose because there are lots of interesting things to see and do within a 30-45 minute radius. The house is nice, clean, quiet, and comfortable. True to the description, the house is a 5-10 minute walk to a village with a small shop and at least 1 pub. The only small downside for us is that the house was quite cold even with the heat on, but then again we stayed in the middle of winter so that is to be expected to some degree. We also could not catch the house's WiFi signal but that was not a problem since we had a mobile broadband router. The host, David, seems like a really nice guy and was helpful for anything we needed. Overall, I would definitely stay with David again and would recommend his place to others.
We really enjoyed our week here! We had a nice welcome from our hosts. The apartment was exactly as depicted. We had plenty of room for our family of 4. The boys enjoyed the animals nearby including goats, cows, rabbits, dogs, cats and birds. They also loved playing soccer (football) outside in the driveway! The village had a small convenience store, a post office and 2 pubs. My husband had some tasty pints and good conversation with the locals at Dunphy's pub. We took many road trips to nearby villages, ruins, natural attractions etc. All in all we had a great vacation in Kilmaganny!
Our host David was there to greet us on arrival and was very friendly and accommodating and explained all practical details about appliances and the immediate local area.
The most appealing aspect of the property was its location - it affords total seclusion (even though it is just 300 metres from the village) and is an oasis of tranquillity with only a very quiet dog and some goats around.
The accommodation itself is basic and the decor could do with a little updating. There was one issue which needs addressing - the double bed or at least mattress. This was uncomfortable and felt very damp - we had to put throws over the sheet to lie on ; but even then it still felt damp.(We didn't complain about this as we had seen an earlier review which mentioned a damp bed and presumed the issue would have been sorted out subsequently). The result was that we didn't exactly look forward to returning to the property each evening.
If the issues mentioned above were addressed the overall experience would be much better.
Many thanks for your review. I must admit I am bit puzzled about your comment regarding the bed. The house was occupied up to the day before your arrival and no-one had mentioned anything about it being damp (nor in any previous review so not sure where you have seen this???!!). Immediately after reading your review, the bed was thoroughly checked for any signs of damp and there are none whatsoever. What really puzzles me though is that there was no mention of this during your 12 night stay even though there was ample opportunity to do so. If you had mentioned this, I would have investigated and if necessary rectified any problem. The beds in the twin bedroom are brand new so I am also a bit surprised that you did not move into that room if you were unhappy with the double bed? I would have been more than willing to swap the beds, replace the bed or do whatever was necessary to make your stay comfortable. I am sorry you experienced any discomfort at all and just wished you had mentioned this when I asked several times over your stay if everything was OK and always received an affirmative reply in return. Kind regards, David
We had a great time in this lovely house! David is a nice Guy and the house is absolutely perfekt!
This host has 30 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews