A suite in the midst of it all

House - Entire home/apt · Garner Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63139, United States
Emily And Andrew

Welcome to "The Burrow." This 1 bed/1 bath modern walk-out basement suite sits in the Dogtown area of St. Louis. Just 1 mile (20 minute walk) to Forest Park/zoo/art museum and 7 miles to downtown, this suite is the perfect stay for your time in STL.

Your host, Emily And Andrew
43 Reviews
Response rate: 80%
Response time: within a day

Welcome to "The Burrow." This 1 bed/1 bath modern walk-out basement suite sits in the Dogtown area of St. Louis. Just 1 mile (20 minute walk) to Forest Park/zoo/art museum and 7 miles to downtown, this suite is the perfect stay for your time in STL.

The Space

Centrally located, this suite comfortably fits 4 people (1 queen bed, 1 futon, and a couch) but could fit 5 or 6 with space for air mattresses if needed. You will have your own entrance in the back, a kitchenette, free wi-fi, cable t.v., microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator, and gas fireplace. You will find water bottles, oatmeal, granola bars, coffee and tea upon your arrival.

This is the basement suite of our house so if there is anything you might need or have questions about, feel free to knock on our door.

We have a Vizsla named Nuska who you will often find running around in the front yard. We have a large yard for living in the city and keep chickens in the very back. Feel free to ask for eggs, or if you're up for an adventure, go back and collect them whenever you'd like. Cook them up on a hot plate and they make a great breakfast.

For the kids we offer:
a pack n play (Let us know beforehand and we will have it set up and waiting for you when you arrive)
backyard basketball court
DVD player
chicken discovering and egg collecting
Neighborhood park/playground 1 street away

***Please note we require a minimum 2 night stay during the weekends.

Around us:
Forest Park/zoo/museums: 1 mile
Downtown/Arch: 7 miles
Botanical Gardens: 4 miles
Airport: 13 miles
Maplewood/Schlafly Bottleworks: 1 mile
Delmar Loop: 3 miles
Grant's Farm: 6 miles
Washington U: 2 miles
St. Louis U: 5 miles
St. Louis Children's Hospital: 3 miles
Cardinal Glennon Children's Hospital: 4 miles

*Note: The bathroom ceiling is 6' high.

Other Things to Note

Our check in time is anytime after 3:00 pm and our check out time is anytime before 12:00 pm. If for some reason you need some flexibility let us know and we will try our hardest to accommodate you the best we can.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Other pet(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Check In
  • A beautiful, well-stocked apartment, and very gracious hosts. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend in St. Louis.

    April 2014
  • Not sure how to put it all in words. Andrew & Emily are such great hosts. They really know the city and have a gift of hospitality. They made us feel so welcome and if we needed anything all we had to do was ask. The place was exactly as described. After our busy days site seeing we looked forward to going back and relaxing. The kids could play basketball outside or a board game by the fire. It was so much better than a hotel. We would definitely stay there again! :)

    April 2014
  • I am having difficulty finding words to express just how much my wife and I enjoyed our experience staying with Emily and Andrew at the Burrow. Everything was exactly as described, and the hosts do a great job making their place welcoming and comfortable. Our stay at the Burrow easily rivaled our previous (email hidden) Louis boutique hotels (Cheshire, Ignacio, Moonrise). Next time I take a trip to St Louis, I'll be checking for availability with Andrew and Emily before anywhere else.

    April 2014
  • What a fabulous place! And with the sweetest young couple on the planet as hosts, my stay could not have been any better! Welcoming, flexible, attentive but never intrusive....Emily and Andrew were delightful hosts. This was my first airbnb experience and I was thrilled! The apartment is spacious, although if you are a tall person, the bathroom ceiling is a little surprising, but the size of the bathroom makes up for the low ceiling. The living room is airy and light.... the living room furnishing are not brand new, but are oh-so-comfortable... in fact on a day when I meant to view more of St Louis, I ended up simply reading on the comfortable couch. Really, that is my idea of a vacation! I would never have done that in a sterile hotel room. The bed is soft and fluffy, with lovely linens and pillows, plenty of big towels in the bathroom, and blankets and comforters for the couch. There is not a kitchen exactly, but a sink, hot plate, microwave and full refrigerator made it easy to prepare simple meals. A trip to Whole Foods, and I had everything I needed. I was totally charmed by the chickens, and the subsequent eggs in the refrigerator. My daughter was crazy about the fresh eggs, and fried them up for breakfast and a "late night snack". This was a convenient location to everything I needed... with a daughter in college in St Louis, I will be making frequent trips, and now I won't dread going! I hate eating out, and dislike the confinement of a hotel room. The weather accommodated me sitting outside in the private back yard... grass and a little table and chairs made that a very inviting prospect. Because the yard is separated with a fence, the lovely private back yard felt like an extension of apartment. Consistent internet is my other need when I travel and this was flawless.
    I didn't find noise from upstairs to be a problem, footsteps, but that was all...it has certainly been worse in almost every hotel I've stayed in. And I loved the dog! I asked for her to visit me, and Andrew kindly obliged...again making my stay so warm and friendly and fun that I am really looking forward to going back. This is NOT a hotel, which is why I loved it.... charming, sweet, well stocked with books, games, videos for families...and for me, quiet, privacy, and fresh eggs! This was ideal.... exactly as described. Enjoy your stay there...just don't book it when I need to be in St Louis!

    March 2014
  • We planned to stay for eight nights for $500 while we explored the St. Louis area. Probably was nice when they first renovated it, definitely tired and worn. Many things were in need of repair, the paint on the floor was peeling, many of the doors do not open, close and lock properly. The circuit breaker is faulty. The backyard is an eyesore. You hear everything that goes on upstairs, they certainly do not try to be quiet, even up to Midnight. Music playing, running around, dog running around. They had company staying over for several days while we were there, which was inconsiderate and added to the noise. The gate to the backyard, which one enters to reach the studio has a rickety old lock and latch about ready to fall off. THERE WAS A RUSTY NAIL AT THE TOP OF THE GATE STICKING OUT OF ROTTING WOOD, RIGHT ABOUT WHERE MY HEAD WAS!!! I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW HE COULD MISS THAT. Had pans but no pots, along with other basic kitchenware missing. They did maintenance work while we were there (including pulling the washing machine from the wall for a whole day). Neighborhood was safe enough (alot of college kids live there, as Washington U. and Concordia Seminary are both just blocks away, and just a few blocks from the city limits). They were friendly enough (they did leave us a bottle of wine for when we arrived, I can't fault them for that) and probably well meaning people, but they seem oblivious to alot. We left two days early in large part because of all this, they did not ask if anything was wrong, nor even offered any kind of refund. I have certainly seen worse accommodations and dealt with people worse than these, but personally I would pay the extra $30 a night and go to the Hampton Inn. You may enjoy your trip better.

    March 2014
    Emily And Andrew
    Response from Emily And Andrew:

    We don't really know how to respond to this other than to say that we appreciate your concerns that were legitimate. Thank you for letting us know about those as we were unaware of them. It would have been more helpful if you had told us about them while you were here so we could have addressed them during your stay. We are sorry this wasn't what you were looking for. Hope you are able to find lodgings better suited to your needs next time.

    March 2014
  • Private & Cozy.
    Our stay w/ Emily and Andrew was exactly what we were looking for. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. The apartment was quiet and private, it had a "worn-in", homey feel.
    Emily & Andrew are organized hosts, providing instructions for how to use the coffee maker or fireplace, to sight seeing tips.
    We would definitely recommend The Burrow and stay here again!
    Matt & Ali

    March 2014
  • Emily and Andrew were wonderful and so was this place! As soon as we walked in the door we realized that only staying one night was a mistake. I was traveling with my three kids (ages 15, 9, and 7), and the suite was plenty big enough for us all to sprawl out in our own space, but instead we hung out together playing board games Emily and Andrew provided. The kids didn't even mention watching TV, although there is a nice one and also a nice selection of movies and books. (Maybe next time!) We are already planning reasons to visit St. Louis again just so we can stay here. We felt so welcome, it was very clean and comfortable, and the location is great. We could not have been happier.

    March 2014
  • Emily and Andrew were perfect hosts. They were incredibly accommodating and provided helpful insight for the area. The apartment area was exactly as described and more. We would highly suggest this spot for anyone visiting St. Louis.

    March 2014
  • What a great place to find! Nestled under the owners home, but with a ground floor front door, windows and huge deck outside the flat it feels like your own private home. Weather was cold on my visit, but I could see spending some happy time with a cold drink there on a future visit.

    The rooms are large, have everything you could imagine needing (books, DVD's, games, magazines, WiFi, snacks, coffee) and lots of room for a group (even though there were only 2 of us). With a full size refrigerator, microwave, sink and hotplate you could easily make a simple meal - and there's all the dishes, cutlery and wine glasses you'll need. The gas fireplace was a real treat for the cold weather and feeling warm and cozy.

    Bed is very comfortable, bathroom is big and well stocked. It's an older home so if you need modern perfection you should try something else - but if you want lots of character, comfort, charm and a great place to unwind - yet minutes to lots of restaurants and attractions you'll be very happy here.

    March 2014
  • I chose Andrew and Emily's place for a place to stay for my husband's 30th birthday. It was perfect! I would recommend it to anyone. They really focused on the details. There were vases of flowers throughout the place, a basket full of granola bars, oatmeal and water, keurig coffee and a very nice cozy fireplace.

    March 2014
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 225 times
Emily grew up in Florida and Andrew grew up in Illinois. We ended up in St. Louis and love it here. We are both educators and when not teaching, we spend our time doing projects around our house, tending the chickens and dog, doing any of the many free things around the city, cooking but also discovering new eateries around the Lou. We are members and community group leaders of The Journey. We love hosting and find joy in the comfort of our guests.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 days ago
Similar Listings