Family Farmhouse Dutch Countryside

House - Entire home/apt · Holterweg, Laren, Gelderland 7245 SB, Netherlands
Pamela
Your host, Pamela
7 Reviews
Response rate: 70%
Response time: within a day

The Space

Our place is a beautifully renovated family farmhouse near Lochem, Gelderland. It is a perfect place to relax with a group of friends and/or family while getting away from city-stress in the peaceful surroundings of the Dutch countryside.

It is situated near pittoresque cities as Lochem (10 min), Zutphen and Deventer (15/20 min) and only a short 30-min ride to the famous Kroller Moller Museum. There is also plenty to do around the farm itself, such as bike tours and walks in the beautiful surroundings. The small towns of Ampsen and Almen are nearby, as is the castle & grounds of "Huis Verwolde". Laren itself is a small town with everything you need including a supermarket, bakery, and cafes and restaurants, just ten minute walk from the house.
At a 2-minute walk there is a public swimming pool and a tennis course, and for the golf-lovers: at a ten-minute ride you will find one of the finest golf courses in the Netherlands, "The Lochemse".

The house itself has room for up to 8 adult guests (4 couples), with each their own bed (upon request extra beds can be provided for children or extra adults). We have two bathrooms, 3 toilets, a large kitchen, living room and dining room. Outside we have a nice terrace and plenty of space to play and have bbq's etc. Upon request you can use the guesthouse next to the main house, suitable for a couple (& bathroom with shower and toilet). There is a trampoline for the kids and plenty of games and sports. In the garage we also have bikes (children as well as adult) which are available to the guests.
On the grounds there is a tiny forest, a meadow in front and back (often occupied by horses and sheep) and a garden that goes around the house and stretches far to the east. The property sits on 1.2 hectares of land.

You can easily reach the farm by car. It is +/- 70 min drive from Amsterdam.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 8
Bedrooms: 5
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 10
Extra people: $14 / night after 5 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Security Deposit: $350
Cleaning Fee: $105
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We stayed 4 nights in this lovely spacious farmhouse with 7 adults, 2 teenagers, a couple of toddlers and a baby to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday. It has everything you want/need for a family holiday with games, bicycles, a trampoline, table football, books etc etc. There is a nice open fire which we needed to use on the rainy days. The kitchen is very well equipped. You feel at ease in the house - as if it's your own. The garden is massive and there is a horse in the field next to the house.
    We didn't get to see much of the surrounding areas due to weather and toddler constraints but it is a very nice part of Holland with beautiful nature and some cultural things to do. We just spent quality time as a family in and around the house.
    Communication is not always quick with Pamela as it is sometimes her sister who seems to do some of the coordination with guests. But in the end everything was always sorted.
    Pamela's mum greeted the first people to arrive and gave a tour of the house with some instructions.
    The rooks that nest in the surrounding trees were sometimes very loud but that is apparently only a few weeks and they leave again.

    June 2014
  • I celebrated my 30th birthday with my husband and friends (a total of 10 people) at this amazing house, which had everything we could possibly wish for. It was my dream holiday in a spacious comfortable house with my loved ones, with lots of cycling and outdoor activities, little cute towns and villages nearby to visit, and even a friendly horse on site to play with!
    The house owners (Pamela and her family) were very kind and efficient in terms of getting back to all our enquiries and questions. We followed their useful recommendations and went to both Huis Verwolde and Kröller-Müller Museum for half-day trips. We stayed in the house for 3 nights, but I wish we had more time as there were still more things to do.
    We basically had some quality time with our friends combined with nature, art & culture, cake & coffee, cycling, wildlife, great food, and Belgian beers!
    What else could you ask for?
    100% recommended and I hope I get to go back there again!

    May 2014
  • Wij verbleven met 3 stellen en 2 grote kinderen in de boerderij van Pamela.
    Wij boften enorm met het weer. Het werd daardoor voor ons allen een onvergetelijk weekend. Het huis is fantastisch, van alle gemakken voorzien en heel smaakvol ingericht. Wij voelden ons allemaal direct erg op ons gemak.
    De omgeving is geweldig. Wij komen graag een keer terug.

    April 2014
  • We hebben heerlijke dagen gehad op de boerderij! Voor 6 volwassenen en 5 kleine kindjes (wel campingbedjes mee) biedt de boerderij voldoende ruimte. De kinderen hebben genoeg plek om te spelen en kunnen bij mooi weer de tuin in, de volwassenen kunnen lekker ontspannen bij de openhaard. De keuken is niet groot maar prettig om in te koken en alles is aanwezig wat je nodig hebt (zelfs specerijen ed).
    Wat ons betreft zeker voor herhaling vatbaar, de kinderen wilden zelfs niet eens weg!

    January 2014
  • Mooi huis. Ondanks dat we niemand van de eigenaren ontmoet hebben voelden we ons zeer welkom, heel makkelijk geregeld. Zelfs wat eten al achtergelaten.

    Heel fijn, en een aangename prijs.

    December 2013
  • Afgelopen weekend hebben ik met vriendinnen doorgebracht in deze prachtige boerderij. Werkelijk prachtig! We waren aangenaam verrast door de ruimte die de boerderij biedt, een heerlijk ruime woonkamer en ook de eetkamer had voldoende plek om te zitten.
    Een luxe badkamer en de keuken van alle gemakken voorzien.
    Gewandeld in de omgeving, een paar leuke spellen gespeeld uit de spelletjeskast en wat leuke lp's opgezet.

    We hebben ervan genoten, een absolute aanrader!

    November 2013
  • We hebben een waanzinnig familie-weekend gehad in deze perfecte familie boerderij. Het was exact wat we hoopten. Een lekkere no-nonsense boerderij met een goede openhaard en met een lekker stuk tuin (weiland) erom heen. Er was zelfs nog een trampoline voor de kindjes; (website hidden) een hartelijk ontvangst van de grootmoeder van Pamela begon een weekendje van lekker koken, bij de haard zitten, boekjes lezen en buitenspelen met de kinderen. Precies waar we voor kwamen. Heel erg graag keren wij hier nogmaals terug in de toekomst!

    November 2013
Per Month
From
$210
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 89 times
Languages
English, Español, Nederlands
School
University of Amsterdam & Utrecht University
Work
Filippa K
About
I am a 25year old political scientist from Amsterdam who loves to travel. At the moment I am following a post-doc international relations as part of a fellowship. I love music, films, photography and fashion. I often travel with my boyfriend Bowie who is a 27-year old photographer, or my mother Carine who owns a travel agency for students.
View full profile
Response Rate
70%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago
Similar Listings