Skip to content
2.5 Blocks from Anywhere
2.5 Blocks from Anywhere
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

This two bedroom apartment is in the heart of Columbia City, a super-cool, historic business district. The house is 2.5 blocks from the light rail station. Light Rail takes you directly to/from the airport or downtown Seattle in minutes.

The space

The apartment is a fully furnished two bedroom lower level of a duplex. Floors are Pergo and carpet. There is a W/D, dishwasher, disposal and it looks out onto the park-like setting of a school playground. It is important to note that the space is small for a two-bedroom; a little less than 700 sq ft. As such, while most groups of 6 have found the space to work well for them, some guests have commented that they feel it is a bit small for more than four full-sized adults. Please use your own discretion and knowledge about how much personal space your group members require.

There are 2 beds, one double and one queen and a fold-out sofa. Included are wi-fi internet, off-street parking and a storage shed for sporting equipment, etc. The unit is level with the street so there are no stairs. Washer and dryer are shared with the tenants above.

The unit is stand-alone but we are only a few blocks away. If there is anything you need - a fondue pot, Pictionary, a needle and thread - maybe we've got it - we're only a phone call or text message away. We are several generation Seattle natives who grew up in the neighborhood and are happy to share our city and answer any questions we can. The upstairs tenant is very considerate, quiet and helpful in a pinch. She has a small dog who rarely barks,. We have never had a complaint about noise but 2 separate guests have noted being aware of someone upstairs.

98118 was declared "the most diverse" zipcode in the US by the 2010 census and Columbia City has been recently declared one of Seattle's two most walkable neighborhoods. The array of restaurants within approximately 5 blocks of the house include American, Ethiopian, Filipino Italian, Japanese, Kenyan, Mediterranean, Mexican, Senegalese, Thai, Vegan and Vietnamese. The business district has many services, trendy boutiques, gift and import shops, an art gallery, a butcher, a bakery, a cultural center, live music, a movie theater, a gym, a public library, community center and a selection of parks. PCC a natural grocer, is one block from the property, and Safeway is about 1/2 mile from the property. The neighborhood has an abundance of parks and Stan Sayers Pits on Lake Washington is a walk away.

This home is a geographic oddity - 2.5 blocks from anywhere. Via Light Rail, you can get to the airport in a flash or to downtown Seattle, the hub of the city's public transportation and as far north as the University of Washington campus. The house has a walkability score of 97. Off-street parking is provided for a single vehicle (or four motorcycles!). 15 minutes to downtown via car or public transportation. The neighborhood is serviced by Car2go and Zip Car. 1.5 blocks to #7 metro bus. I-90 is 2.5 miles away, and Snoqualmie Pass is approximately one hour east.

One street over, May through October Columbia City hosts a farmers market every Wednesday from 3-7 pm. The Beat Walk is a reoccurring jazz festival every 2nd Sunday from 4-9 pm, May through October. Many venues on the Rainier Strip host different musicians and you are invited to stroll between the venues. The events are free.

Guest access

The beds, one double and one queen and a fold-out sofa are all two years old. Included are wi-fi internet, off-street parking and a storage shed for sporting equipment, etc. The unit is level with the street so there are no (URL HIDDEN) washer and dryer are shared with the tenants above.

Interaction with guests

The unit is stand-alone but we are only a few blocks away. If there is anything you need - a fondue pot, Pictionary, a needle and thread - maybe we've got it - we're only a phone call or text message away. We are several generation Seattle natives who grew up in the neighborhood and are happy to share our city and answer any questions we can. The upstairs tenants are very considerate, however, one works at night and if she is home, may be moving around in her apartment into the wee hours.

Other things to note

One street over, May through October Columbia City hosts a farmers market every Wednesday from 3-7 pm. The Beat Walk is a reoccurring jazz festival every 2nd Sunday from 4-9 pm, May through October. Many venues on the Rainier Strip host different musicians and you are invited to stroll between the venues. The events are free.


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Family/kid friendly
Wheelchair accessible

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Security deposit is $300

Be nice to the tenants above, one of whom sleeps during the day.
No smoking inside. It is okay to smoke outside, however only in a way and manner that does not bring the scent of whatever is being smoked into the house.
No pets without prior approval and extra deposit. No cats under any circumstance.
Seattle has very stringent rules on garbage. Rules on how to separate recycling and compost from garbage are posted in the unit.
While we like infants and children, please be advised that the house is not child-proofed in any way, nor has any consideration been given to the safety of our house from a parent's/child's perspective. Please accomplish your own childproofing upon arrival. We also don't own any pediatric specific infrastructure, such as a crib, pack and play, etc.


Cancellations

251 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Karen User Profile
October 2017
Had a lovely time here. Super food and things do do close by, and it was really close to the link to get downtown really easily.

Jess User Profile
October 2017
We had a great time in Seattle! Joseph was very responsive whenever we needed anything. The space was great for the price and was very close to our friends that live in Columbia City and a few tasty restaurants including a very yummy pizza place!

Yu User Profile
October 2017
The apartment is definitely good value for what you have paid for, and Joseph's apartment is well equipped with all you need for a short stay. Pros: 1. It is literally 2 blocks away from downtown Columbia City. So it is convenient for food, ice cream, coffee, bar, etc. 2. The apartment is pretty easy to find and park. 3. It is well equipped with everything that you need for a short stay: washer/dryer, lots of ingredients, etc. 4. The trees in the front (with red leaves in the fall) are gorgeous! Cons: 1. My family has a very high bar for cleanliness as we are particularly sensitive to dust, and that was probably our biggest complaint. The apartment was pretty dusty, and it triggered my allergy reaction and my boyfriend's asthma attack. Also, there was mold in the coffee maker :( 2. The host did not have the most up-to-date numbers on file, and I had some issues contacting the hosts and checking in. While I would like to believe that was more like a coincidence that we had all those miscommunications, it still gave us some unpleasant moments. 3. Hot water: The hot water cannot serve all four people in our group for shower, which results in either the third/fourth person taking freezing cold shower or waiting for an extended period of time.
Joseph User Profile
Response from Joseph:
We're sorry about the difficulties you had getting in, but we do have our phone numbers up to date. I attempted to contact you for days prior to your arrival, which you ignored. You then showed up to my house without any communication whatsoever and expected to somehow be magically let in? We have jobs and need to be responsible to them. We can't help when people don't respond to various attempts at coordinating check in. After your arrived, you called for a few minutes, Airbnb offered to pay for your family to go for dinner while they contacted me. You lied about this, telling me that they had refunded your stay, that you had left the neighborhood, and were not interested in staying with us any longer. I can only assume that this was a ploy to extract discount or a full refund, as when I apologised and offered to help you in any way I could in terms of transportation back to my house or finding a hotel, you left your family at dinner, met me back at the house, ready to check in. None of it made any sense and the Airbnb employees told me that you weren't telling me the truth. You then proceeded to call me on my cell phone for silly and non emergency needs throughout your stay rather than using the Airbnb messenger. One of the main reasons why Airbnb encourages all communication to be done on this platform is to prevent folks like you from being inconsistent and inaccurate communicators while blaming the other party. Having done business with you, I can see why you refuse to use it. We do appreciate that you found our place to be a good value for the money. However, with a take-down review such as you left, in combination with what a headache you guys were, we will not be accepting another reservation from you in the future. My main regret was giving your group our regular, generic review despite how messy you left our house. As my mother said when she entered "wow, these guys really used this place up. Give them a three on cleanliness and hose rules.". I wish I had! To future hosts, be aware and make sure to stick to Airbnb messenger with this group.
October 2017

Jamie User Profile
October 2017
Cute place, comfy beds. There were some nice restaurants within walking distance and it was easy to get around.

Nick User Profile
September 2017
Excellent spot just off the very pedestrian-friendly main drag of Columbia City. Close to light rail, and a cheap rideshare downtown.

Shirley User Profile
September 2017
The space was very clean and comfortable, close to a grocery and a bakery where you can get a light breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice. We chose the location as it was very close to our brand new first grandchild, but if we were to stay longer, close access to the light rail to visit points down town, and of course pike street market. and we would be able to cook simple meals if we wished.

John User Profile
September 2017
Clean & comfortable apartment in a quiet neighborhood, yet close to everything. Highly recommend.

Seattle, Washington, United StatesJoined in August 2013
Joseph User Profile

Kali and Joe are a young couple of nurses who leave town on a regular basis and want their house to be used well while they are gone! We are both native Seattleites, Kali a second generation, joe a 4th(what!?), with plenty of local knowledge should it be required. Joe's mom, Dana (3rd gen Seattlelite), lives right near-by and drops the knowledge when we are out of town.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings